We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glenora Inn and Distillery

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 13727 Route 19 | Glenville, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
+1 902-258-2662
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 153 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 65
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Beautiful location!

The Glenora property and facility is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, especially during the fall colour change. We really enjoyed the whiskey sampler and live Celtic... read more

Reviewed 12 March 2017
Catalina637
,
Kitchener, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The Glenora property and facility is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, especially during the fall colour change. We really enjoyed the whiskey sampler and live Celtic music in the restaurant. The food was good (good serving as well) but could be improved to match the quality of the rest of the establishment in my opinion. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catalina637
Washington DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This whisky distillery has a little museum giving the history of whisky distilling in North America. There are guided tours taking you though the distillery and explaining the whisky-making process (though the whisky is made in the winter, after the distillery closes to tourists). At the end of the tour, you get to taste the 10-year old whisky. The grounds... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice B
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

We appreciate your visit, and taking the time to tell us and others about it. Thanks again, Bertha. More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stopped in here for the purpose of doing the tour. On the positive side, the grounds are beautiful and we would like to go back an spend the night in one of the mountain chalets. The tour was very disappointing (yes it is only $7, but it doesn't mean some effort shouldn't be put into it). Both myself and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Damon A
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear your tour was not as enjoyed as we would have liked. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and assure you that this will be looked into. It is not acceptable, and I apologize on behalf of Glenora. My name is Bertha and I am one of the two managers here,... More 

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We made an excellent decision to stay at Glenora for our recent 3 day midweek golf/ hiking trip . We had a clean doubled bedded room in the main building and enjoyed 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners at this Inn. The food and service were excellent. Breakfast eggs cooked perfectly . I suggest the eggs Benedict, chock full of tender... More 

Helpful?
Thank CBM57
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope you will return for more. Thanks again. Bertha. More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We spent several days here as we hosted a family wedding. Management created a delightful, stress-free wedding venue and dinner for us. Choice of chalets with amazing views, kitchens and decks or inn rooms. Rural location. Great food in pub or dining room. Cape Breton music fills the air during lunch and dinner hours. Distillery tours available. I learned a... More 

Helpful?
Thank takingiteasy2014
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We thoroughly enjoyed having your family here to celebrate such a wonderful couple. The pleasure was ours, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed it. Thanks again, Bertha. More 

New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The grounds are beautiful!!!!! The restaurant was amazing!!! The staff wonderful!!!! The tour not worth the time. The Cabin which was 220.00 plus tax was old !!! The bed was horrible. The bed was old than me and I think the mattress was close in age. The love seat was dirty and fridge froze all of our picnic food for... More 

Helpful?
Thank postmasterNewYork
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the grounds, restaurant, and staff, but I sincerely apologize that we didn't make your stay as enjoyable as we would have liked. I wish I would have had an opportunity to meet you before you checked out as we never want our guests to leave feeling disappointed. Thank you for taking the time... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

In beautiful Mabou en route to the Cabot Trail we decided we had to stop to check out this out. Not that scotch tasting at 11am is our usual thing, but we were on vacation😎 the scotch was great, yes we brought some home, the lunch was wonderful and the Celtic music provided by three beautiful young ladies was over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Momrish
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Sincerely, Bertha. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Beautiful distillery. Learned a lot about how whiskey is made. The tour included a shot of their excellent whiskey. Highly recommend you drop in if you are in this part of Cape Breton.

Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit, and for taking the time to share your review with us and others. We appreciate it! Bertha. More 

Ct
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Interesting tour of the distillery including a sample of the product. Staff was very friendly and clearly enjoyed their jobs.

Helpful?
Thank Freqytraveler T
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us and others. We are so blessed to have such wonderful staff members, each and every one of them are an asset to our team. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our property and Cape Breton Hospitality. Thanks for visiting us! Bertha. More 

Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We loved our visit here capital L! This trip to Nova Scotia ( my new favorite place on earth) is in honor of our 24th anniversary! We chose the Culinary package which included a nice room in the inn , a distillery tour, the run of the beautiful( impossibly green grounds) , a 3 course dinner , and great music... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bethk1964
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit, and your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. The Culinary experience is a must at Glenora, so we are pleased to hear you enjoyed it. Thanks again, Bertha. More 

Travellers who viewed Glenora Inn and Distillery also viewed

 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Glenora Inn and Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Glenora Inn and Distillery and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glenora Inn and Distillery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?