We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventure Balloons

Winchfield Park London Road | London Road, Hartley Wintney, Hook RG27 8HY, England
+44 1252 844222
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
You have been warned!

Our experience was very disappointing and we too never managed to get off the ground! Which is a... read more

Reviewed 23 November 2017
Jan9872017
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Amazing experience

We took part in an evening champagne balloon flight for two from great missenden. All in all a... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2017
Michael H
via mobile
Read all 209 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible24%
Travellers talk about
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
Winchfield Park London Road | London Road, Hartley Wintney, Hook RG27 8HY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1252 844222
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 14 reviews
"balloon flight"
in 35 reviews
"bad weather"
in 9 reviews
"my birthday"
in 8 reviews
"great fun"
in 11 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 7 reviews
"well worth the wait"
in 12 reviews
"ground crew"
in 12 reviews
"last year"
in 7 reviews
"cancelled due"
in 10 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 10 reviews
"loved every minute"
in 3 reviews
"british weather"
in 7 reviews
"launch site"
in 6 reviews
"be patient"
in 6 reviews
"great flight"
in 6 reviews
"amazing views"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2017

Our experience was very disappointing and we too never managed to get off the ground! Which is a pity as in the past we enjoyed fantastic flights in New Zealand and Egypt so were looking forward to this one, which incidentally was a Christmas present...More

1  Thank Jan9872017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureBalloons, Front Office Manager at Adventure Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Jan. August is our busiest month and therefore a significant proportion of the availability over the "next 30 days" when you contacted us for the first time on 8th August was already full. If staff mentioned booking earlier in the year they would have...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We took part in an evening champagne balloon flight for two from great missenden. All in all a really great experience. Be warned though, you may have to make quite a few rebookings due to weather and wind conditions but it's all uncontrollable. The flight...More

Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureBalloons, General Manager at Adventure Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi Michael, thank you for your review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your flight – third time lucky! Great photos from your flight, launching from the Black Horse pub and landing at Lane End. We apologise for the delay with the taxi company and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Like a few of the other comments, my wife and I have had a similar experience. Much like Steven's comment - our balloon ride has been cancelled at least four times due to the weather conditions. Please don't be fooled by thinking that this will...More

1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureBalloons, General Manager at Adventure Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Nick, thank you for your comments, we hope our response will give readers a more balanced view of your booking history. The vouchers you were given were originally valid until 19th June 2016. On 10 May 2016 we gave a free extension to 28...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Not had the balloon ride yet as it’s been cancelled 4 times due to weather conditions (totally understandable) however, as this was a birthday present for September & we now cannot rebook till April I called to ask if I could get a refund. I...More

1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureBalloons, General Manager at Adventure Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Your vouchers were bought from Buy A Gift, we are not able to offer you a refund as you bought from them, not direct from us. Melissa is correct in informing you that we are only able to transfer you back to Buy A Gift...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Got this as a birthday present and went with my two kids. We were lucky as we flew the first day we booked. Others were on their 8th attempt but we do live with british weather eh? :-) The flight was great and we ended...More

Thank Effingpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We went on the most Amazing Hot Air Balloon trip this evening with Adventure Balloons from York Race Course! Our pilot Ollie & Driver Dave were both brilliant from start to finish! It was a special trip for my dad who is not well &...More

Thank samdavie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I was bought this for my birthday last year. We have booked 6 attempts to fly and apparently today the wind is above safe limits. My husband is a pilot and his aviation forecast show wind forecast at 8 knots. I think they just dislike...More

1  Thank elus1v3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureBalloons, General Manager at Adventure Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Nicola, I can assure you we would love to fly you and your Husband if the conditions were suitable. Your balloon pilot checks forecasts that give the wind speeds in the upper levels at 500, 1000 and 2000 feet etc above the ground. These...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We took our flight from Stevenage on a lovely clear morning. The team looking after us was Rav & Gary. They were fabulous the flight was an hour and we help set up and pack away the balloon. The view from 1500 feet was so...More

1  Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureBalloons, General Manager at Adventure Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Kim, thank you for leaving your review and we are pleased to see you flew on your first attempt. It sounds like you really enjoyed your ballooning experience with Ravi and Gary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our first balloon flight in York. We were fortunate to fly on our third booking and had a perfect evening for it. We floated over York taking in all the landmarks from a new perspective while feeling very safe in the hands...More

1  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

I only had to book once and managed to fly! They arrived after everyone was there but everything was set up very quickly and efficiently. Ollie and David make a good team. The pilot (Ollie) was super efficient and very good with his instructions and...More

1  Thank Kira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345621
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hartley Wintney Hotels
Hook House Hotel
62 reviews
2.17 km away
The Elvetham
417 reviews
3.01 km away
Raven Hotel
492 reviews
3.16 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
1,470 reviews
4.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Leather Bottle
527 reviews
2.99 km away
Mama Mia
385 reviews
.81 km away
The Phoenix Inn
681 reviews
.68 km away
Sorriso
100 reviews
2.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Green House
199 reviews
.76 km away
Odiham Castle
135 reviews
4.51 km away
Spa at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire
58 reviews
4.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
EggTravel
2 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from dizzydavew | Reviewed this property |
no i didnt fly with them. My research led me to believe there was almost 0% chance i would fly with them and i was not prepared to give them another £80 and take several days off. Really nasty company to deal with please... More
2
Votes
EggTravel
21 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 409nell51 | Reviewed this property |
Silence speaks volumes!!!!!! A hell of a lot would be my guess. Time to put pressure on Red Letter Days and all those other companies who sell Adventure Balloon vouchers to STOP. Have bought loads of vouchers from Red... More
1
Vote
409nell51
1 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from AdventureBalloons | Property representative |
We add a free extension if your flight has been cancelled by us at least 5 times during the validity period of the voucher. Please emaiil us and we can give you a full answer regarding extension fees. Without knowing the... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12