We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Hive | Earle Road, Widnes WA8 0TA, England
Phone Number:
+44 870 085 2929
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 77 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Good place but could be better!!

We have been 2 times in the last 3 weeks with our 4 children it's costs just in £50 each visit it is rather expensive! Both of our visits were on Sunday afternoon the 1st visit we... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 days ago
gannon75
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been 2 times in the last 3 weeks with our 4 children it's costs just in £50 each visit it is rather expensive! Both of our visits were on Sunday afternoon the 1st visit we left after 35 mins as the music was more like a nightclub than a family roller disco it was so loud you had... More 

Helpful?
Thank gannon75
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear "gannon75" Thank you for your recent review of us here, may I ask if you have one of our ice card memberships? They reduce the price you pay by £2.00 per person and are completely free, just pop to our website and select "Ice Card" on the top right of the screen. More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A little nervous at taking my kids here but a re-watch of Frozen over the holidays made it one of their "demands" I couldnt fault the staff here they helped us with our ice skates, the skating aids and some general tips when they saw we were struggling! Our youngest took to it with complete ease and all 3 of... More 

Helpful?
Thank hollyhannahhunt
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, Thank you for your recent visit to us, its great to hear when customers especially children are enjoying something new. Hope to see you at the rink again soon! More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with family for a birthday. We went to the family session and it was very chaotic inside. Expensive if not booked as a group and I found it terrible to charge someone who was only spectating and not skating. Much more organisation is needed at this rink. When picking up my skates I asked the staff member for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nyxi666
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear "Nyxi666" Thank you for your recent to us at Silver Blades Widnes, I'm sorry to hear there's been an issue with the ice skates you borrowed from ourselves, I will discuss with our skate hire department and resolve the situation for future customers. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took my two boys 12 & 8 yrs for a skate Newyears eve. We normally go to the Altrincham rink, and certainly won't go to Widnes again. The skates provided for my 8year old were absolutely soaking wet, and in poor condition, but when I asked to change them was told they were the only pair left in that size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mumof2boysNorthwich
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear "Mumof2boysNorthwich" I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with your visit to us, please can you contact me at your earliest convenience at widnes@silver-blades.co.uk so we can discuss your visit with us. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

How can I describe my experience other than a health and safety nightmare! Young children unsupervised in the main ice rink, skating in any direction, launching skating aid penguins across the ice, no skate marshal, not even any staff monitoring the chaos! The only staff to be seen were in the skate hire room messing around. There is no review... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloe I
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Chloe, Thank you for your review of us here at Widnes. I did send an email to the email address you provided regarding the concerns you raised at the rink during your visit with us. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please can you reply to my email. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I rang to see if they had certain facilities to which they said yes got here turns out they don't. Total wasted my time!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you for you review. I'm concerned that we weren't able to provide the facilities you required after you called beforehand. Please can you contact me on widnes@silver-blades.co.uk so I can investigate what these were and why they were unavailable. More 

Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

A decent day out but pricey & felt like we was pushed into buying an adult ticket (on top of 2 other adult tickets) so my 2year old daughter could try it.. she didn't even step foot on the ice partly due to the small parent & toddler rink being closed. We also planned to use the soft play as... More 

Helpful?
Thank whitemere
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your recent review of us here at Silver Blades Ice Rink Widnes. I am a little concerned in regards to a few of the issues you've raised and I would like to get down to the bottom of them, so they don't affect customers in the future. Please email myself on widnes@silver-blades.co.uk so I can... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Theresa,s friendly smile and fantastic customer service skills always makes our day when we come here. We love coming here it's a great day out when the kids are off!

Helpful?
1 Thank ajayCheshire
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Silver Blades Widnes! I will pass on your lovely comments to our staff. We've still got two weeks left till the kids go back to school and a cheeky family offer popping on our website soon! More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This is good fun for all the family, they have penguin aids to help the little ones on the ice if they are not very confident. It's definitely fun for all the family.

Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Hi Jayne, Thank you for your recent review of us here at Widnes! We're running our "Summer Sale" event for a few more weeks yet so if your getting a little warm in that summer sun, come cool down with us! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016

the venue dos have Gluten Free food but i all so brought my own as well for my guess. we did have a good time here and the staff could not have tried harder for are party to run well ! i would say a warm area here would go well even if we had to pay for this as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula N
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Paula, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit with ourselves! It's always great to hear a member of the public having a great time at the ice rink. We've got some fab deals over the May half term if your looking for something fun to do with the kids...just keep checking our website and social media feeds. More 

Travellers who viewed SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes also viewed

 

Been to SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Cheshire, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?