We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard

2565 Chemin Scenic, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
+1 450-538-0303
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Old world charm in picturesque setting, unique in Quebec

The Chapelle Saine-Agnès Winery was beautifully thought out by its owner, with every piece having... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Eva V
Beautiful location and amazing hospitality

I have never stayed at a place quite like Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard. I went in the winter time... read more

Reviewed December 29, 2017
Emma G
Read all 91 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
DESCRIPTION: Located in the Sutton Mountains of southern Quebec, the Chapelle Ste Agnes vineyard was established in 1997 by Henrietta Antony, a Montreal antique dealer and is family-owned. Today, you can enjoy a Guided Vineyard Tour and Wine Tasting, purchase wine, stay at one of the Rooms or Suites, or plan an Event on the estate. The vineyard is named after a stone chapel built several years earlier on the same site and consecrated to Saint Agnes, a thirteenth century Bohemian saint. The vineyard which also offers lodging year around, has almost 7000 vines and is focused on the production of icewine and other dessert wines and a limited amount of white table wine and rose. Built on a steep hillside with massive stone walls supporting 18 terraces, the rows of vines follow the gentle curve of the hillside, creating a veritable amphitheatre. The cellars of the Chapelle Ste Agnes vineyard are a large medieval style underground complex, where temperature and humidity are almost constant year round. The cellars consist of four underground levels, and feature a number of stone barrel and cross vaults that were built by a master stone cutter from France and by vault masters from southern Moravia. In order to build these vaults, dozens of varying and specialized forms needed to be constructed. The end result is a medieval style cellar complex dedicated to the production and storage of our wines. The vineyard is located about 1 hour 20 minutes from Montreal, just a couple of miles north of the Vermont border. We are also located in the Eastern Townships which is a beautiful part of Quebec and offers many interesting and tasty restaurants, B&B's, is home to many high-end craftsmen and artists, and provides a wonderful playground for sports enthusiasts. DISTANCE from: Montreal 111 Km 69 miles 1HR 20MIN Burlington 116 Km 72 miles 1HR 15MIN Boston 400 Km 249 miles 4HR New York 639 Km 397 miles 6HR 30MIN. ACCOMMODATIONS: New in 2015: you can also stay at the vineyard in one of our Rooms or Suites (min 2 days stay). Please refer to our website for more info. VISITS: Visits are possible year-round and they are always guided. IN SEASON: From JUNE 1st until the end of OCTOBER, every WEDNESDAY and SUNDAY at 1:30pm, we have our classic 2-hour "Open Tours". Anyone can attend and NO RESERVATION is required. Plan on a pleasant 2-hour visit to learn about the Romanesque stone chapel, vineyard, medieval cellars and to participate in the wine tasting. COST: Visits cost $20 (taxes included) per person , or $30 per person when including a wine tasting session of several vintages. NOTE: If you are a group of a minimum of 8 persons, you may like to make a reservation for a private visit according to your schedule. This tour must be booked ahead of time by email or by telephone. It also lasts 2 hours and the fees are $20 and $30 as above. Please call or email us to make arrangements. If one shows up on the estate, in season (June1 to end October), at any other time between 10am and 5pm without a reservation, you have an excellent chance of partaking in a shorter 30 minute "Mini Tour and Wine Tastings" at $10 (taxes included) for the visit only, or $20 per person when including a wine tasting session of several vintages. IMPORTANT: An exception to our capability to offer the "Mini Tour" would be some Saturday afternoons as the estate does host private events, particularly weddings. Should you have any further questions on planning an event or regarding accommodations at the vineyard, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you to our vineyard in the near future! Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard - John Antony
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good16%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“rice wine” (17 reviews)
“the owner” (10 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 a.m.
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
2565 Chemin Scenic, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 450-538-0303
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rice wine"
in 17 reviews
"the owner"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful vineyard"
in 3 reviews
"attention to detail"
in 2 reviews
"tour"
in 23 reviews
"agnes"
in 8 reviews
"antiques"
in 9 reviews
"cellar"
in 12 reviews
"winery"
in 8 reviews
"wines"
in 10 reviews
"caves"
in 3 reviews
"karena"
in 3 reviews
"suite"
in 2 reviews
"henrietta"
in 2 reviews
"grapes"
in 2 reviews
"inspiration"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Chapelle Saine-Agnès Winery was beautifully thought out by its owner, with every piece having been hand-selected with great taste. The chapel is reminiscent of Old World Europe, the windery itself is magnificient with its slope-side grape vines and beautiful mediaval cellars. The guided tour...More

Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Eva! We offer 3 wines for tasting, 2 of which are dessert wines and expensive to produce. Nothing is spared in producing a high quality wine, and, unfortunately, this costs. We are glad you had an enjoyable visit here. It does...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

I have never stayed at a place quite like Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard. I went in the winter time, and it was absolutely stunning. The nuptials suite is incredibly cozy, and the owners were quick to provide anything we needed. The grounds are nothing like...More

2  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2017

Thank you so much for your write-up! We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit in the future. All the best!! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Unfortunately, after already visiting two other wineries where we were treated generously, this was a very negative experience. We were informed we had to take a tour before we could taste any wine -- $10/person -- and then pay another$10 to taste three wines. We...More

Thank mandf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

We are deeply sorry that your experience here did not meet up with your expectations Mandf55. The winery was designed to offer an experience which involves more than just wine tasting. Also, the tasting rooms are 2 floors below the ground surface and short of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We've visited several vinyard/wineries around the country and this was one of our best experiences. The setting is absolutely beautiful and their attention to detail impeccable. Several buildings were created by French masons and massive and ornate antiques are throughout. Our host for the tour...More

Thank endiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and tasting! Thks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Very interesting property, built with a lot of detail and quality manual work, however, it stops there. The wine was not very good. The tour was less than 5 minutes. The wine needs a lot more expertise for one day to be good. If you...More

Thank Jacqueline_Montpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our wine Jacqueline. Could it be that our types are not ones which you are attracted to in general? Perhaps it is not the best for your palate? As for the tour, we do not offer...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

I stumbled across Chapelle Ste Agnes while day-tripping along the township roads from Orford. It was so beautiful, even while driving past, that I had to find a place to turn around and took the tour. I was not disappointed. Small, lovingly and fastidiously imagined...More

Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Dave for your kind and appreciative review! So glad you stopped in for a little pleasant surprise!! All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

We booked a 2 night stay at the vineyard and we were not disappointed. Beautiful scenery and about 20 minutes from Sutton village and Mount Sutton where we did some trekking. The tour was great and we got to taste the ice wine they produce....More

Thank Travellingcouple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Thank you kindly for your review! Wishing you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Although the grounds are wonderful and the wine was superb that tour itself was underwhelming and very over-priced.More

Thank 34adh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Thanks for your comments, we hope you find perhaps other vineyards and other points of interest more to your liking here in the Eastern Townships - so much to offer in the area, something's bound to resonate with you. Have a great summer and best...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017

I meant to write this review when I had visited but forgot. I visited this winery back in October 1 2016. I was not sure about going since I did not know French. But went to check it out and was happy that i did....More

Thank hotbodkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Why thank you. We're so glad you ventured over and enjoyed the looksy - and taste-y! It would appear that you embody the saying "nothing ventured, nothing gained"! Glad you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Really nice and relax place. Beautiful little vineyard with amazing quality buildings! We had a private tour from one of the owners and also a wine tasting in the vaults. We strongly recommend this place if you prefer cooking in the suite instead of going...More

Thank AC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapSteAgnes V, Owner at Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hi ACN and thanks for your review! Sorry the Queen bed was a tad short, but nice to be such tall people!! Glad the kitchen was to your liking - and yes, the continental Breakfast Basket is tasty and fun for us to prepare for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Sutton
Horizon Hotel
48 reviews
9.20 km away
Le Montagnard
80 reviews
9.25 km away
Auberge des Appalaches
191 reviews
9.30 km away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
78 reviews
9.48 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Crossing
38 reviews
7.45 km away
A L'Abordage Microbrasserie
155 reviews
9.58 km away
Enosburg House of Pizza
6 reviews
7.68 km away
Le Cafetier
169 reviews
9.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mont SUTTON
180 reviews
9.28 km away
Jay Peak Pump House
424 reviews
11.35 km away
Station O'Kataventures
15 reviews
11.28 km away
Jay Peak Aerial Tramway
36 reviews
11.65 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit