We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Polarsenteret | Longyearbyen, 9171, Norway (Formerly Sarkofagen-Spitsbergen)
Phone Number:
+47 79 02 61 00
Website
Description:

Spitsbergen Travel is located in Longyearbyen, and is the most...

Spitsbergen Travel is located in Longyearbyen, and is the most well-established tour operator and agent in the area, having assisted visitors to the Svalbard archipelago since 1988. Our team are the local experts on Svalbard, and can arrange everything from day trips to full programs with accommodation, flights, meals and activities for both individual travellers and groups. We work solely with products on Svalbard - this is what we know and is the only thing we sell.Spitsbergen Travel's focus is always on the safety of our guests, and we provide extensive training to our guide team. Our tour production department organises a wide range of acitviites to ensure something for everyone, no matter what the season. Day trips include snowmobiling, dog sledding, northern lights tours, fjord cruises, hiking and kayaking, as well as our exciting expedition programs.We look forward to helping you choose your own Arctic adventure!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 108 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Fantastic experience with Hurtigruten Svalbard: Tours to Pyramiden and Snowcat Panorama

I booked the Snowcat Panorama tour but due to technical problems it was cancelled. A member of Hurtigruten staff came to offer a refund but I chose to do the tour the day after... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Marina_loveNorway
,
Exeter, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Klosters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

If you booked to see the Northern Lights via the Hurtigruten Cruise and your ship is the Nordlys...avoid Cabin 342. It's directly under the children's play area. It's very noisy and the Hurtigruten refuse to allow you to move cabins. Moreover, taking pictures of the Northern Lights from a ship is futile. The ship is moving after all, it's not... More 

Helpful?
Thank 645wanderer
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking time to review us. We will forward your message to the Hurtigruten Ship and try to do something about cabin nr 342. We would also like to welcome you to Spitsbergen in the Arctic, in the future, were we also offer loads of Norhten Lights activitites :-) Anne More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the Snowcat Panorama tour but due to technical problems it was cancelled. A member of Hurtigruten staff came to offer a refund but I chose to do the tour the day after. It was great, very cold but sunny, it gave us the chance to see around the town, offering amazing views. The guide was knowledgeable and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marina_loveNorway
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Hi Marina, thank you so much for sharing with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your activities. The ice cave tour is lovely and the Pyramiden tour is something different, indeed! Welcome back in another season :-) Anne More 

Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked two tours with them: the ice caving experience and the snowmobile tour towards Elveneset. The ice cave was sooo fascinating, we went up the Longyearbreen by a snow cat, super cool! Inside the cave, what an unbelievable view! We went deep inside under the glacier and had a breathtaking emotion listening to the arctic silence down there! I... More 

Helpful?
Thank ilveraldino
Hurtigruten S, Market coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Dear ilveraldino, thank you so much for your amazing review. We are happy to hear that the ice cave tour was fascinating and super cool! It is truly a magical experience! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the snowmobile excursion :) We hope to see you again, Thora More 

Boortmeerbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the northern light trip with beltwagon last week. As we know, chances are little as longyearbyen is too high, but space was very limited in the beltwagon and we drove to mine number 7 and back, with 2 stops on our way. Overpriced and regretted to have booked this trip. Guide was nevertheless funny and enthusiastic.

Helpful?
Thank NathaLie0779
Hurtigruten S, Market coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Dear Nathaliehens, thank you for taking your time to write to us. We are happy to hear that the guide on you experience was funny and enthusiastic. We are sorry that the trip did not meet you expectations, but we hope to see you again nevertheless. Kind regards, Thora More 

Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on a 3 hour eveningtour with bus to camp Barentz. It is correct described but this really was nothing. We were served a good reindeersoup incl drink and a good cake + coffee. In the middle of the wooden hut was a campfire to keep the food, from Sas radisson, warm. Bustour of 15 min from last hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Birgitta E
Hurtigruten S, Market coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Dear Birgitta E, thank you for writing to us. We are sorry to hear that the tour did not meet your expectations. We will try our best to make this excursions worth while. We still hope you enjoyed Svalbard! Kind regards, Thora More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

We walked from the bottom of the valley of Longyearbyen up to the glacier. The walk was about 2500 meters to the top of the glacier. There was a "hole" in the glacier and we climbed down into it. The world down there was surprising and so beautiful. Layer upon layer of snow had created a beautiful world like no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Per Erik A
Hurtigruten S, Market coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Dear Per Erik A, thank you so much for your response. We are happy to hear that the ice cave tour was a great experience! The ice cave is truly magical and fascinating. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Thora More 

UK
Level Contributor
326 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

Great way to see the artic islands, glaciers and archipelagos travelling around Brent's burg, Ny Alexander, and various glaciers in the area. Beautiful snow covered mountains, islands and glaciers. Sailing through ice and broken off icebergs from the glaciers. We enjoyed our trip

Helpful?
Thank A.MACCA
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the boattrip. Welcome back :-) Anne More 

Dornach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Booked all of our excursions for our New Year trip (2017) through the website, really easy to do. Everything ran like clockwork and when my husband couldn't take part in one event they refunded the money without being asked. Will be back to Svalbard and will definitely book our trips through this company - one of the best service agents... More 

Helpful?
Thank BauenArt
Hurtigruten S, Marketing Coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Ohlala - thanks for your very nice review! Our team that works with experiences are very good - and make the best excursions for our guests. We are looking forward to welcome you back on our island, in another season, Anne More 

Montecchio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

My wife and I chose the 5-day "Spitsbergen Adventure" as a part of our honeymoon and I'd like to start by saying that this adventure has been the most incredible holiday we've ever had. I won't go too much into the details here about all the experiences we've had... from the guided tours of Longyearbyen, Barentsburg and Ny Alesund, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterVercauteren
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Coordinator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Dear Peter. Thank you so much for your very nice feedback and review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and sailing on board MS Nordstjernen. She is a beauty! And we agree, you do experience a lot of Spitsbergen, wildlife and special places with a lot of history. Anne More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Rated as one of the Most "Haunted Place / Isolated Inhabitant " by National Geography, thus we decided to make a Visit since we only have 4D3Night in Svalbard. Spitsbergen Travel - Online booking is pretty straight forward and they answer most of our questions prior to trip. In fact we had 2 tour book under them during our trip... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank UK17
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Cooridnator at Hurtigruten Svalbard, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We love that excursion too, a trip to a "ghost town" is particular... Welcome back! Anne More 

Travellers who viewed Hurtigruten Svalbard also viewed

 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Hurtigruten Svalbard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hurtigruten Svalbard and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hurtigruten Svalbard staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?