We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Herne Bay Pier

| Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JN, England
+44 7767 338400
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great Pier, loads to do

This is a lovely pier and well worth a visit if you are in Herne Bay. The Pier has lots of small... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Tony R
via mobile
Once one of the longest piers in England

Sadly blown away in the 1960's but currently the focus of a rejuvenation group who are taking good... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
DaveWa126
,
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Read all 217 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good38%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“huts selling” (15 reviews)
“bouncy castle” (11 reviews)
LOCATION
| Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JN, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 7767 338400
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This is a lovely pier and well worth a visit if you are in Herne Bay. The Pier has lots of small business beach huts along one side and at the end, all sorts of art's and crafts and places to eat and drink.

Thank Tony R
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

Thank you for a nice write up, I will pass it on to the volunteers. The Pier Team ( we are very much work in progress we are setting the pace for Hastings to follow)

Reviewed 6 days ago

Sadly blown away in the 1960's but currently the focus of a rejuvenation group who are taking good steps towards making it a feature of the town once more. The pier is a wooden structure for a couple of hundred yards followed by a large...More

Thank DaveWa126
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

Thank you for your response .. The Pier Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Like tacky tat, odd rude people, nothing fun to do? Look no further. The whole of herne Bay is stuck in the past. Approximately 60 years ago. Other than the few locals that sit on the street drunk. Just to summarise, don't bother. Head to...More

Thank Rob D
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

Did you actually come to Herne Bay ? Or are you living in the past. Interesting to see what Location Location Location say.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wind was awful most of the shops were shut. This is definitely an attraction for a warm sunny day and not to be recommended on an unseasonably windy day. However, would do it again 'cos if a pier is there you have to walk along...More

Thank Chris M
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

There is no doubt we shine when the sun is out, See us on a good day and we are buzzing, Thank you for taking the time to write in. The Pier Team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pier is great. Something for everyone, young and old. Have eaten in several places. All good. 🙂More

Thank Wendy V
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

That's what we hope most people think, thank you. The Pier has different moods, on the weekends and school holidays it very busy and there is real active buzz on the pier. Slightly out of season and on the weekdays it's much calmer with people...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quite a short pier obviously used to be much longer with a small island left stranded couple of hundred yards at sea. Populated by huts which are shops and a funfare

Thank ijmark
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

Thank you for making your comments and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely views. Such a shame that the pier was allowed to fall in to despair so that it didn't go out further resulting in the ferry being stopped to Essex as this was something we had wanted to do. Lovely little fair on the pier....More

Thank Kim_Flitter
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

The pier falling in to disrepair, actually happened the other way round, the ferry stopped in in 1963 ish due to to being financially doomed. In turn the lack of revenue meant that the pier fell into disrepair and by about 1968 was closed. The...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent views out to sea. Not somewhere to spend a huge amount of time, but a visit to Herne bay would not be complete without a trip down the pier. Had lovely weather on our visit. Parking easy to pop our vehicle on the beachfront,...More

Thank Giles P
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

Thank you for comments, yes Herne Bay still has a lot of free parking, if you are prepared to walk a small distance. The Pier Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To clarify this grading is not for the pier, as a structure or tourist attraction - it's entirely aimed at the charity that runs the pier. Herne Bay pier is just gorgeous-the carousel and Helter-skelter at the end are a joy. The yarn bombing is...More

Thank susiewKent
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

The Porto loo is on contract, The trust was not aware of the hand sterilising fluid being empty this should have been attended to via the contract. In fact the men's urinals had been reopened with running water, now that we have secured a new...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped there after a visit to the local Wildwood trust Zoo and had a walk along the pier and sat and had an ice cream which was lovely whilst the sun was shining. Its got plenty of seating and a row of about 10 to...More

Thank Maz S
Andrew C, Guest Relations Manager at Herne Bay Pier, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, re the Carousel they are very expensive to maintain and run hence the £2.50 per ride, all be it may be considered a little expensive it is one the nicest ones I have seen with all the horses individually...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
The Pier
181 reviews
.28 km away
Charlie's Bistro
151 reviews
.09 km away
The Cow Shed
200 reviews
.17 km away
Oyster and Chop House
482 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Herne Bay Central Beach
157 reviews
.30 km away
Central Bandstand
83 reviews
.30 km away
Waltrop Gardens
41 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
tina161077
How much is the Helter skelter and carousel to use please?
25 August 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from DLJenkinson50 | Reviewed this property |
The helper skelter was £2 .00 for 3 slides. didn't use the carousel sorry, but assuming it would be a similar price.
1
Vote