We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatfield House

Great North Road, Hatfield AL9 5ER, England
+44 1707 287010
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Frost Fair

We drove to Hatfield House on Sunday having stayed in the area for the Harry Potter tour the day... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
triploverCheshire
,
Cheshire
via mobile
What a Rip Off!

Do not go what a waste of time, car parking a joke no markers in a huge field so you cannot find... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Julie C
,
St Albans, United Kingdom
Read all 798 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Hatfield House is the home of the 7th Marquess and Marchioness of Salisbury and their family. The Estate has been in the Cecil family for 400 years. Superb examples of Jacobean craftsmanship can be seen throughout the House. Hatfield House is open from Easter Saturday to 30th September each year.
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“old palace” (86 reviews)
“childhood home” (13 reviews)
“stable yard” (32 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Great North Road, Hatfield AL9 5ER, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1707 287010
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We drove to Hatfield House on Sunday having stayed in the area for the Harry Potter tour the day before. We had a quick look at the website & hadn't noticed the Frost Fair advertised so we had no expectation of the event. The parking...More

Thank triploverCheshire
Reviewed 4 days ago

Do not go what a waste of time, car parking a joke no markers in a huge field so you cannot find your car. Had to walk across mud to get to to a very un festive minibus to take you to the door. Pathetic...More

Thank Julie C
Reviewed 4 days ago

I have been many times to the frost fair and this is the first time I have had cause to complain. I don't know what the organisers were thinking by changing the usual layout. It took so long to get to the car park which...More

Thank Karen J
Hatfield H, Public Relations Manager at Hatfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for writing a review relating to The Frost Fair, we were very disappointed to read of your experience when visiting. We will ensure that the promoters and organisers of the event receive a copy of your feedback and would like to reassure you...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Just got back from frost fair and must say that's 2 hours and 16 pounds wasted. When we first arrived we parked in a muddy field and no one seemed to know where they was going or how to get to the house .The parking...More

Thank 247Derek43
Hatfield H, Public Relations Manager at Hatfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for writing a review relating to The Frost Fair, we were very disappointed to read of your experience when visiting. An unprecedented number of cars arrived when gates opened on Saturday and this did result in parking taking longer than we had planned....More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Never once have I felt the need to write a negative review about an event we have visited as a family, but I feel compelled to pre warn everyone not to waste their time or money. That said on occasionI have left and event thinking...More

1  Thank monibearevans
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

No organisation parking the car,2 lanes merging into one. Walking thru muddy fields to get to your destination. £8 per adult,thankfully didn't have to pay to park. Had a really nice feeling as you walked thru,Christmas music and singing. Really enjoyed looking at the stalls...More

1  Thank manin_9
Hatfield H, General Manager at Hatfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed parts of The Frost Fair. We will ensure that the promoters and organisers of the event receive a copy of your feedback regarding the pricing of food...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I will not be going again to the craft fair, it took us an hour to park and then half a mile walk through the mud, which was very slippery, very very poorly organised We went last year and it was very well organised and...More

1  Thank Mark46R
Hatfield H, Public Relations Manager at Hatfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for writing a review relating to The Frost Fair. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the experience we provide to our valued visitors. We will ensure that the promoters...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

It's that time of year when you want to get into the spirit of the season and the frost fair sounded good. We arrived and parked easily, and I was glad to see a bus service available as it was a reasonable distance from the...More

1  Thank Jocelyn R
Hatfield H, Public Relations Manager at Hatfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about The Frost Fair. We will ensure that the promoters and organisers of the event receive a copy of your feedback regarding the type of stalls that were at this weekends Frost Fair and how...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I wouldn’t bother coming here. They pack all the cars in like sardines and then all the staff disappear. When the weather is bad trying to get out is an absolute nightmare and you end up waiting in your car for hours to get out....More

1  Thank Miss_JLC_88
Hatfield H, Public Relations Manager at Hatfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We were very disappointed to read of your experience when visiting The Frost Fair this weekend. We would like to reassure you that parking for future winter events is now under review. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 10 days in and around London and I must say Hatfield House probably was my favorite place to visit. The audio guide is excellent. The house is beautiful with many things to look at but not so much that you feel overwhelmed. The day...More

Thank michelle h
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
286 reviews
.76 km away
Here Japan
81 reviews
1.15 km away
Hopfields
20 reviews
1.54 km away
Rainbow
25 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mill Green Museum and Mill
58 reviews
1.39 km away
Hatfield Park Farm
48 reviews
.31 km away
The Eight Bells
11 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MaggieTurner
24 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Hatfield H | Property representative |
Hi, yes dogs are most welcome as long as they are kept on a lead.
1
Vote
erika g
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hatfield H | Property representative |
Hello The Coach House Restaurant is open Tuesday-Sunday from 10am-5pm. Hatfield House is open Wednesday-Sunday from 11am-5pm (last entry 4pm). Please visit our website for further details.
0
Votes
Georgie L
4 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Hatfield H | Property representative |
Hi, Thanks for getting in contact. Your dog can be taken off the lead in the park, we do have a number of sheep grazing in the parklands though and we ask visitors to keep dogs under control and on a lead when around the... More
0
Votes