We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haymaker Golf Course

34855 E US Highway 40, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9742
+1 970-870-1846
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Nice course--

The course was very nice and nicely kept, with nice starters, ranger on the course, and cart... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Kathythinks
,
Sewickley,Pa
Over delivered for us

Yes a bit pricey for a city golf course and if I had a complaint, really wanted to table one, that... read more

Reviewed 8 August 2017
keith3213
,
Fort Collins, Colorado
Read all 48 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
This 233 acre, city-owned public golf course features at least four sets of tees per hole, playing from 5,059 to 7,308 yards. It has been described as a core golf course built for golfers. There are no surrounding developments, no distractions except for the broad vistas of the Yampa Valley and Mount Werner. The course offers good green sizes with 5 different cupping positions. It also has a substantial practice area - driving range, sand trap, chipping and putting green. Haymaker accommodates and challenges golfers of all ability levels from novice to professional. Club fitting, TrackMan swing analysis, lessons, clinics for all ages are available all summer long. Popular junior programs, men's and ladies play days.
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good45%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
34855 E US Highway 40, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9742
CONTACT
Website
+1 970-870-1846
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The course was very nice and nicely kept, with nice starters, ranger on the course, and cart service. BUT, if you are from out of town visiting and have to rent clubs--think again. Clubs were so dirty--cakes of dried mud, with grips that were not...More

Thank Kathythinks
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Yes a bit pricey for a city golf course and if I had a complaint, really wanted to table one, that is all I got. Otherwise, this was a first rate golf experience on a fabulous golf course. Starts out a bit benign and underwhelming...More

Thank keith3213
Katie O, Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We are glad you enjoyed it! When you return in September be sure to ask the front desk of your hotel for a lodging rate postcard for discounted greens fees. Thank you for playing Haymaker!

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We spent a couple hours cross-country skiing here on a Monday. Since it's on a golf course, it's mostly flat with undulations. It was an enjoyable day, but I wish there were more trails. We did them all (green/beginner and blue/intermediate), and I was surprised...More

Thank Steve O
Barbara R, Guest Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. It is very impressive that you were able to complete all the trails in one day. We are now in full swing for golf and our 233 acres are green. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had a great time playing this golf course. It is well kept, challenging, and has great service. The greens are very difficult. The views were beautiful with golden aspens all around.More

Thank mgmaple
Barbara R, Public Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the course. We will be delighted to share your comments with the shop and grounds staff. Now that you played the course, the greens may not appear so challenging in the future. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 18 August 2016

Golf course has a 127 slope and it plays to that. Lots of places to lose balls. The back plays tougher after the first 3 holes, so don't get to excited. Overall a fun golf course with plenty of challenges.More

Thank Brian B
Barbara R, Public Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Playing any course for the first time seems to be a little more taxing on loosing balls. With 5 sets of tees to choose from it offers the right challenge for each players handicap, but certainly course knowledge will safe...More

Reviewed 16 August 2016

We played 9 at haymaker with Ann's sister and husband. This is a beautiful course at the base of Mt. Werner that is well maintained and open. The course is hilly and we dragged and pulled our push carts for exercise. The course is long,...More

1  Thank remery1513
Barbara R, Public Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you so very much for your awesome review. I trust that you may have played the back 9 holes, as the front nine holes are less hilly. To accommodate all players, the course offers 5 sets of tees to choose from. Walking is still...More

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

The corse is well kept, with tricky greens. The play was slow due to computer booking issues, they had to squeeze folks in. Overall I would go back.

Thank 99texasfan
Barbara R, Public Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you are planning to return. Glitches are never pleasant and we were happy to move through it.

Reviewed 18 July 2016

Real nice for a city course. Great people , good 19th hole. Various prices available depending on time of day

Thank Tom D
Barbara R, Public Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Love your comments, thank you for that. We hope to welcome you again soon and we will do our utmost to earn your 5ths star.

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Played here a couple years ago with my family. Pro shop staff and course were great. But where this place really shines is the outside service crew. Tom and Nathan made us feel like we were members at Augusta!

Thank OysterAddict
Barbara R, Public Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

We are delighted and proud to read your great review. We will make sure that the outside service staff is recognized for their services. The course is in wonderful shape and so ready for a fantastic 2016 season. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 2 February 2016

My husband and I wanted to find a location close to town where we could snow shoe for an hour. We decided to give Haymaker Nordic Center a try. The golf course on the edge of town is transformed into a winter playground for cross...More

Thank Steamboat323
Barbara R, Public Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Thank you very much for this detail report of a fun day in the snow. Nordic skiing and snow shoeing are indeed a delightful alternative to our famous alpine skiing ventures. The winter course is fun for beginners as it offers rolling terrains and no...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Rex's American Grill & Bar
636 reviews
2.30 km away
The Truffle Pig
475 reviews
3.38 km away
Yama
63 reviews
3.64 km away
Three Peaks Grill
186 reviews
3.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Steamboat Ski Resort
1,332 reviews
3.42 km away
Routt National Forest
70 reviews
2.44 km away
The Tennis Center at Steamboat Springs
81 reviews
3.22 km away
Kids' Vacation Center
53 reviews
3.65 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haymaker Golf Course staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit