Motherland Connextions, Inc.

Motherland Connextions, Inc.

Motherland Connextions, Inc.
4.5
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
38 reviews
Excellent
33
Very good
1
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
2

happy4travel
Northern California1,290 contributions
Jun. 2019
This was an incredible experience. Our family was so impressed. Coming from California was really an amazing venture. Most of the families came from California they were thrilled and they enjoyed the newness and the visitor center! Really great trip for the kids!
Written December 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

elizabethbW2888NC
Hampton Roads Area, United States2 contributions
Oct. 2019
I agree with all the positive reviews that have been written about Kevin, the tours, and the whole educational experience. I highly recommend this tour to anyone that desires to understand the big picture of the quest for freedom in America.
Think that it would be valuable if he were to partner with the local colleges to train some students to conduct the tours for academic credit. This would be good for students in the hospitality, social sciences and liberal arts fields. It could also bring in more dollars for the city as millenials are more inclined to spend money, share news of their experiences and draw in their peer group. We also took the Niagara Falls Canadian and Underground Railroad Heritage Tour. Thank you Motherland Connextions.
Written October 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travel11223344
Edmonton, Alberta202 contributions
We had a great time with Kevin, he's very informative and friendly. We didn't have a great understanding of history prior to the tour and he encouraged questions to ensure we understood the background. We really enjoyed ourselves, appreciated how engaging Kevin was and highly recommend! Book directly through Motherland Connextions - if you're buying through Groupon or Viator, you aren't going direct.
Written September 15, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KompassionateDr
330 contributions
My husband and I are in Niagara Falls Canada for his work conference. Before we arrived, I booked this excursion for me to do on 9-5-19 via Viator.com. The representative from Viator did tell me that this tour is one of their top tours that sells out quickly. I soon learned that is a lie. I booked the tour that was on Monday, September 9, 2019 at 3pm. Representative stated that the operator of this tour would reach out to me via email to get my hotel information for pickup.

On Saturday, I still had not received an e-mail from the operator so I took it upon myself to call them to give them my hotel pickup information. Glad I called, the guy did tell me that as of right now I was the only one booked on the tour, but hopefully others would book by then or the tour would be cancelled. He said he wasn’t at a computer and told me to text him my hotel pickup information.

Fast forward to Monday, September 9, 2019 the operator text me at 11:46 saying that the tour was cancelled due to no one else booked and he could approve a refund if needed. I replied back asking if there’s a tour going on Tuesday, September 10, 2019 and if not then a refund could occur. I received another text at 4:37 saying they have nothing booked and gave me the number to Viator to call for a refund.

I am highly disappointed because I was ecstatic to do this tour while my husband was in his conference seminars all day. I love culture and wanted to indulge in something related to my ancestral heritage. I also understand that if not enough people book, then the tour is off.

I wish I could really believe the Viator representative’s statement that this tour was their top seller. Clearly the days I was available to go it was not.

