We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Second time and still my favourite!

Nicaragua was my second trip with Barefoot (first trip was with them to Bali, where it was my first... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
bmaddin
,
Calgary, Canada
via mobile
Trip of a lifetime

Everything was perfect! Wonderful group of people, good vibes, the waves, the cleanliness of the... read more

Reviewed June 7, 2018
Marianne B
via mobile
Read all 176 reviews
96
All photos (96)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent99%
  • Very good0%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“bali trip”(4 reviews)
“learn how”(8 reviews)
About
Get immersed into surfing and its lifestyle. We offer a full week surf camp in San Juan del Sur. Our travellers sleep in a private villa in the safe and quiet neighborhood of La Talanguera. It's a perfect location, less than 10 minute walk from...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Website
+505 8468 2978
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
123
0
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
123
0
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmet amazing peoplebali triplearn howperfect mixwhole weekvilla poolplanned activitiescleaned dailyfamily styleother campstraveling sololearning howamazing weekincredible tripno stresslocal culturegood vibes
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Nicaragua was my second trip with Barefoot (first trip was with them to Bali, where it was my first time surfing). As with my Bali trip, Nicaragua with Barefoot did not disappoint. First and foremost Barefoot is a wonderful company: Naomi and Francois (our guides)...More

Thank bmaddin
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

Everything was perfect! Wonderful group of people, good vibes, the waves, the cleanliness of the villa, the afternoon pool party, the organisation, the communication from the leader, the activities... There was a perfect balance between planned activities and free Time! And talking about free Time,...More

1  Thank Marianne B
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Let's keep it short: even better than last year! The team is continuously trying to improve our experience (with success!) and that is truly appreciated!

1  Thank Vivien S
Reviewed May 28, 2018

in order to seek out unexpected and amazing views that we've never seen and felt before in the world.

1  Thank Jaeuk L
Reviewed May 18, 2018

I can't recommend Barefoot enough! This was my first time surfing and the instructors were amazing. Very patient, funny and caring and a high teacher to student ratio. The beaches are beautiful! It was a perfect mix between surf time and chill time. The villa...More

1  Thank Megan L
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

This week wasn’t my first at barefoot. I first tried them out 3 years ago & have gone back a few times. The camp is amazing! Naomi, Frank, Gab & all the surf coaches/chefs/staff go above & beyond to make your week one of the...More

Thank Leah W
Reviewed May 13, 2018

I can't recommend Barefoot surf travel enough. From the minute I arrived in SJDS the trip was perfect. The villa was amazing and Francois, Naomi, and Gab were fantastic hosts spending a lot of time showing us around the city and taking us to some...More

Thank Gregg W
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

I have been traveling to various surf camps/trips for the last 2 years. This trip was beyond incredible, everything from start to finish was top notch and focused on improving my surfing while having a wonderful cultural experience. The surf instructors and Barefoot team were...More

1  Thank Misha F
Reviewed April 2, 2018

+1 to Emily's previous comment where she says that there were great highlights (mostly in everything involving (local) surf instructors and local life), but organization and expertise from the staff can be improved. When dealing with big groups like 14 people, it's important to have...More

5  Thank Clémentine D
BarefootST, Owner at Barefoot Surf Travel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Hi there Clementine,   Thank you for your feedback.   Since your comment concerns our relationship and collaboration with local people in San Juan del Sur, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify some things publicly. We will also take the opportunity to...More

Reviewed March 28, 2018

I have mixed feelings about writing this review because I do think my trip with Barefoot could have been spectacular for someone different. It just wasn’t for me. It wasn’t terrible and there are some amazing highlights. But, I think if the owners are trying...More

3  Thank Emily J
BarefootST, Owner at Barefoot Surf Travel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Hi there Emily, Thank you for your feedback. To our team, excellence and going “over the expectations” of our travellers is the main objective. To be “good” and to “meet expectations” is considered a failure. Your comment is a concern for us because we believe...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nehab94
July 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from BarefootST | Property representative |
Hi there! We do not offer single surf lessons as we are a travel company that offers full surf trip packages for beginners. To see what exactly is included in our trips to Nicaragua, please visit our website in the... More
0
Votes