We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Stellenbosch Botanical Gardens

Lovely spot to walk around Beautiful trees,ferns,water lily ponds and indigenous plants There is a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Judy-lynne H
,
Stellenbosch
via mobile
Food, service and gardens

I visited the gardens during the "woordfees" and even though they were very busy they accommodated... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
BarryGeyer
,
Paarl, South Africa
Read all 723 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (37 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
“water lilies” (14 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$56.40
More Info
from US$55.70
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bonsai trees"
in 37 reviews
"tea garden"
in 14 reviews
"water lilies"
in 14 reviews
"lily pads"
in 12 reviews
"interesting plants"
in 9 reviews
"free entry"
in 7 reviews
"middle of town"
in 14 reviews
"wide variety of plants"
in 6 reviews
"busy town"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful garden"
in 20 reviews
"peaceful place"
in 6 reviews
"breakfast or lunch"
in 7 reviews
"lovely restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 23 reviews
"walk around"
in 8 reviews
"sunny day"
in 9 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely spot to walk around Beautiful trees,ferns,water lily ponds and indigenous plants There is a restuarant nestled under the trees as well as a small nursery and shop

Thank Judy-lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the gardens during the "woordfees" and even though they were very busy they accommodated us. Service was good and the food great. Then we visited the gardens. WOW, congratulations with a stunning layout. Loved the amasing Bonsai gardens.

Thank BarryGeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed the walk around this neat botanical garden. The restaurant is wonderful! Good food and great service.

Thank linnyleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a cloudy day, so we decided to stroll through the gardens. Very pretty & they have a great bonsai tree greenhouse. It's a small park, but work a walk-through

Thank dbarroness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This botanical garden is great has a really nice (and big) collection of bonsaïs. The other species from the western cape are also interesting to see. The restaurant is neat and us a good place for a snack or à drink.

Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

A serene environment with a wide variety of plants and flowers. A perfect escape into nature and one can destress with a good cup of coffee at the restaurant situated in the middle of the gardens.

Thank Kritika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

In the middle of a drought the Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden is still beautiful. We easily spend several peaceful hours wandering around enjoying the well tended and curated collection. There is a lovely little Cafe in the centre that give you a credit towards your...More

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018

The garden is laid out to provide examples of many different types of plants. It is well labeled and often includes anecdotes about a unique trait or use.

Thank KAC9864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

The gardens are just fantastic! Every nature and plant lover's dream. The food I had at the restaurant was mediocre ..boboti that had clearly been frozen and just warmed up..slightly watery and rather bland. Three different waitresses served us and the one seemed more abrupt...More

Thank chachaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

After the stunning botanical garden at Kirstenbosch in Cape Town, this garden was a bit disappointing. However it has some beautiful water lilies including some large enough to hold a baby. It is certainly worth a visit, though 20 minutes is probably long enough

Thank ANGELAHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel
119 reviews
.23 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
746 reviews
.37 km away
Eendracht Hotel
484 reviews
.37 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
932 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's Restaurant
928 reviews
.41 km away
Fat Butcher
628 reviews
.21 km away
Basic Bistro
752 reviews
.43 km away
De Warenmarkt
146 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
311 reviews
.27 km away
Dutch Reform Church
122 reviews
.24 km away
Dorp Street
407 reviews
.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
March 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
February 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
December 30, 2015|
Answer
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes
;