We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Road 608, house 2, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
+47 79 02 22 22
Website
Today
08:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:00 - 16:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

The nature in Svalbard is beautiful, majestic, attractive and demanding. An...

The nature in Svalbard is beautiful, majestic, attractive and demanding. An encounter with this Arctic wilderness makes an impression on people who experience it. The team at Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions AS make the conditions favourable so that you as a whole can actively take part in Svalbard nature-based adventures.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 113 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Wonderful Ice Caves

I did the half day snowshoeing tour to the ice caves. All equipment was in good order and warm drinks and biscuits were provided as stated. The guide was patient and I didn't feel... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
John P
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I did the half day snowshoeing tour to the ice caves. All equipment was in good order and warm drinks and biscuits were provided as stated. The guide was patient and I didn't feel rushed at all, even when I was taking my time exploring the ice caves and taking photos. I did afternoon/evening tour which turner out great. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my Ice Cave tour with the company. The guide (Vladimir) was very helpful and knowledgeable. The tour itself deserves a high rating. However, why the view is rated poor is that the company did not refund the cost from my original tour, which was cancelled as there was insufficient amount of people. This is fine, I was offered... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian L
HeidiHarv, Leder  at Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions, responded to this review

Hi Adrian Thank you very much for your nice feedback about our guide Vladimir and the hike to our ice cave. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed. However we are not happy to hear that you did not get reply on your email. Sorry, we can not see that we have recived any emails from you. Can you... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and i booked a trip to the ice-caves with this company. The guide, Svein, picked us up from our hotel and drove us to the starting point for the trip. We then received safety briefing and equipment. The equipment was in very good order. We then walked up and went into the cave. On the way back Svein... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amalie B
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were booked for tours on two days with 20 students (19 years old), and then came a heavy snowstorm. We could not go on the tour planned for the first day, since there were a high risk for avalance. This company were so kind that they arranged alternative activity for us, we learned to set up a emergency-camp in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Turid S
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (couple, almost 50) spent most of last week in Svalbard and had booked several tours with SWE; we found them to be very reliable and helpful and were very happy with the outcome of our booking: One day we had booked a hike on snowshoes to Foxfonna; blessed with good weather the views were breathtaking and guide Jasper was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kingpolo14
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

During a week in Longyearbyen I participated in three tours with SWE, each wonderful experiences in very different ways. But what was uniform across the tours was the professionalism of the guides. Katja for the Seed to Summit hike, Mia for a dogsledding tour and Ørjan for a glacier hike to ice caves were knowledgeable, well experienced and always alert... More 

Helpful?
Thank fjv100
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

We did the Caves Tour with Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions. The group was small (5 people plus guide) and great. The caves are beautiful and a great place to shoot some wonderful pictures. The guide was very friendly and helpful. Really advisable to do, specially in smaller groups.

Helpful?
Thank Hans K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We did a 4-hour trip to an ice cave, and it was awesome! Very prepared and nice guides (2 guides for 4 people), speaking Italian, German, English, Norwegian. Beautiful ice cave! Warm drinks and chocolate buscuits were offered inside the cave, to warm up a bit! It was perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Had an extremely competent guide for this, who was very friendly and informative. He dealt with a group of varied experience expertly. Conditions were pretty tough near the top so unfortunately he made the decision to bring us down rather than summit, though this was definitely the right decision in terms of safety due to the blistering winds and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin K
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

All of us know that the fish starts smelling from the head, it is the exact description of the Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions management: lack of tolerance, lack of communication, lack of understanding. The negotiation seemed to be framed and captured by desire to get as much money as possible, nothing else is in the area of the interest. For those... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank barakuda595
HeidiHarv, Leder  at Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions, responded to this review

I am deeply sorry to read this, barakuda595. This is not the way we want to be known. Can you please forward your mail(s) to info@wildlife.no, so I can see the communication between you and the management? We are only 3 in the management and none of us understand anything of this feedback. If you forward the mails about boots... More 

Travellers who viewed Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Svalbard Wildlife Expeditions staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?