Advice to those who are interested in this tour, make sure you’re not a solo traveler, or you’ll be left with nothing to do but write a disappointing review.
Written September 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kevin c
We do apologize that you were not able to take the tour however, as you stated it is mentioned in the advertisement about sole travelers run the risk of having the tour cancelled if there are no others taking the tour and in your case it happened in the slow part of the season SEPTEMBER! I tried to make your refund as easy and seamless as possible by staying in contact with you up to the point of cancellation (customer service?) and providing you the number to call. Not sure I could have done more than that. Again, I apologize that you were not able to take our tour. You are correct though -sole travelers should be more aware when making reservations especially in the off season (sept., oct. nov.) The one solace for me was your complaint wasn't about the tour itself but the logistics of taking the tour -the latter was out of our hands as we don't go around rounding up people to take the tour. If your ever back in the area and we have enough people to take the tour I will comp your admission.So my sorry has an action component to it if you choose to take me up on it. The ancestors should and would be proud of how we treat each other in times of minor conflict - I believe!
Written September 12, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hcpberg
East Amherst, NY12 contributions
Aug. 2019 • Family
I cannot say enough about this tour. Kevin our guide was wonderful! I have a 10 year old who loves history and Harriet Tubman. Kevin did the most amazing job explaining the history that lead to slavery and the movement of the Underground Railroad on a level that was appropriate for her and still super informative for the adults. The tour stops at several locations that were relevant to the journey along the railroad, including a farm that was a stop for many formerly enslaved people on their journey to freedom. The tour was informative, enlightening, and emotional, as you followed geographical landmarks that helped former enslaved persons navigate through western NY to freedom in Canada. We finished our tour at the Underground Railroad Museum and then explored the Museum on our own. Perfect way to wrap up our tour with a great interactive museum that reinforced some of the history we soaked up on our tour. My daughter and I can’t wait to do the Canadian tour. Kevin was an absolutely wonderful guide! Thank u Motherland Connextions.
Written August 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kimberly
1 contribution
Aug. 2019 • Friends
Mr. Kevin Cottrell was knowledgeable, courteous, accommodating, pleasant and had a refreshingly delightful sense of humor. It is sad that I am still learning about "My History"; yet Mr. Cottrell shared such jewels of information, we were enthralled and did not want the tour to end. This is a tour that everyone of all races, creed and culture should take. Understanding what my enslaved ancestors endured and hearing about their hardships and torture saddens me. However what Mr. Cottrell shared with us was inspiring and sheds light on the unquenchable human spirit that against tremendous odds and oppression fought for and deserved to be free. What a resounding message even in 2019.
Written August 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LHeska
Newton, MA4 contributions
Jul. 2019 • Family
Our family took the half day tour in Canada. We loved seeing places in Canada that were important to the history of the Underground Railroad. Very inspiring to see where Harriett Tubman worshipped and to hear stories of freedom seekers.

Kevin kept it interesting and showed us a lot of interesting places in addition to the railroad stops. A great half day!
Written July 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TheR2theB
82 contributions
Jul. 2019 • Friends
One of the activities I planned was for this tour. In fact it was one of the main things I was looking forward to during my visit. However, unbeknownst to me, apparently as soon as I crossed the border from the U.S. I was no longer receiving cell service. As a result, the day of the tour, the operator who had been trying to reach me since the day before the tour was unable to (sigh). Meanwhile, the day of... I'm downstairs in the hotel lobby waiting for the tour bus and it wasn't until 15min later when they hadn't arrived and I decided to call them that I realized I had no cell service (DOH). I ended up using the hotel room phone, leaving them a message explaining the situation and waited for them to call - which they eventually did. Kevin (the owner/operator) couldn't have been more understanding. He provided all the information I'd need to procure a refund.

Apparently, the issue was he didn't have the location where to pick us up and neither of us realized that I wasn't receiving his calls. Side note: as soon as I left Canada and hit the airport (BUF) state's side waiting for my flight - all of these messages start showing up on my phone... sheesh, yeah, I know.

Anyway, I didn't take the tour. This review however is about the no fuss, professional and great customer service I received from the owner. We all know there are operators who will unfortunately make it difficult when the unforeseen occurs. Many thanks Kevin and yes I'm planning my return visit to take that tour.
Written July 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KMc
1 contribution
Jul. 2019 • Friends
This tour was beyond what we expected. The guide provided so much history as well as current facts about the area. He addressed every passenger's questions and interests.
Written July 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Grace-filled Patriot
Truro, MA261 contributions
Jun. 2019 • Family
The Niagara Falls Canada Underground Railroad Heritage Tour sounded like a great idea for us, given our interest in history and this issue.
We called twice and held for over 25 minutes only to have the call disconnected before speaking to a customer service representative.
We thought about booking it online, but given the poor customer service via phone, thought the better of it.
Written June 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kevin c
So sorry to hear about the bad experience with trip advisor. We have no control over that. If you could have hung in there it would have been worth it. You can always call us direct or off our web site
Written June 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 11-20 of 37

MOTHERLAND CONNEXTIONS, INC. - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)