We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Garden

These gardens are beautifully designed and cared for and the water gardens are exceptional. The... read more

Reviewed 12 December 2017
Woxhog
,
Oxford
via mobile
Pleasant Stroll near in downtown Stellenbosch

In the town centre, very pleasant gardens. We have certainly seen way more extensive gardens. But... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2017
Randy Z
,
Vancouver, Canada
Read all 720 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (37 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
“water lilies” (14 reviews)
Opens in 21 min
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$61.70
More Info
from US$60.90
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bonsai trees"
in 37 reviews
"tea garden"
in 14 reviews
"water lilies"
in 14 reviews
"lily pads"
in 12 reviews
"interesting plants"
in 9 reviews
"free entry"
in 7 reviews
"middle of town"
in 14 reviews
"wide variety of plants"
in 6 reviews
"busy town"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful garden"
in 20 reviews
"peaceful place"
in 6 reviews
"breakfast or lunch"
in 7 reviews
"lovely restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 23 reviews
"walk around"
in 8 reviews
"sunny day"
in 9 reviews
Filter

51 - 60 of 586 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

These gardens are beautifully designed and cared for and the water gardens are exceptional. The restaurant set amongst lovely subtropical plants was a great place for lunch

Thank Woxhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017

In the town centre, very pleasant gardens. We have certainly seen way more extensive gardens. But with the very cheap entrance fee worth stroll when walking downtown Stellenbosch

Thank Randy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

Such a beautiful setting. lovely place to take a picnic blanket and a book to read and relax. There are several interesting plants to see and a beautiful water feature that you can sit near. The plants are labelled which makes them easy to identify....More

Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2017

A little bit of nature in the town, easy accessible & a high variety of flora & fauna, including a wonderful Bonsai display.

Thank JS_in_Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

We came across these gardens by accident and could not have been more pleased to find this place of tranquility. Beautifully managed and well stocked .There is also a charming cafe in which to enjoy a relaxing drink.

Thank huddersfieldranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Loved the bonsai collection and the collection of edible plants. I really appreciated that the plants and trees were well labeled and included an extensive global collection (we were surprised to see the California Redwood!) The entrance is only 10 rand and worth it for...More

Thank lnmoschella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2017

Although not huge, this garden is well worth visiting. There is quite a wide variety of plants, including fynbos and a fantastic collection of bonsai trees. The restaurant is also a very pleasant place to eat in a delightful setting. There is also a nice...More

Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017

A great range of plants, beautifully presented and labelled. A most enjoyable way to pass an hour or so, and a good little gift shop

Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017

A small but well filled and well displayed botanic garden. For anyone interested in the varied flora of South Africa this is certainly worth a visit. Even if you are not into plants but just want a quiet, peaceful walk this is the place for...More

Thank geraldblaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

We took our engagement photos at the Gardens. This was the perfect spot and gave us perfect photos. Pre-arrangements must be make. Need to book to ensure that there is not to many couples that is within the garden to make it over crowded.

Thank 279clementa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel
119 reviews
.23 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
742 reviews
.37 km away
Eendracht Hotel
475 reviews
.37 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
917 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's Restaurant
918 reviews
.41 km away
Fat Butcher
614 reviews
.21 km away
Stellenbosch Kitchen
984 reviews
.46 km away
Basic Bistro
749 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
310 reviews
.27 km away
Dutch Reform Church
121 reviews
.21 km away
Dorp Street
404 reviews
.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
March 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
February 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
December 30, 2015|
Answer
Response from SUBG1902 | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes
;