We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peter Falke Winery

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Annandale Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 881 3677
Website
Today
11:00 - 19:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:00 - 19:00
Description:

The exclusive winery of Peter Falke is nestled against the majestic slopes...

The exclusive winery of Peter Falke is nestled against the majestic slopes of the Helderberg mountains in the heart of the Stellenbosch winelands, South Africa. Groenvlei Farm is home to rambling magenta bougainvillea, delicate scented roses and wild lavender growing alongside carefully cultivated vineyards.

Dating back to the 18th century, the traditional gabled Cape Dutch buildings of the wine estate belie a contrasting modernity within. The stately old homestead is partnered by a "boutique" winery, contemporary wine tasting room and luxurious outdoor lounge which have established Peter Falke Wines as the most elegant and serene sundowner retreat in the winelands.

Owner Peter Falke and his better half, Daniele Gortz, invite you to enjoy the exceptional wines that reflect their lifestyle, cultures and personalities.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 99 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 31
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Beautiful end to the day

Good wine (wooded chardonnay) and excellent kids play area but no food options for the kids. If going with adults only, HIGHLY recommended. Nachos looked delicious!

Reviewed 2 days ago
TamJean
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Good wine (wooded chardonnay) and excellent kids play area but no food options for the kids. If going with adults only, HIGHLY recommended. Nachos looked delicious!

Helpful?
Thank TamJean
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Peter Falke is a great outing for the entire family. The big open space grass areas are great for the kids and the little play pen and toys kept them busy for hours. There Sauvignon Blanc was unfortunately sold out, but the Chardonnay was a good replacement. Enjoyed some cheese platters with warm fresh bread and eventually we stayed so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rynoux D
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

With only one white wine to choose from the "wine list" to no real menu for kids and "dishes" that's priced somewhat over the top, this was my first and last visit!

Helpful?
Thank Johann J
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this review

Dear Johann Thank you visiting Peter Falke Wines and for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Peter Falke. Two of our most popular wines, the Peter Falke PF Sauvignon Blanc 2016 and the Peter Falke PF Blanc De Noir 2016 are indeed sold out and we only have the Peter Falke PF Chardonnay... More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you visit a decent vineyard you expect them to serve most of their wines. At Peter Falke (German stock maker) they proudly claim that everything other than Sauvignon blanc is sold out and new Syrah would be released in a month or two... If you want colorful socks, plenty to choose from in their wine shop.

Helpful?
Thank MuratErtug
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this review

Dear MuratErtug Thank you for visiting Peter Falke Wines and for your review. It seems that there might have been a communication misunderstanding as we have all our wines available for tasting except the Sauvignon Blanc and the Blanc De Noir as these two are sold out and the next 2017 vintage will be released in June. The Signature Syrah... More 

Point Roberts, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I were looking for the perfect wine experience to end our trip to South Africa. It was recommended we visit Peter Falke Winery, a ten minute drive out of Stellenbosch, up in the hills. It was suggested we seek out Reuben and say hello. "He would take care of us". A busy sunny Sunday afternoon, we realized... More 

Helpful?
Thank pointbeyond
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Peter Falke Wines and for your beautiful review. Our staff are incredible and we are very proud of them. Kind Regards, Alexa Pretorius More 

south africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Visited this winery for some late afternoon wine.The views are really nice- looking up at the mountains. Very relaxed atmostphere with lots of families with little ones sitting on the grass or on the benches scattered around. They have a small menu which guests can order from- we tried the nachos and they were really good. They have a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank debbieSouthAfrica
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

So we had a bit of mixed feelings regarding Peter Falke wines. While the wines are good and pretty tasty the experience was a little lacking. The tasting room is beautiful but with the staff breaking plates etc and the dogs running inside the tasting room and barking ..... it was really not enjoyable .... we didn't even finish our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coincut
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice picnic style outing, kids could play and run around and we had wine( the chardonnay is really good), cheese and charcuterie platter which I will definitely order again. All in all a very good experience, staff very friendly and helpful and beanbags great for memorable picnic!

Helpful?
Thank AandeVliet
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

A wonderful relaxed Sunday lunch with awesome wine. Chill on the beanbags on the lawn and absorb the wonder of the winelands!

Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

It was a hot afternoon, and we decided to enjoy a late lunch in a relax atmosphere. One can select where you want to sit : on the terrace (tables and couches) or on the lawn. We decided for the lawn and enjoyed a Kudu carpaccio and a lentil salad with a delicious red wine. We specifically appreciated the great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beautiful View G

Travellers who viewed Peter Falke Winery also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Peter Falke Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peter Falke Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?