We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chillingham Castle

Chillingham, Alnwick NE66 5NJ, England
+44 1668 215359
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Very interesting place to visit

Went here with family last week and it was so interesting. My granddaughter who is three decided it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AnnScotland_UK
,
Scotland, UK
via mobile
A little too untouched

Poorly sign posted with access tracks in need of maintenance, the ‘woodland’ walk is challenging... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
HumanBullet270
,
Worthing, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 644 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Chillingham Castle is open to the public between Easter - End of October. Hours open is 12 noon - 5pm.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“torture chamber” (56 reviews)
“sir humphrey” (34 reviews)
“ghost tour” (41 reviews)
LOCATION
Chillingham, Alnwick NE66 5NJ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1668 215359
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"torture chamber"
in 56 reviews
"sir humphrey"
in 34 reviews
"ghost tour"
in 41 reviews
"wild cattle"
in 55 reviews
"tea room"
in 55 reviews
"hand written"
in 12 reviews
"uneven floors"
in 12 reviews
"ghost hunt"
in 8 reviews
"torture room"
in 9 reviews
"minstrels gallery"
in 8 reviews
"touch things"
in 8 reviews
"eclectic mix"
in 14 reviews
"ghost walk"
in 13 reviews
"log fire"
in 17 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 46 reviews
"national trust"
in 25 reviews
"on display"
in 23 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here with family last week and it was so interesting. My granddaughter who is three decided it was The Beast out of Beauty & the Beast's Castle. The staff were very helpful and the collection of things in the Castle were varied as they...More

Thank AnnScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poorly sign posted with access tracks in need of maintenance, the ‘woodland’ walk is challenging for elderly, toddlers or people with buggies. Really wet weather would turn the woodland walk into something more akin to trenches experience. The lady at the ticket office was disinterested...More

Thank HumanBullet270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillingham, Estates Office at Chillingham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your comments and I am so sorry that you did not like your visit to our Castle. Unfortunately, the Woodland Walk has been waterlogged due to the recent bad weather we have experienced however we are monitoring the situation and so hopefully...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This castle visit is not for the faint hearted with lots of torture equipment! Think some members of our party enjoyed it more than others but it was nevertheless very interesting.

Thank amatty222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had missed coming here for years but as we were staying nearby we thought we'd go and wow was it worth it. It was incredible and me and wife were agog at all the things that were there. Our two teenage sons (15,13) notoriously...More

Thank GermanicusNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was very wet when we arrived and a bit of a walk from the car park. The drive was covered in rain filled potholes and the forest walk required waders. The castle itself was very cold as it had just recently opened for the...More

1  Thank Allandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with 6 adults and 5 kids, and we all loved it, an eccentric castle after a hair raising drive to get there on narrow roads. More like the kind of castle you'd find in France, in that its quirky and unsanitised by ropes and...More

Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited numerous Castles all over Britain. Chillingham has to be one of the most fascinating and atmospheric Castles we have ever visited.We felt the staff were genuinely friendly and well informed.An absolute treasure trove. Thank you.

1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Unfortunately, we did not have a good experience here. I suggest you go to Alnwick or Bamburgh instead. Very unhelpful and rude staff. No interest in visitors. The grounds are gorgeous and impressive, but it's not worth it to be treated with such scorn for...More

Thank peartree259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillingham, Estates Office at Chillingham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that your visit to Chillingham Castle was not as expected. I am surprised that you felt some of our staff were unhelpful and rude as we pride ourselves in passing on knowledge of the Castle to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely trip with my wife who is a gordie. My wife has stayed before. We had a night in the guard room. Very nice but cold in February despite the lovely log burner. ( first basket of logs free) we did the ghost...More

2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

I took my wife mother in law and two boys to the Castle for 2 nights and stayed in the Dairy room. The apartment was in two levels with 2 bedrooms downstairs and sofa bed upstairs. On arrival it was cold but once we got...More

2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Alnwick
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
347 reviews
7.59 km away
Purdy Lodge
396 reviews
8.34 km away
Waren House Hotel
236 reviews
12.10 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
1,339 reviews
12.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Percy Arms
407 reviews
2.63 km away
Milan Restaurant
817 reviews
7.34 km away
The Tankerville Arms Eglingham
148 reviews
7.80 km away
No. 1 Hotel and Wine Lounge
218 reviews
7.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holy Trinity Old Bewick
12 reviews
3.18 km away
The Chocolate Box
9 reviews
7.34 km away
Church of the Holy Trinity
15 reviews
3.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Talia H
21 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Cangothere | Reviewed this property |
Think it cost around £10 each
0
Votes
jackie k
12 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SockFluff |
No dogs allowed. The ONLY exception is for assistance/guide dogs. Please note that NO DOGS AT ALL are permitted near the Wild Cattle (No Exceptions).
0
Votes