We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tampa Water Taxi Company

Harbour Island, Tampa, FL 33602
+1 888-665-8687
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.99*
and up
Tampa History Cruise
More Info
US$29.99*
and up
1.5-hour Dolphin Sightseeing Cruise from Tampa
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
The Tampa Water Taxi Company Has Dolphin, History, Harbor and Famous People home tours on the beautiful waters of Tampa Bay for 11 years. Want to see a wild Dolphin with in 5 feet JOIN US. Want to learn the History of Tampa that goes back 4000 years we can show and tell you. Our Professional Tour guides will educate and entertain you and your guests. We are not a generic boat ride that has a boat driver reading a script. That is why our tours are not one size fits all. Join us for a lifelong memory of Tampa.
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good10%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“captain larry” (58 reviews)
“dolphin tour” (13 reviews)
“history tour” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Harbour Island, Tampa, FL 33602
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

very interresing and informative cruise. Captain Larry is the man! Great since of humor and knowledgeable of Tampa history

Thank TricW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being a major port, this perspective of Tampa's past was enlightening, enjoyable and very worthwhile. Capt. Larry's 12 years doing this made his commentary wide ranging from commercial to residential to environmental. The 90 minutes provided an appreciation of Tampa's growth and vitality, starting with...More

Thank pac120691
CaptLarry, General Manager at Tampa Water Taxi Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to make every trip a good one. I am sorry that the exaust was noticeable on breezy days we request that our guests not sit at the back rail as wind may make that happen. As...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend bought the 1 year subscription and we use it often. Love the fact that it makes various stops and you have the opportunity to talk to others riders and have a drink while enjoying the ride. We usually go to Ulele so we...More

Thank Gladys-Lopez
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We started out at Rick's on the river for my birthday lunch. We had seen the water taxi a couple times before and always said we wanted to do that one day. Today was the day we jumped on at Rick's and travel all up...More

Thank Debi C
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

6 old friends spent several days of “tourist time” in Tampa. A highlight of our trip was the dolphin water cruise with Captain Larry. He was knowledgeable about the dolphins and Tampa area and happy to share. We were fortunate to see several dolphins swimming...More

Thank marshatravis
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We made our initial reservation online, however, no one was apparently made aware of it. Upon arrival at the dock and no one being there we called and were advised that they were closed due to weather which is understandable. We rescheduled for the following...More

Thank Megan P
CaptLarry, General Manager at Tampa Water Taxi Company, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Megan, I am sorry that you felt disappointed . We did cancel your original trip as the weather conditions were poor (windy and choppy on the bay). You booked on line with a 3ed party last min. to us and they did not send...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I took this tour with my dad and 2 teenage daughters because of my love for history. Tampa is our second home and I have been wanting to know more about its history for awhile now. Captain Larry did not disappoint. The Captain does a...More

Thank Rebekah B
CaptLarry, General Manager at Tampa Water Taxi Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank You , Thank You I love guests that enjoy history as much as we do. Thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewed 14 October 2017

My daughter and two granddaughters and I took the history cruise. Captain Larry is very knowledgeable about the history of the area and was able to answer most of our questions. This is not a luxury cruise where you sit back waiting for cocktails.

Thank Dave D
CaptLarry, General Manager at Tampa Water Taxi Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We love sharing the history of Tampa. Thank You for joining us.

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Me, my husband, adult son and daughter-in-law took the Tampa History Cruise. My son and I are history buffs, but this tour was very disappointing. The boat is in very poor condition and the seating was uncomfortable; the microphone didn't work so the tour guide...More

Thank drsas2017
CaptLarry, General Manager at Tampa Water Taxi Company, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

I am sorry you did not feel that the tour was what you expected. You were correct that our PA system was damaged by a storm the day before and was not operating. If you contacted me directly and made your concerns known I would...More

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Great tour with captain Mark - luckily my friend and I were the only people on the boat as it was a Monday afternoon so we could move about with ease but the captain still gave us a first class tour despite the numbers -...More

Thank Midnightmor
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Columbia Cafe - Riverwalk Tampa
556 reviews
.49 km away
Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi
1,350 reviews
.07 km away
Champions Sports Bar
389 reviews
.19 km away
Hattricks
394 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tampa Riverwalk
1,085 reviews
.45 km away
Amalie Arena
1,472 reviews
.41 km away
Tampa Bay History Center
469 reviews
.49 km away
Tampa Convention Center
192 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Britini A
4 May 2017|
Answer
Response from CaptLarry | Property representative |
We do not allow smoking on public tours. On private charters it is up to the charter if they or there guests smoke.
1
Vote
kweinberger
14 November 2016|
Answer
Response from CaptLarry | Property representative |
Thanks for your question. We are open 7/365 days a year. All of our tours are fun and address all ages of our guests. We do allow adult beverages to be brought , but we request that only cans or wine bottles with plastic... More
1
Vote
cabojim
28 September 2015|
Answer
Response from CaptLarry | Property representative |
Yes we need a reservation for our trips , as we pick you up by boat at more than one location in Tampa. The dolphin tours depart at 11 am 2 pm and 4 pm. We do have trips later in the day that go on the same route as the... More
0
Votes