We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Safari

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Staff were more than helpful and did everything possible to see wildlife.

My wife and I enjoyed the cruise even though we did nit see any bears on the day. We were offered a... read more

Reviewed December 17, 2018
kawright2018
Serene and informative.

It was so cold but as we were on the last tour of the day, we experienced the most peaceful and... read more

Reviewed October 16, 2018
OnAir439406
Read all 760 reviews
555
All photos (555)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good20%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“black beans”(139 reviews)
“boat ride”(33 reviews)
“saw black bears”(18 reviews)
About
In the heart of the planet’s only inland temperate rainforest, board one of our specially designed boats for this smooth but exciting one hour River Safari. Explore up to 12 kilometers of the spectacular Grizzly Bear Valley – where the bears decide...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
6080 Mud Lake Rd | Yellowhead Hwy #5, Blue River, British Columbia V0E 1J0, Canada
Website
+1 250-673-2309
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
329
87
23
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
329
87
23
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black beans boat ride saw black bears worth the money seeing bears amazing experience short walk great guide their natural habitat life jackets beautiful waterfall bald eagles great trip floating restaurant waters edge mother bear brown bear
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 475 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2018

My wife and I enjoyed the cruise even though we did nit see any bears on the day. We were offered a return voucher as a gesture of good will. We did enjoy the (humming) birds just outside the cafe. The staff provided blankets and...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank kawright2018
Reviewed November 14, 2018

Just happened to see this place as we were driving from Jasper to Vancouver and decided to stop. We did the standard catamaran/jet boat tour, and it is pretty expensive for what it is. Hour in the catamaran we didn't see anything, but we saw...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Adam E
Reviewed October 16, 2018

It was so cold but as we were on the last tour of the day, we experienced the most peaceful and serene lake and river. The tour guides were very informative and no-one on our tour had great expectations of seeing the wildlife as it...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank OnAir439406
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We took the safari on a miserable rainy day. We did not abandon it because we specifically stayed one extra night in the area to do this trip. When we arrived to reception I asked the ladies there what were the chances of seeing any...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Elena M
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Hello Everyone, We booked the safari for 100 dollar in sept 2018. We saw nothing. No bears. No mooses. My advice to all tourists. Safe your money and dont do this safari if you want to see bears. If you just want to see a...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kristof G
riversafarimgmt, Manager at River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi Kristoff, we're very sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. While our Guides are very skilled at spotting wildlife and signs of wildlife to follow, as we do not tag or track any wildlife, we cannot offer a guarantee that wildlife will...More

Reviewed October 5, 2018

We were unlucky I guess in not being able to spot anything. It was also pretty cold and sleeting which didn't help. Our guide gave us lots of info but it unfortunately was about things we didn't see! Would be a pleasant way to spend...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank TrB876
riversafarimgmt, Manager at River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to review - we're sorry you were not able to see wildlife during your time with us. We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and maybe one day we will see you back...More

Reviewed September 27, 2018

We booked the Jeep and Boat tour– it was perfectly organized and very informative. We saw bears and beavers – Thank you Liam for being such a great guideMore

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank aM_divaD
riversafarimgmt, Manager at River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to review - we're so happy you enjoyed your Safari with us and were able to see a diverse range of wildlife, and also that you found the tour well organized and informative. We will certainly...More

Reviewed September 25, 2018

Visited here whilst on a Canadian tour and it was part of our itinerary. Very nice atmosphere in the wooden restaurant area where we had a very good steak and salad followed by cake and a soft drink. Guides on the motorised canoes were very...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank MrsMouse85
riversafarimgmt, Manager at River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review. We're so happy you enjoyed your Safari with us, and were able to see a bear swimming - this is always exciting to witness! Thanks as well for your feedback regarding our restaurant and other facilities....More

Reviewed September 22, 2018

River Safari My experience at the River Safari this summer of 2018 has been extravagant! Myself working at Weigeles this season I had really been able to go and experience the beauty that the Grizzly Valley holds. Firstly the isolation and real feel of being...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank khekkya
riversafarimgmt, Manager at River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Hey Kendra, thanks so much for your lovely review - we absolutely loved having you on our tours this year and in Blue River! Best of luck with what's next for you and hope to see you back in town some time soon :)

Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Had an awesome experience here - came at a time when the bear sightings had started to dwindle due to the salmon run but nevertheless had an amazing tour. All the staff especially Mitch, our guide, was very knowledgeable. We only had time to do...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank TheViles
riversafarimgmt, Manager at River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to review, we really appreciate it! We're so happy you enjoyed your Eco Safari with us and had a great experience with your Guide Mitch - we will pass on your lovely feedback to him :)...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Wells Gray Inn
151 reviews
.04 km away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
128 reviews
.22 km away
Clearwater Lodge
368 reviews
.65 km away
Jasper Way Inn
117 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
Hop N Hog Tap & Smokehouse
811 reviews
1.06 km away
The Strawberry Moose Snackery
216 reviews
.93 km away
The Painted Turtle Restaurant
395 reviews
.95 km away
Gateway Grill
267 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 9 nearby attractions
Baileys Chute
26 reviews
1.56 km away
Moul Falls Trail
132 reviews
1.56 km away
Wells Gray Information Center
248 reviews
.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sharpy715
January 17, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from kawright2018 | Reviewed this property |
We were there in June and didn't see any bears, but they did offer us a free ticket to try again at another time. We did see some birds however. Wildlife is wildlife and you just never know.
0
Votes
RogerV787
July 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Delaine N | Reviewed this property |
Bear, no moose.
0
Votes
Dream693810
June 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Wanaka17 | Reviewed this property |
Hi there We didn't do the jeep tour but the other was great and well worth it we saw three bears with informative commentary commentary
1
Vote