We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lakes Aquarium

Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8AS, England
Phone Number:
+44 15395 30153
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 16:30
Description:

Situated on the Southern tip of Lake Windermere. Lakes Aquarium has a wide...

Situated on the Southern tip of Lake Windermere. Lakes Aquarium has a wide range of native marine and freshwater fish including Pike, Arctic Char, Seahorses and more. It is also home to Asian shortclawed otters, pygmy marmoset monkeys, Clown fish and amazing leaf cutter ants. Cafes and giftshops are available onsite and we can be reached by Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway or Windermere Lake Cruise as well as by car. Please note the car park is not owned by the aquarium and is pay and display. We are sorry but we cannot allow dogs inside the aquarium building.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 575 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 150
    Excellent
  • 228
    Very good
  • 127
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Worth a visit

Some really nice exhibits but the tiny harvest mice and leaf eater ants were brilliant. We watched the ants for ages, they are so fascinating!! The fish species were lovely also... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 September 2016
linda A
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

Some really nice exhibits but the tiny harvest mice and leaf eater ants were brilliant. We watched the ants for ages, they are so fascinating!! The fish species were lovely also and it's worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank linda A
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

A good aquarium, nothing unusual about it, but displayed well, clean and with lots of interactive activities. So well worth a visit if you are in the area. You will always learn new things. So I recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I came here with my husband and 18 month old. We've visited alot of aquariums so I think we were expecting too much. The displays are nice but we had looked around it all in 10mins. Definitely not worth the cost of the car park. I wouldn't visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Chelle868
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

We were both pleased with the amount of species on show with reptiles, & mammals as well as a good range of fish.

Helpful?
Thank 843disappointed
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

Driving around the Lake and called in to see what was on offer. What a surprise! So many displays! Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Philip E
Rochford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

For the money it's ok but disappointing on the whole. I think the leaflet builds it up too much. Would be OK for kids 3 to 8. I've seen more variety in our local tropical fish shop. Staff all looked pretty miserable too. Needs an over haul.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dotty F
LakesAquarium, Public Relations Manager at Lakes Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were disappointed. The focus of the aquarium is not on tropical fish we do have favourites such as Clownfish and Piranha. However the main focus of the exhibits are local fish such as Arctic Char, Sturgeon, Pike and local marine species. These fish do not always have the same... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Alot of reviews have complained about this size however it is a very nice small compact aquarium and not exactly expensive l. Me and my fiancee thoroughly enjoyed our trip here. Was a little unsure on whether the ants could escape through the open exhibition they are in. But enjoyed it very much.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisFJackson
LakesAquarium, Public Relations Manager at Lakes Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time here. The ants are always finding ways to escape but thankfully so head back to the nest after their adventures! More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We had good time walking and looking around the aquarium it was very good and we enjoyed looking at the ducks and fish under the animals in the tanks. I would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Adamc2001
LakesAquarium, Public Relations Manager at Lakes Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time her and hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016

We visited the aquarium on a wet morning with our daughter, her partner and our three year old grandson. Paid to park the car and then paid FULL price for a three year old. We were round in no time, not worth the money. There is a baby changing room but it does not have a toilet. When our three... More 

Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE A
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

We enjoyed our visit here yesterday whilst waiting for the boat across Windermere to Bowness. Doesn't take too long to get round and not the biggest aquarium but we had fun popping round in there and seeing the different fish.

Helpful?
Thank Roberto_Yorkshire

Travellers who viewed Lakes Aquarium also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
 

Been to Lakes Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lakes Aquarium and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lakes Aquarium staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?