We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number: +1 727-894-1000
Description:

Resort golf course features 18 holes stretched over 6,267 yards at par 72.

Resort golf course features 18 holes stretched over 6,267 yards at par 72.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 55 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Great weekend getaway

We don't live far, but needed a weekend getaway after a stress filled week and chose The Vinoy because it is a Marriott property, was close to the downtown restaurant area and was... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 July 2016
KristynS
,
Parrish, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2016

We don't live far, but needed a weekend getaway after a stress filled week and chose The Vinoy because it is a Marriott property, was close to the downtown restaurant area and was a full service resort. It is a beautiful property, laid out nicely, and did have really good service at the front desk. Room was nice, but not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KristynS
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing The Vinoy to take a "staycation". It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay overall including the beauty of our resort, the good service at the front desk, the nice room and the prime location of our resort. As you mentioned, we are right in the middle of everything from museums, to beautiful walking/running... More 

Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

I can still recall the first time the I stayed at the Vinoy - over 20 years ago: The service was "over the top". Fortunately, this standard has not changed over the years. During my stay, last week, I was impressed by the attentiveness of every one on the staff I encountered. Oh, and the property is very well appointed,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Egalitarian49
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Golf Club, responded to this review

We love our valued, repeat customers. Thank you for your loyalty over the years. It was a pleasure to know that we have kept our customer service up-to-par and "over the top". Such a nice compliment. We will look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Thanks for sharing your positive experience. More 

Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2016

Great staff, and the golf course is in great shape. Greens are running very fast, but running true as well. Highly recommend this course!

Helpful?
Thank Colin S
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2016

We may have caught the resort on an off day, as a large convention appeared to be ending. We had stayed at the Vinoy a few years ago and were not thrilled, but the building is so lovely and the location is so good, we decided to give it another shot. This time, however, the service was really terrible, especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine F
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Golf Club, responded to this review

On behalf of our team here at The Vinoy, I appreciate your time in sharing your feedback. It is a shame that you didn't experience the true Vinoy hospitality that we are known for, however, any and all feedback that we receive is very important to us. We certainly take each comment seriously and use it as a tool to... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2015

Friends laugh...because we take a stay-cation from our beach house. BUT we love love love the Vinoy. It's way better than the Don'! The rooms are bigger and the restaurant rocks! The view is wonderful and you can walk to everything downtown. Staff is more than helpful! I might even go there tomorrow night! lol

Helpful?
Thank StPetersburgtraveler
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel over 20 times in the last ten years. This hotel is superb. Truly the best in this area. Rooms are large and well equipped. The common areas are a mix of old Florida meets new Mediterranean style. The staff is second to none and is very guest oriented. Close to downtown St Pete and... More 

Helpful?
Thank coyote099
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2015

The early 20th century hotel was nice to visit, but I wished they had not "updated" it and tried to give it a modern twist. Why in the world would one want to change something beautiful and historic? Preservation is key. They did have a nice Chihuly art piece prominently displayed at the front lobby. But, I think they could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us at The Vinoy Renaissance Resort and Golf Club. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We like to call ourselves "historically hip" with a true passion and respect for our legendary history and an excitement looking forward. Our design blends the past with the future. While we certainly appreciate your opinion, we... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
566 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2015

we stayed on a golf break at the Vinoy and had 2 rounds on the course. It is in excellent condition, well maintained and challenging. Staff excellent as are the facilities in the club house.

Helpful?
Thank William L
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2015

I stayed here for three nights on business and really enjoyed it. It was a perfect fit for our group of about 200 with breakout rooms. I never saw the golf club or golf course, but our event went very well and the rooms were outstanding. My had a jacuzzi on the balcony. This hotel is across the street from... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennteam
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful. They were very busy. There were two weddings and a party going on during the night of our stay. Directly outside our Jacuzzi room was the staging are for the weddings. Until after 10:00 at night , there were servers very close to our Jacuzzi. Privacy was lacking. We asked the front desk to change rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank glutenfreesearch

Travellers who viewed Renaissance Vinoy Golf Club also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Vinoy Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?