We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horseback Africa

#8 of 117 things to do in Pretoria Features Animals
P.O.Box 905 | Cullinan, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
+27 12 735 9909
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Experience

Absolutely gorgeous experience. I visited as Airline Crew and I can highly recommend as an activity... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
TerissaKerrRobinson
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Once in a lifetime experience

This is a must do when you're visiting Cullinan. The staff is very friendly. We had a warm welcome... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
TOHE41
,
Lille, Belgium
Read all 144 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
P.O.Box 905 | Cullinan, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 12 735 9909
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous experience. I visited as Airline Crew and I can highly recommend as an activity for other Airline Staff on a layover in South Africa. Transport from Train Station. Horses are safe and quiet and the Lion Walk is a must do once in...More

Thank TerissaKerrRobinson
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

It gives us SUCH a wonderful feeling when we read a review like this. We love our business and Craig, Connie, Kedibone and the rest of the team do us proud!

Reviewed 6 days ago

This is a must do when you're visiting Cullinan. The staff is very friendly. We had a warm welcome. We got lots of information about the lions and the project. Walking with the lions is fantastic and playing with the little ones in incredible. Took...More

Thank TOHE41
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My 12 year old daughter and I visited for a one night stay as part of a whistlestop 3 day adventure. We were immediately made to feel at home with a warm welcome and immediate offer of a drink and lunch - excellent pizza thank...More

Thank Ross M
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are thrilled with your enjoyment at Horseback Africa. Colin and I have left the safari lodge in the capable hands of Craig, Connie, Kediboni, and the entire team. It makes us so happy when we read reviews like this when Colin and I are...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

Took my lady for a first time horse ride, and i have to say we got more than what we where looking for. Awesome people, hospitality, food and accommodation. They really made us feel at home from picking us up in Pretoria and taking us...More

Thank Aubrey M
Reviewed 30 May 2017

I have been living in SA for a couple of years and I have such great memories of playing polo at Horseback Africa. Such a lovely family we have grown to be real friends. I always take my guests (family and friends visiting us) and...More

Thank 85Ines
Reviewed 15 May 2017

First time riding a horse and the staff were all so helpful and I felt safe and they ensured I was conformable before heading out. Had a wonderful time riding around seeing giraffe, Zebra and game in their natural habitats. After we got to enjoy...More

Thank tammylgodden
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We spent the most amazing night and day here . The accommodation , food, massage and hospitality offered were all superb. We cannot rate highly enough the lovely MacRae family and their staff. As for walking with lions - this was the most incredible experience...More

Thank elleray2017
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Hi guys, we need to thank YOU for making it possible, because it we did not get such wonderful guests enjoying this with us, then we would not exist, right?

Reviewed 30 March 2017

Before the tour: Free pick up and drop off service at the designated train station for people like us who didn't rent a car. Horse Riding: Staff are very friendly and informative. They will ask you about your experience with horses and try to match...More

Thank katiewu
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you!! We will always try and do our best!

Reviewed 30 March 2017

We went for the Walk with lions experience. Fantastic to see these magnificent animals, how they are looked after and also to be returned into nature and the wild. Greta experience walking with the cubs. Was an awesome experience and day out

Thank Stoemie
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your participation. We are passionate about conservation and we want others to experience nature with us.

Reviewed 7 March 2017

My friends and me had an amazing day on the farm from this super sympathetic family MacRae. We were beginners in horseriding but we got very well instructed and we could just enjoy the ride in the game. This is definitely the best opportunity to...More

Thank ninabauer
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear friends, we are so happy that it all worked out well in the end with solving the problem of the keys locked in the vehicle. You guys were great!!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Harrie's Pancakes
53 reviews
13.15 km away
As Greek As It Gets
134 reviews
13.09 km away
Oppistasie Restaurant
26 reviews
14.04 km away
Piacere Restaurant Cullinan
34 reviews
12.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cullinan Diamond Mine
159 reviews
13.32 km away
Willem Prinsloo Museum
11 reviews
20.51 km away
Dinokeng Game Reserve
135 reviews
30.00 km away
Adventure Zone Cullinan
50 reviews
12.98 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Skuce1977
19 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from johnnysp | Reviewed this property |
I had coverage close by. Try website for a landline number or can book through website too
1
Vote
Clairewyness
20 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Amer M | Reviewed this property |
It's a good question, we don't want to participate in those activities I have been to the lion attraction, in the attraction they said their lions after 1 year or more, they send them to a zoo or a reserve. As they said they... More
0
Votes