We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 8199 Perry Hwy, Erie, PA 16509-6640
Phone Number:
+1 866-374-3386
Website
Today
00:00 - 23:59
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 00:00 - 23:59
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 674 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 158
    Excellent
  • 200
    Very good
  • 190
    Average
  • 74
    Poor
  • 52
    Terrible
If you are a smoker, this casino is for you. If non-smoker, eh

Unfortunately, gambling and smoking still go hand in hand at this casino. Choose the wrong entrance and you end up walking through a cloud of smoke. This is a pretty tight slot... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
Shannon B
,
Eastlake, Ohio
Add Photo Write a Review

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 674: English reviews
Eastlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Unfortunately, gambling and smoking still go hand in hand at this casino. Choose the wrong entrance and you end up walking through a cloud of smoke. This is a pretty tight slot casino but does have tables if you are into that kind of thing. Ok Casino, not my favorite by far

Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
Wilson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Confirming other reviews on the buffet at Presque Isle Downs & Casino. My husband and I ate at the Friday Night Seafood Buffet here and it was terrible. I highly recommend that you NOT try this buffet.

Helpful?
Thank driveandfly
PIDowns, Advertising Coordinator at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

Hello, We are so sorry to hear about your poor experience at our Backstretch Buffet. Our Buffet Manager, Mike Morganti, would love to discuss your experience with you further. He can be contacted through email at mmorganti@pidowns.com. Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at PID. More 

Erie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have been there maybe 30 times since it opened. The layout, the machines, the food all just seems to get better. They MUST add more machines to allow you to sign up for their promos, standing in line for 15-20 minutes is not acceptable! The upstairs Brew Brothers is a great venue, good bands, wide variety of music. Been there... More 

Helpful?
Thank darden624
PIDowns, Advertising Coordinator at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for the positive words! We are always working with our kiosks to ensure our guests the quickest and easiest experience. We are happy to hear you are enjoying our property! More 

Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Casino is easy access - right off the highway. Many hotels / motels in close proximity. Clean casino good games - decent steak house restaurant on site -- snack bar is mediocre but the buffet looked very good but did not eat at buffet. Table games as well as slots.

Helpful?
Thank grizzlyba
PIDowns, Advertising Coordinator at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review of PID. Our Buffet is very good! Give it a try next time you are here, and don't forget about The Brew Brothers upstairs. More 

Fairview Park, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the casino for NYE. The one area had a Fire and Ice party. There was music and dancing. The drink prices were very reasonable. They allow smoking in the casino, but the NO areas were very nice and clean smelling.

Helpful?
Thank joemake
PIDowns, Advertising Coordinator at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here at PID for NYE! It is one of our favorite days of the year! Thanks for the positive review and we hope to see you back again soon. More 

NE Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love casinos, and unfortunately, PID is the only one nearby. With no competition, it appears they feel they don't need to let you win. We used to go several times a month for an evening out, but after months of no winning, non-existent bonus rounds on the slots, or bonus rounds paying less than the original bet, we go... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank daleybread
PIDowns, Advertising Coordinator at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you havent had the best luck here at PID recently. Hopefully, you are willing to try your luck here again soon. We had a lot of $1,000+ jackpot winners over the holiday weekend! More 

Hubbard, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our absolute favorite casino... We come here at least once a year.. Love it... Poker room is nice, wife likes the slots... bar is nice, horse track is top of the line. Live bands on the weekends... DONT waist time going to Cleveland, Pitts, or Mountaneer... this is the place..

Helpful?
Thank James C
PIDowns, Advertising Coordinator at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

James, Thanks so much for taking the time to review PID. We appreciate the positive words about our property. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Happy Holidays! More 

Darragh, PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

Had a good time at Presque Isle downs...we didn't stay very long as it was the Friday after thanksgiving and very very busy, but nice clean casino with a FANTASTIC Steak house!!!!

Helpful?
Thank jdsadventures
PIDowns, Advertising Coordinator at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review about your experience at PID! We are glad you enjoyed your visit! We take pride in keeping our property as clean as can be for our guests. Thanks again! More 

Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I ate at the Buffett for lunch today and we are both sick won't go into too many details but not good. Most of the food tasted old like they had put it out over and over because they were not busy with all the snow.

Helpful?
Thank Srmom5225
PIDowns, Buffet Manager at Presque Isle Downs and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding the Backstretch Buffet. I apologize that you and your husband got sick. We have looked into your specific complaint and have not received any other complaints similar to yours. Most food borne illnesses take 48 to present effects. In regards to your complaint about the taste and freshness of the food,... More 

Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

They are so worried about moving machines to different positions and locations. Guess mgmt. needs to get a clue that that is a waste of time. Fix the ones you have, remind slot workers that their job is to look for trouble lights and not walk in tandem discussing personal issues. Improve your buffet, hire a chef for the steakhouse... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Steelerlady7

Travellers who viewed Presque Isle Downs and Casino also viewed

 

Been to Presque Isle Downs and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Presque Isle Downs and Casino and other visitors
10 questions
Ask a question
Buffalo, New York
Rilievo, Italy
9 months ago
Rilievo, Italy
over a year ago
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Presque Isle Downs and Casino staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?