We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newport Vineyards

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 909 E Main Rd, Route 138, Middletown, RI 02842-5529
Phone Number:
+1 401-848-5161
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 00:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 299 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 158
    Excellent
  • 97
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Best visit ever

Visited a week ago and had the best visit ever. Steve the tour guide is very knowledgeable about the wine industry. I definitely gained a lot of information about the wine... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Scyprian
,
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 298: English reviews
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited a week ago and had the best visit ever. Steve the tour guide is very knowledgeable about the wine industry. I definitely gained a lot of information about the wine industry. The best part was the wine tasting; so many wines to choose from. Later we had lunch in the restaurant. The gift shop is another must to stop... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scyprian
New England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since the new renovations, the outside patio/terrace is the best part. You can enjoy the fresh air while looking at the vineyard. Indian summer is so enjoyable there. Relax & have a glass of local wine.

Helpful?
Thank Diana C
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

We couldn't agree more. So glad you hear you enjoyed your time here - we hope to see you again soon. Cheers! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in here to get lunch at the cafe. I can describe the experience in one word: eh. The service is s-l-o-w. The prices midrange. The food is palatable and nothing special. We were all disappointed. Note to the owners: Stick to your wines.

Helpful?
Thank Biztraveler2222
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback and welcome any suggestions you may have while you are visiting with us, so we can assist in remedying any concerns. Like our wines, we have very high standard for our food which is all-scratch, farm-to-table ingredients. If you have specific concerns or could clarify what you ordered, we are more than happy to bring this... More 

Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful setting. Fun to do the wine tasting tour and try new kinds of wine. They can ship it home. New restaurant is delicious, just a bit pricey though. I like the big bar and the tapas size appetizers

Helpful?
Thank Martha C
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words Martha! Our Brix Restaurant does has one of largest (if not the largest?) bar in the area. So glad you enjoyed your tasting and dinner. We hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A pleasant surprise. Great wine! Definitely worth a visit. Good variety of price range and types. Enjoyed the whites more than the reds

Helpful?
Thank zg127
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

We love that we were a pleasant surprise for you! We hope to see you again soon - cheers! More 

Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Think there are growing pains involved here. The wine is fabulous but they only have one bottle of each wine open at a time which is rather awkward when there is a crowd. The restaurant give a miss to - out of two sandwiches one was downright inedible. No response or reaction from waitress though. The wines truly are some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathie S
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

Kathie, thank you for the very kind words about our wine, these are greatly appreciated. We're disappointed to hear you didn't have the same experience in regards to your meal. These concerns have been addressed with our staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came for a tasting with about 8 of us for the start to a bachelorette weekend. It was quite busy so we didn't really learn much about the wines since the workers were running around trying to give wine to everyone. I think for the price we got a great amount of wine- I personally enjoyed the whites much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunshinedreamin
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

We'd love to welcome you back if you're ever in the area! We love the Buff! Hope to see you again - cheers! More 

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Pastrami sandwich was delicious, although could have used some sauerkraut or something - for a somewhat skimpy amount of pastrami. Tasty, but poor value at $14! Pastrami (3 oz?), mustard and rye bread...that's it.

Helpful?
Thank Foodi33
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will certainly address this with our team. We are all scratch, farm-to-table in our menus, which can sometimes warrant higher prices, however we certainly hope our guests feel that value. We are disappointed to hear you did not, and again will discuss this with the team. We do hope you try us again in... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Had never been on a winery tour before so this was very fun and infornative. Learned about the how the land was acquired, different grapes, the wine making process and much more. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Not a wine drinker but came home with various wines, cider, glasses and more!

Helpful?
Thank 785belindac
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

Fun and informative is just what we'd want to hear! We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and were able to take a few home with you to share. Hope to see you again - cheers! More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Prompt service, quick tour, and decent knowledge about the wines made for a nice, first time visit to the winery. Prices for the wines were about what I expected and similar to Napa/Sonoma in CA. My favorite was the Newport Merlot and then the Gemini Red. Bought those two back to Florida. Did not like every wine I tasted but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Cassandra E, Director of Sales at Newport Vineyards, responded to this review

Lovely to hear! It's certainly part of the experience to try new things, even if they're not your taste. We hope you raise a glass of Newport Vineyards back in FL. Cheers! More 

Travellers who viewed Newport Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Newport Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Newport Vineyards and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Newport Vineyards staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?