We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spreyton Cider Co

Corner of Sheffield Road and Melrose Road | Spreyton, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
+61 3 6427 3664
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Yummy cider

Lots of yummy cider to try and also to buy. Lots of space to chill out and nice facilities... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Smallfamily T
via mobile
A cut above the rest

Dropped in for a cider taste and was pleasantly surprised. Happy smiley staff greeted me and was a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Michelle K
,
Bathurst, Australia
via mobile
Read all 68 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Spreyton Cider Co is the latest venture from Spreyton Fresh, the home of the finest Fresh Apple Juice since 1998. The cidery located on our working orchards was constructed in 2012 with our first bottling taking place in October 2012. Building on our expertise in producing fresh apple juice, our cider maker has produced a range of ciders that are classic examples of the cider maker’s art. The Cidery is conveniently located just 10 minutes from Devonport and the Spirit of Tasmania, and on the Cradle Country touring route to Cradle Mountain. The cidery is open daily for tastings and sales of cider, fresh juices and fruit, with fresh cherries available in season (Mid December to February).
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good51%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“take away” (5 reviews)
“cheese plate” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 12:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Corner of Sheffield Road and Melrose Road | Spreyton, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 3 6427 3664
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lots of yummy cider to try and also to buy. Lots of space to chill out and nice facilities. Friendly staff.

Thank Smallfamily T
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thankyou for leaving a review. Please come back again soon - certainly plenty of room for friends and family. Cheers SCC

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in for a cider taste and was pleasantly surprised. Happy smiley staff greeted me and was a wealth of knowledge. Seeing we had small children a juice tasting flight was offered for only $2 for 5, fantastic!!! Beautiful English style ciders from 5th generation...More

Thank Michelle K
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for the great review of our cellar door Michelle, We really do pride ourselves on our local knowledge and the value for money of our offering. We will pass on your compliment of Katrina. Cheers, SCC

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stopped in for a taste of the cider. They provide a platter of drinks along with a free bottle. Venue very clean and was enjoyable. Cider was also great.

Thank GDohnt
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for the short and sharp review. "Cider was also great" - I'm glad we ticked that box. Come back anytime... but really only 12-5 when we are open. Cheers SCC

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Came here as a last stop before our trip back to the mainland. The $12 sample paddle included 8 generous sized ciders (including one ginger beer), with something to suit everyone. They had bitter, sweet, sour, weak and strong varieties. I think you normally get...More

Thank Nigel H
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review Nigel - 11/10 is a pretty decent score. Our server should of said 1.5 standard drinks, because as you observed 8 x 30ml samples will sure add up. As a rule we generally offer couples can easily share a tasting...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017

We saw a promo for Spreyton Cider Co on Television and said we have to have a look and very glad we did, on entry the staff member was very welcoming and eager to talk about the product, you pay $12 for 8 tastings and...More

Thank MarkcB63
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for the glowing review Mark. We think our tasting offer represents great value and hope you continue search for our products where ever your travelling takes you. That said - you can always order from us direct or sign up to our newsletter on...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We went here today it was an eye opener for me as I'm not a great fan of cider so we brought the tasting paddle great value and a great way to try their cider and ginger beer which was a nice surprise well worth...More

Thank Ian R
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks for the review Ian, One of the key messages we encourage our staff to share is that all cider is not the same. There is a massive difference between mass produced commercial styles and small batch, craft cider that has become more popular. It's...More

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

This was a great place to visit. Nice location and setting. Friendly staff that explains everything well. We opted for the $12 cider tasting paddle with has 8 varieties and includes a full size drink of your choice. They were all nice. It's a shame...More

Thank Ree_Views1
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave the feedback Ree. We are certainly glad you enjoyed yourself and hopefully next time you can arrange a designated driver to really settle in. Cheers SCC

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We popped in for a tasting as we were driving past, for 12 dollars we got a generous tasting of 7 ciders and a delicious ginger ale plus a bottle of our choice to take away...to my mind very good value. Especially compared to a...More

Thank Rob T
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback Rob, We think the tasting is excellent value and we encourage everyone that stops to have a go at our ciders! The goinger beer is a new addition and has been very successful over the summer. Hope to see you back...More

Reviewed 12 February 2017

We took the whole course of cider tasting and included the ginger beer. There were some interesting and diverse tastes, but all nice.

Thank Duncan W
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thanks for stopping in Duncan. We hope to have a diverse tasting for people to try. Cheers SCC

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We both occasionally drink cider so were interested to try out this cider tasting. At $12 it seemed more expensive than wine tasting but you do get a decent serving of each of 8 ciders. We had some of our own food with us so...More

Thank LindsayMann
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Hi Lindsay, Glad you enjoyed your time with us, and found the tasting to be worthwhile. Hope to see you back again some time. Cheers SCC

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Anvers Cafe
279 reviews
6.64 km away
Barringwood Vineyard and Cellar Door Cafe
32 reviews
6.65 km away
Belly's Bar & Grill
131 reviews
6.10 km away
Lucas Hotel
82 reviews
5.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Prickly Mo
10 reviews
3.27 km away
House of Anvers Chocolate Factory
313 reviews
6.63 km away
Cradle Country Farm
10 reviews
6.72 km away
Spirit of Tasmania
1,388 reviews
7.57 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Ian J
Can I suggest you make your opening hours more highly visible - I eventually found that you are open daily but was unable to find what time you opened. You can add this to your TripAdvisor page at no cost and without needing a web designer to help.
13 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Spreyton2012 | Property representative |
Hi Ian, We have taken that feedback on board and adjusted out Trip Advisor listing to also include opening hours. Cheers, SCC Management
1
Vote