We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ameristar Casino Black Hawk

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 111 Richman Street, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone Number:
+1 720-946-4000
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 309 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 156
    Excellent
  • 83
    Very good
  • 36
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Nice stay

We enjoyed our stay at the Ameristar - the casino is fun and they also have some nice eateries (the buffet is one of our favorites). This is just a short one hour drive from home... read more

Reviewed 14 February 2017
denver60
,
Denver, Colorado
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 305: English reviews
Middle Bass, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel and casino in the past and had a great time. This trip, however, is so disappointing. If it was my first visit, it would also be my last. MANY of the slots are out of service for the next 2 days, due to an audit (I was told by management). I will be taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for your recent review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, but we're concerned to see you didn't have a 5-star experience with us.Thank you for your patience as we had some of our machines out of service. We hope to see you again soon for an improved experience. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a room at Black Hawk because it's one of the nicest hotels in Black Hawk and I wanted a relaxing getaway. My room was great, beautiful, luxurious feel. However, I was so disappointed by the number of children all over the hotel. Many of the hotels and casinos in Black Hawk have a strict no-kids policy. Ameristar evidently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kslick1
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with the kids in the pool. We hope to see you again soon for an improved experience. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Black Hawk, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm local and visit the Ara Spa frequently. Always an awesome experience. I put my Mom up in Ameristar for a couple days during her last visit, the rooms are nice, the pool and hot tub on the roof are awesome and the service has always been good. I've eaten at both Fireside and Timberline Grill - only once have... More 

Helpful?
Thank clester80422
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We're thrilled to hear you always love visiting us at ara Spa. They really are a wonderful team up there. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Had a really good time in the casino. It was completely smoke free!!!!!!! That's a huge plus in our book. Blackjack table limits were too high..... I played $10 a hand from 4:30 PM until 4:30 AM.....yes....12 hours straight...and never received one comp. That was a huge disappointment....not even a 1/2 off a buffet or anything. In Vegas I've been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your experience, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Room was clean and spacious. Beds very comfortable. The price a little high for it being a Thursday. Staff at the casino were polite and courteous to us.

Helpful?
Thank Devan S
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the clean and comfortable rooms and beautiful friendly team members. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

lots of slots but heard or saw no one winning anything-- lack of drink service-- lots of fun slots to chose from-

Helpful?
Thank dbandel
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your gaming experience, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Denver, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We love Black Hawk and it one of our favorite destinations. Ameristar is without doubt the biggest and best hotel in town currently. We had some issues with housekeeping like cleaning the room very late (7pm) and completely missing our room one day on a five night stay.Aside from this still a nice place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the housekeeping issues you experienced, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Wow, what a beautiful casino. Woodsy and western, with historical photos of Black Hawk's past history during the silver rush days. Plush carpet and spacious. We arrived just before noon on Sunday and found ample parking in their self-park area. Valet parking is also available. (One may also choose CasinoShuttle.com for a bus ride up and back to Denver locations.)... More 

Helpful?
Thank R and L B
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the warm and welcoming environment, beautiful rooms, and great gaming options . We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This used to be my favorite casino & that says a lot having lived in Vegas a while. The rooms are not as clean anymore, lots of dust everywhere and smudges & finger prints on windows. Hair is frequently on the bathroom floors. However the worst part now is the casino is much tighter than it ever was, since ownership... More 

Helpful?
Thank mdj1129
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for your recent review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, but we're concerned to see you didn't have a 5-star experience with us. We have passed your comments regarding the housekeeping and our mychoice loyalty program. We would like to learn more about your stay. Could you please email us at socialmediaabh@ameristar.com with additional details? We... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1,123 reviews
669 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,231 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Ameristar - the casino is fun and they also have some nice eateries (the buffet is one of our favorites). This is just a short one hour drive from home so it is fun to get away for an overnight in Black Hawk - we will return.

Helpful?
Thank denver60
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Black Hawk, responded to this review

Good afternoon - Thank you for choosing to stay and play with us at Ameristar. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the wonderful gaming and dining options. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar Black Hawk. More 

Travellers who viewed Ameristar Casino Black Hawk also viewed

 

Been to Ameristar Casino Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ameristar Casino Black Hawk and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Darlington
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ameristar Casino Black Hawk staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?