We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dead Broke Farm

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 6921 Wildlife Trail, Raleigh, NC 27613
Phone Number: +1 919-596-8975
Website
Today
08:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 18:00
Description:

Dead Broke Farm has a 110 acres of wood trails and more than 75 horses for...

Dead Broke Farm has a 110 acres of wood trails and more than 75 horses for all experience levels.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 307 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 173
    Excellent
  • 62
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 48
    Terrible
I not Now When! A Great Ride!

I had a great ride. Suffice it to say it's been about 48 years and some pounds since I've been on a horse and I needed help to get on and off... my foot positioning never... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Leigh L
,
Garner, United States
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 306: English reviews
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My 4 year old had to ride with the guide and wasn't allowed a helmet for visibility. I was ok with the thus. My 6 year old who has ridden a few times and feel comfortable on a horse was given a hard manage horse. Over all it was a nice place but riding with a group of over 18... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karla V
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this review

Karla, if you don't like riding with larger groups, we do offer private rides for an additional flat fee of $50, which would cover everyone in your group, and it would be just your group and your guides. Otherwise, we normally keep our groups to around 15 customers plus 3 guides. There's nothing magical about those numbers since we have... More 

Roxboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here today and told them that I was nervous. Because I weigh 200 lbs, I had to ride a larger horse. The person who assisted me has only worked there for 1 month and had no patience with me being nervous. When I tried to mount the horse, I had to use a step and the horse started moving.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ddm333
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time on our 2-hour trail ride at Dead Broke Farm. I looked at several places to go on a trail ride for my wife's birthday and I'm glad we chose Dead Broke Farm. It was our first time riding and the staff was great when working with us. It took about an hour to sign waivers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam A
Spring Lake, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking forward to going horseback riding for weeks and when we got to DBF, we were not disappointed! First, the staff. They were so sweet and helpful and funny. Especially Carla. They took fantastic care of my husband, my 17 year old, my 9 year old and me. Next, the horses. They were so clean!!! I've gone to... More 

Helpful?
Thank bcutie
Garner, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a great ride. Suffice it to say it's been about 48 years and some pounds since I've been on a horse and I needed help to get on and off... my foot positioning never cooperated but the staff was GREAT and gracious. The owner with her no nonsense tone, shared the basics and the whys of holding the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leigh L
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Thanks to Art (and Patches)for a fun ride today! I appreciated getting to know about DBF as we rode through the trails. We got to see quite a bit of the large property and peaceful woods. I was also amazed at the great work they do taking in rescues and nursing them back to health!! They have real heart. Thanks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne Y
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

My 10 year old son attended a week of camp during his October track out. He had an amazing experience. He says the people are nice and friendly. He got to take care of the horses and loved his two trial rides per day. He has been to many camps and he says this is his favorite so far. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smiley_marcie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

My son and daughter had a great time at Dead Broke Farms for a week during track out. They were first-time riders and had a great experience learning how to ride. The staff were very helpful and supportive. The kids loved spending time grooming, feeding, and riding the horses. There were various trails and the kids enjoyed going on different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This is definitely not a place for first time riders. The trails are wicked steep and kind of scary. The people are very nice to their riders and help them through out the ride.

Helpful?
Thank RaleighGirl714
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

This was a really bad experience to spend the weekend. We are a family of 6 (parents and 4 children), all beginners in horse riding, but the good reviews about how the staff at DBF are courteous and helpful encouraged us to go for a first trial. The reality about the staff was exactly the opposite. They got nervous immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank chancery2013

Been to Dead Broke Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dead Broke Farm and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dead Broke Farm staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?