We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Portage Isle Royale Transportation Lines

402 Upper Rd, Grand Portage, MN 55605
+1 218-475-0024
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Long ride

The boat was a bit smaller than I anticipated from the picture and the price was a bit steep, but... read more

Reviewed 27 September 2017
Cherie P
,
Pahrump, Nevada, United States
Rude staff, poor website

The pictures on the website for this place show a small boat with indoor seating. There is no... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2017
Kate A
,
Kansas City, Missouri
via mobile
Read all 41 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good31%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“national park” (6 reviews)
“boat ride” (11 reviews)
“free coffee” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
402 Upper Rd, Grand Portage, MN 55605
CONTACT
Website
+1 218-475-0024
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

The boat was a bit smaller than I anticipated from the picture and the price was a bit steep, but it is necessary to use if you want to get to Isle Royale. The ride to Windago was a couple of hours, but by the...More

Thank Cherie P
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

The pictures on the website for this place show a small boat with indoor seating. There is no mention of outdoor seating anywhere. It also looked like the boat would hold about 15-20 people inside the boat. With this information, my husband and I prepared...More

Thank Kate A
GPIR, Manager at Grand Portage Isle Royale Transportation Lines, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your input. Our website shows the boats that we operate, no others. The so called "pretentious" attitude is nothing more than trying to persuade those we notice who are not dressed accordingly to put on another layer based on the weather conditions...More

Reviewed 19 September 2017

There are very few options for getting out to Isle Royale. This one is a bit pricey, but if you want to go out to the island and explore for a few hours (or do a back country trip), you need to swallow the sticker...More

Thank stevevw31
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Took the Voyageur II to Isle Royale for a 5 day backpacking trip. The 2 men who serve as the crew loaded everyones packs on to the top of the boat covered and secured them. Mike was so helpful to people who were getting sea...More

Thank Libby B
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

As I read the other reviews I have to laugh. People you will be traveling across a small part of one of the largest fresh water bodies of water in the world. You will get wet, you will be on a small boat with waves,...More

2  Thank Jon M
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We road the Voyager 11 to Isle Royale, it takes 6 hours and the seat I had was a wooden bench, no pad, nothing but hard wood. They don't have enough padded seats, so a lot of people have to sit on the engine covers,...More

Thank Ann H
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We were a bit alarmed when we arrived at the dock to see a large crowd of people waiting to get on a small boat. The size of the boat was not at all what we were expecting or used to. There is definitely not...More

Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
GPIR, Owner at Grand Portage Isle Royale Transportation Lines, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Hi and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed yourself on the trip. Rest assured that there is absolutely nothing wrong with our engines, we were actually just inspected by the Coast Guard less than a week...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Our trip out to IRNP was more than rough. There were 8-10 foot waves. The crew was great and I felt completely safe. The only complaint I have is as a backpacker you end up paying double what the day visitors do. That being said...More

Thank Jefff D
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

48 degrees, heavy winds, rough water, soaking for 2 hour ride to Isle Royal! Be warned! If the weather is threatening, the boat will go anyway and you will need rain suits, dry clothes, sea sick bags and a fearless attitude! My friend had to...More

2  Thank 147kathyt
GPIR, Manager at Grand Portage Isle Royale Transportation Lines, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your comments, I think. I would like to address and respond to some of the points you posted. We wish more than anyone that every day was sunny and flat calm on the water, however, the reality is we are in the...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We took the Voyageur II out to the island and there was plenty of room to sit inside. However, the Seahunter is very cramped and there is not enough room for all passengers to sit inside. It was a very cold, rainy day and we...More

Thank RenJen8
GPIR, Manager at Grand Portage Isle Royale Transportation Lines, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that you had a less than pleasant ride home. We try to inform everyone of the differences in temps between the lake and the mainland, in fact it is one of our...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Grand Portage Lodge and Casino
31 reviews
3.80 km away
Chicago Bay Marketplace
29 reviews
27.15 km away
The Eddy
76 reviews
49.25 km away
CJ's Restaurant
17 reviews
49.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Portage National Monument
229 reviews
2.92 km away
Points Unknown
29 reviews
25.50 km away
Judge C.R. Magney State Park
279 reviews
33.41 km away
Kakabeka Falls
511 reviews
49.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bruce s
28 May 2017|
Answer
Response from GPIR | Property representative |
Pets are not allowed on Isle Royale with the exception of service dogs and seeing eye dogs that are cleared in advance by the park service. We must receive notification from the park in advance of the trip that an animal has... More
0
Votes