We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Dive Adventures

#4 of 15 things to do in Margate Features Animals
Margate 4275, South Africa
+27 82 456 7885
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing dives

Very friendly, divemasters were great, allowed freedom to explore whilst maintaining good dive... read more

Reviewed 13 March 2017
James L
via mobile
Best shark dive operator and accommodation for Protea Banks

My husband and I wanted to spend a night in Margate and do a shark dive for his birthday. We stayed... read more

Reviewed 9 January 2017
Karen W
Read all 16 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible12%
13 Mar 2017
“Amazing dives”
9 Jan 2017
“Best shark dive operator and accommodation for Protea Banks”
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 06:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Margate 4275, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 82 456 7885
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly, divemasters were great, allowed freedom to explore whilst maintaining good dive safety and procedures. Also I can't describe how good diving with sharks is...every dive delivered! 100% going back.

Thank James L
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My husband and I wanted to spend a night in Margate and do a shark dive for his birthday. We stayed and dived with African Dive Adventures. Firstly, their accommodation is top class! They have a self catering flat in ramsgate, and a villa in...More

2  Thank Karen W
Reviewed 26 August 2016

My brother and I spent a week diving on Protea Banks with these guys, and they are a very good operation. Protea isn't easy diving, and the team at African Dive Adventures expect you to be a good diver, so they don't patronise or mollycoddle...More

Thank RossMackenzie
Reviewed 10 July 2016

My wife and I joined them for their Sardine Run 2016 as part of our honeymoon. They were the only dive operator operating at Coffee Bay. right from the moment we landed at the airport, they did all they could to make us feel at...More

Thank oystershred
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Diving with African Dive Adventures is a highlight of your diving education. It takes experience and serenity to master the challenges... rough sea, sharks and current. The main person responsible for your security is you! On the other hand you will have a phantastic experience...More

Thank Kondor-99
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Great Team offering the best diving at protea banks off shelly beach, the world renowned shark-diving reef safety first then great fun shark dives

Thank karen p
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Spent a few days diving with African Dive Adventures out of Shelly Beach. Had an awesome baited dive with black tips and bull sharks. Saw schooling hammerheads on another dive. We were a little unfortunate with the heavy winds and choppy seas, so that limited...More

Thank trip-chick-munich
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Unserviced equipment, bad manners (so bad in fact that they wouldn't allow me to use the bathroom!) unprofessional attitude. All of these things combined to give me a terrible experience, I would not suggest this dive centre to anyone, steer well clear!More

2  Thank wolf946
Siridive, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Every comment is important to us and hopefully we can learn from it and become a better dive centre. In this case however we can't agree with the writer. You simply do not walk out of an intensive dive briefing...More

Reviewed 29 November 2015

Still feeling quite misty eyed after without doubt the best dive of our lives..... Perfect visibility on the baited dive on South Protea presented us with hundreds and hundreds of hammerheads circling the entire 60 minute dive. Black Tips and Duskies swam in between us...More

Thank BoddersH
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Never ever in my life have I ever encountered such rude unhelpful people. It is a disorganised crock of excrement! With badly serviced cylinders which had trouble fitting the regulators. With no introduction from any of the staff, we had no idea who the DM...More

3  Thank Daniel S
Siridive, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this review

This comment is useless and clearly has a personal vendetta. It doesn't require any explanation. A dive centre cannot have twelve 100% ratings and two absolute failures. If a dive centre is excellent, it will always be excellent as this is the nature of excellence....More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Munchner Haus
79 reviews
.49 km away
C-Bali
129 reviews
.32 km away
Mojo'z
33 reviews
.91 km away
LM Prawn
15 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter
142 reviews
.27 km away
Riverbend Crocodile Farm
85 reviews
5.38 km away
Protea Shark Divers
17 reviews
.59 km away
Pure Venom
48 reviews
1.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from African Dive Adventures staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit