We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 98 Neptune Ave, New London, CT 06320-2835
Phone Number:
+1 860-447-3031
Website
Description:

New England's finest beach and boardwalk attractions including mini golf...

New England's finest beach and boardwalk attractions including mini golf course, rides, water slides, kiddy spray park, olympic pool, arcade, gift shop, food concessions, cafe with restaurant, banquet and catering facilities, picnic area, health club, nature walk

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 270 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 107
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 38
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 23
    Terrible
Nice beach, nice pool.

Took my daughter to this beach to waste some time. You pay to park weekdays $16 weekends $23. You also pay for the pool and the rides and whatever else is available on the... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 August 2016
tukytukytuky
,
New York City, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

Took my daughter to this beach to waste some time. You pay to park weekdays $16 weekends $23. You also pay for the pool and the rides and whatever else is available on the boardwalk. This particular beach must have sea lice aka: little jelly larvae because my daughter and I both got sting-like reactions (itchy/burning) after entering the beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank tukytukytuky
David S, Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your thoughts. Unfortunately we did have some jellyfish this year. They sometimes come in late August sometimes for a week or two but haven't been here in a couple of years. We're happy to hear you were able to use the pool to cool off. Thanks Again! More 

Weatherford, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Went here with friends for a few hours. $23 per car on the weekends. Ample parking. Beach was crowded, but it wasn't so bad that we couldn't find a place to spread out. Plenty of personal space. The amenities are decent, but there is a constant line for the women's restroom. The people were generally nice and respectful, which the... More 

Helpful?
Thank possumqueen
David S, General Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and thoughts. We hope that you are able to make it back again! More 

tolive
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful sands, plenty of volleyball courts on the beach, has a nice and short walking trail. We even saw a few purple jellyfish on shore. Highly recommend the right end of the beach area , closer to the walking trail, because it is way less crowded. The splashpad and playground are fun. Too bad the Olympic sizes pool was close... More 

Helpful?
Thank tolive
David S, General Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We hope your day was enjoyable with a good volleyball game as well. We hope to see you soon! More 

Boston, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016

Overall this is a nice family beach with available refreshments and bathrooms. The water is generally calm but the sand could be better maintained to remove some small pieces of debris and broken glass that can cause injury. The park does have a little estuary area that kids can explore and if you want to pay extra you can use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward Y
David S, Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your review. We do sift our sand daily to remove any debris but also understand sometimes people leave garbage behind. We will constantly try to provide the cleanest and best beach experience possible and appreciate your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016

Take the family and enjoy a day at the beach. Beautiful sand, water and you can walk and play all day long. Jump in the Olympic size swimming pool if the ocean is not your thing. Plenty of food and drink available and fun for the family.

Helpful?
Thank Vail183
David S, Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Hello and thanks so much for your review. We truly appreciate that you have choices to make, chose Ocean Beach Park, and had such nice words to say. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

Lovely, old-fashioned boardwalk and beach in the heart of Southeastern Connecticut. Even in the off season, it's delightful to stroll around here.

Helpful?
Thank Canadiancitylover
David S, General Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about Ocean Beach Park. We hope to have the good fortune to see you again here soon! More 

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016

Golf swimming food festivals om gosh . so much to do , but cant do it in one day . i have been going to ocean beach park for 55 years and to view the online it truly looks the same . my mom was from Ct and i was truly at the park every summer for 25 years. the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jbdblack
David S, General Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Debbie, Thanks so much for making our day. You have actually been coming here two years longer than I have so I really appreciate your comments. Nothing better than hearing from someone who has been coming here for so long. Thanks again! More 

Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
298 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016

This is our favorite beach, but it seems it is not as good as before. We went on a weekday, it was $17 to park. The beach was not as clean as usual. The seagulls are not afraid of people, one swooped at my head and took pizza right out of my hand. It was funny, but a little scary.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
David S, General Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Hello Danielle, and thanks for your thoughts. I am truly sorry that you saw some garbage on the beach. We sift the beach daily and have a large crew on all day and night to remove any garbage so apologize that was your experience. We do ask people not to feed the gulls as it makes them more comfortable around... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Son loves the pool and the sand is very clean. Someone is constantly cleaning up. Nice to get ice cream right before we leave. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Nicole i
David S, General Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Thank you Nichole! We sincerely appreciate your remarks and that you choose to come here. We hope you continue to enjoy your ice cream on the boardwalk. Thanks again! More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

The website makes it look like the boardwalk is full of fun activities. I can understand paying one fee to get in, but come on every little thing is extra. Mini golf, the pool...it's crazy! The water was clean and warm. Overall it was mediocre. I wouldnt return however.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmella K
David S, General Manager at Ocean Beach Park, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your comments. Our website does make it clear that there are separate charges for concessions and attractions in the park. Many people just come for the beach so we have found it best to charge for what people want to enjoy. Thanks again More 

Travellers who viewed Ocean Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ocean Beach Park and other visitors
31 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
6 months ago
Westhampton, Massachusetts
over a year ago
ma
7 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Beach Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?