We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

City Sightseeing Cape Town

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 511 6000
Website
Today
09:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 18:00
Description:

Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you...

Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.32*
and up
City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 4,197 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2536
    Excellent
  • 762
    Very good
  • 71
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
More than you expect

I usually do not like hop off and on bus tours. But this company offers good extensive tours, that are not a rip off, for a very fair price. You can actually not do all the stuff... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
Thomas I
,
Townsville, Australia
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Cape Town Central

Add Photo Write a Review

4,197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,402: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I usually do not like hop off and on bus tours. But this company offers good extensive tours, that are not a rip off, for a very fair price. You can actually not do all the stuff that is included in a one day ticket in one day. That´ why you can extend to 2 days for only 100 Rand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas I
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Did the Cape Explorer Tour today and found it great. Great informative guide kept things running on time despite some individuals dragging their feet getting back to the bus at the stipulated time. Stunning views. Well worth the fare. The only complaint i have was the Cape of Good Hope stop was a bit rushed. We didn't have time to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Took the open top bus from Constantia Nek via Hout Bay, to Camps Bay and in to the V&A Waterfront. Suggest stopping in Camps Bay for a coffee as lovely place to view the beach and watch people passing by along the front. Good commentary about the local history and places of interest as we travelled along and lovely bus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I did two different days with the bus in Cape Town and would have happily done another day or two if time had allowed. The buses were clean and reliable, all being driven in a very safe manner. I found the pricing to be very fair too. I loved the audio (available in many different languages) as I was able... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikstravels123
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Purchased the two day pass. Excellent value. Staff were very helpful and friendly. There is too much to do in two days so you may need to prioritise what routes you do. It takes you to location you may not have thought of visiting. Regularity of buses makes using the service very easy. Really good commentary.

Helpful?
Thank cherryBournemouth
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We normally avoid city tours on the famous red buses that you see around the world. But as we didn't have a hire car on this trip we succumbed. We took the additional tour around a township and went into an infant school to see the amazing work done by teachers and volunteers. The population of 35,000 have to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Fish Hoek
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Firstly , I have not done the ride round the city, but have done the city many times and during the cooler months I intend to be a tourist in my own town. I really admire the bus drivers of this company as they to quote a saying "have the patience of Jobe"' I recommend all visitors to Cape Town... More 

Helpful?
Thank goingnowhereslowly
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After 31 countries, I can honestly say that my experience to Cape Point with the "guide" Mark was the worst of all my travels. He is unprofessional, condescending and unorganized. He began the tour by introducing himself as Mark and can't remember his colleague's name . . . what does he say into the mic? "These African names are hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyaJJ
CSScpt, Director of Sales at City Sightseeing Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Lotoya. Thank you so much for your review. This is a new tour we recently launched and I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectation on the day. We will certainly ensure that we will use your feedback to improve our offering. You have been in touch with Mandi from our office and we have taken... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A truly amazing way to see round The Cape. Just hop on and off wherever you choose to and see what's on offer in and around the most beautiful City on Earth. Fantastic value and great guides on the buses.

Helpful?
Thank christopher999733
leicestershire
Level Contributor
394 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We picked up the blue route conveniently near where we were staying in Constantia and had a very interesting trip to the V&A Waterfront. Excellent commentary. Moving on via the red route to the Long Street meeting point of the main three routes was where it fell apart, waiting over 35 minutes for a yellow route bus that's scheduled to... More 

Helpful?
Thank stella317

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Sightseeing Cape Town and other visitors
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from City Sightseeing Cape Town staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?