We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diamond Jo Casino

777 Diamond Jo Ln, Northwood, IA 50459-8801
+1 877-323-5566
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Nice, decent casino

We were going to Council Bluffs for a girls weekend and stayed here the first nite. ( at the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Debi H
,
Britt, Minnesota
via mobile
Thiefs with a license

wont to get rid of some money?? go to this casino, I will guarantee that you will lose. and don't... read more

Reviewed 3 May 2018
kathy t
,
Mason City, Iowa
Read all 145 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good31%
  • Average23%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
777 Diamond Jo Ln, Northwood, IA 50459-8801
CONTACT
Website
+1 877-323-5566
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"country inn and suites"
in 8 reviews
"twin cities"
in 4 reviews
"big wheel"
in 3 reviews
"small casino"
in 7 reviews
"players club"
in 4 reviews
"diamond jo"
in 7 reviews
"penny slots"
in 5 reviews
"adjoining hotel"
in 2 reviews
"nice place to stop"
in 3 reviews
"slots and table games"
in 4 reviews
"casino floor"
in 5 reviews
"card poker"
in 2 reviews
"black jack"
in 3 reviews
"free beverages"
in 2 reviews
"food options"
in 2 reviews
"live music"
in 2 reviews
"endless summer"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were going to Council Bluffs for a girls weekend and stayed here the first nite. ( at the Country Inn and Suites connected to the casino). This casino is decent size, has a ton of games, tables, slots, craps, roulette. Although none of us...More

Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Manager at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Debi, We’re so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully your next visit will be a five-star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

wont to get rid of some money?? go to this casino, I will guarantee that you will lose. and don't get thirsty, there is a little petite blond drink server girl that only will get you a drink if you tip her otherwise she doesn't...More

Thank kathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Manager at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I’m very sorry that your experience was not pleasant. Please do let us know if there is anything we should follow-up on, or anything we can improve for your next visit. It is our goal to ensure that each guest has a wonderful time, and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018

I was staying at a hotel nearby, so I stopped in and walked around the casino. It was a very clean casino with friendly staff. I enjoyed the decor inside. Only played a couple machines but I had a good time.

Thank hoopster3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Manager at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Hoopster3145, Thanks for the 4 STAR REVIEW! We love to hear great experiences like yours because our Team Members take great pride in the job they do. I hope you come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We like stopping at this small casino on our trips too and from Iowa. However, it seems in the past few years the payouts are as good as they used to be. Property is very clean and atmosphere is nice as well as all of...More

Thank NANCY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Hello Nancy! Please come visit us again! We’d love the opportunity to turn that four-star experience into a five-star one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

When we went there is was not very busy at all. My machine broke as well as my boyfriends and there was no one available to help us. There was one manager on duty and she was frazzled because she had a payout to handle....More

1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Judy, Thanks for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent visit. I want to apologize for your gaming experience that took place on your recent visit. Although it is not excuse, we did have a system malfunction that affected several machines that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

A Boyd casino is usually a fantastic time. Not exactly this time though. We were driving to Minnesota and stopped for a night. We found the gambling to be very tight. May stop again if it works out that way. Don't hold your breath though

1  Thank 3jamiesouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

3jamiesouthwell, Thanks for your recent 3 Star review. I'm sorry to hear you did not come out a winner on your trip. Gambling can sometimes run in streaks, so maybe your next visit will produce more results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Regardless of payouts (it's a casino), we always have a good time. The live music is great and very accessible in the middle of the casino floor. The lines at the players club can get long but the host are always helpful. If your drinking...More

Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Owner at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

As we strive to make every experience a five-star one, we’d love your feedback on what could become even better. Please reach out if you have any ideas for us. Otherwise, we’ll just look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Really liked the casino, but it was really smoky. I wonder why this type of atmosphere still exists in this day. It seems like the smokers are even more rude knowing that they can blow smoke where ever they want with zero regard to anyone...More

1  Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, other at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

Randy J, Thanks for the 3 Star review! Sorry to hear it was smoky during your visit and will investigate the reason. Our air filtration system circulates fresh air multiple times every hour. Thanks, Scott Smith VP & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We visited on a Sunday late morning/early afternoon. We were on our way back to the twin cities and decided to check it out. The staff was awesome. I've been to Las Vegas countless times and never experienced the hospitality that I did in Iowa...More

Thank Cwulfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Cwulfing, Thanks for your Awesome 5 Star Review! Our staff takes great pride in the customer service provided so they will be excited to see this review. We will be sure to save a seat for you for your next visit. Thanks, Scott Smith GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

This was my first time at this casino, I obtained a players card. You have to play approximately $10 in the slot machines to qualify for the perks. My perk for a free buffet meal. Then you have to cash out of the machine your...More

1  Thank erjunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

erjunebug, Thanks for your 4 Star review rating! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed yourself on your visit and will share your experience with our Team. Your detailed comments will help us improve our customer service going forward. Thanks, Scott Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Northwood Hotels
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Northwood, IA
399 reviews
.05 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood
82 reviews
.31 km away
Royal Motel
5 reviews
10.87 km away
Motel 65
9 reviews
20.68 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo
19 reviews
.00 km away
Subway
9 reviews
.00 km away
Woodfire Grille
25 reviews
.08 km away
The Kitchen Buffet
72 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Myre-Big Island State Park
53 reviews
21.48 km away
Winnebago Industries Factory Tour
56 reviews
31.50 km away
Plane Crash Site of Buddy Holly
199 reviews
23.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sandy M
June 5, 2018|
Answer
Response from kathy t | Reviewed this property |
one
0
Votes
Sandy M
June 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 3jamiesouthwell | Reviewed this property |
Cannot remember!!! :)
0
Votes
Q207UFrichardc
February 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kathy t | Reviewed this property |
if you tip the petite blond that brings drinks around, then yes they are but don't tip her and she doesn't know your there, beverage service really stinks
0
Votes
;