We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Explorer

Features Animals
101 Marshland Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926-2306
+1 843-785-2100
Website
Save
Review Highlights
My grandchildren will never forget this trip!

Captain Zack was wonderful! My entire family had a great time watching the dolphins and collecting... read more

Reviewed yesterday
853lynnec
,
Aiken, United States
Amazing!

We absolutely loved it! We found so many sand dollars and shells! The kids loved it! Captain Rick... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed yesterday
brandymiranda23
Read all 944 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
With over 30 years experience in dolphin and nature cruises around Hilton Head Island, Capt. Jim Harkins and Island Explorer offers unique and memorable tours. With both 12-passenger and 6-passenger boats, Island Explorer can accommodate large families or groups and still offer intimate experiences.You may choose a Sunset Cruise, a 1-Hour Introductory Tour (only offered during the summer months), a 2-Hour Dolphin and Nature Excursion, or our 3-Hour Vanishing Island Expedition. On our popular expedition to "Vanishing Island" you'll view the dolphins, cross the Calibogue Sound, and have the opportunity to disembark on a secluded sandbar to search for sand dollars at the low tide. Evening Sunset Cruises will bring you to beauty of the Hilton Head sunsets along with scenic views of the marshlands, birds, and dolphins that make the Lowcountry special. During the summer months join us for a Tuesday night Fireworks Cruise. Our captains are experienced, friendly, and informative. Our mid-island location is convenient to every resort on Hilton Head. Parking is always free, and there are no gate fees. Our boats are docked at the popular island restaurant, The Old Oyster Factory Restaurant at 101 Marshland Road. With years of experience on Hilton Head Island and variety of unique cruises, Island Explorer will treat you to a memorable experience for your family or group.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“captain kathy” (98 reviews)
“sand dollars” (139 reviews)
“hour tour” (96 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
LOCATION
101 Marshland Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926-2306
CONTACT
Website
+1 843-785-2100

Similar Things to Do in Hilton Head

Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 943 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Captain Zack was wonderful! My entire family had a great time watching the dolphins and collecting shells on the disappearing island. The trip was the perfect addition to our Hilton Head stay!

Thank 853lynnec
Reviewed yesterday

We absolutely loved it! We found so many sand dollars and shells! The kids loved it! Captain Rick was great!!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank brandymiranda23
Reviewed yesterday

Was a very relaxing tour, lots of dolphin sightings! Zach was a great tour guide and had lots of information and interesting tid bits to share about the area. Well worth it. The kids loved it and the adults did too!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank CaryTOmaha
Reviewed yesterday

We had a great evening. Captain Mitch was engaging, knowledgeable, and fun. Our family was together to honor our Mother who passed away a while ago. She had lived on Hilton Head and we wanted to remember her in a special way. Our private charter...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Pete C
Reviewed 2 days ago

we had a great time and the Vanishing Island is worth the trip! Bring a bucket or container to collect some sand dollars and shells.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank amandaatnip
Reviewed 5 days ago

Great way to see dolphins, neighboring islands, and learn a bit of history. Be sure to book to go out or come in on low tide, so you can see the oyster beds. Fascinating! Thanks to Captain Rich for an entertaining, informative, beautiful two hours...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rebeccapY1831FM
IslandExplorerHHISC, Guest Relations Manager at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We're delighted to know that you had "quite a ride" on your 2-Hour Dolphin & Nature tour with Captain Rich on the Island Explorer. Choosing a low tide tour does offer some unique opportunities to see wildlife, especially the oyster beds. Captain Rich appreciates your...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

My family and I had a fantastic trip with Captain Zack. He took the time to tell us about the area and the ecosystem while showing us the wonders of the dolphins and the vanishing island. We highly recommend this evening trip for both adults...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Monica A
IslandExplorerHHISC, Guest Relations Manager at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Monica, Thanks so much for taking time to write such a thorough review of your "beautiful trip" with Captain Zach on the Island Explorer "Vanishing Island" expedition. Our vessels are specially designed and built to carry up to 12 guests in an intimate setting...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our sunset cruise unfortunately the initial cruise that we signed up for which was a dolphin cruise got canceled because there weren't enough people but they experience overall was fabulous we loved the captain as well would definitely do again it was...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank maryyates
IslandExplorerHHISC, Guest Relations Manager at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Mary, We're so glad that you enjoyed your Sunset Cruise and sincerely appreciate your 5-Star rating. Thanks for your understanding that, as a small business, we need a minimum number of guests on a tour to make it viable. We always work hard to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely time viewing dolphins with Captain Mitch. He was pleasant and very informative on the area and wildlife.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank cinix123
IslandExplorerHHISC, Guest Relations Manager at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for letting us know that you had a "lovely time" on your Island Explorer Dolphin and Nature tour with Captain Mitch. It's our goal to offer a safe, fun, and educational experience to every guest. We all appreciate your 5-Star review and hope to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great tour of the wildlife, ecology, and history of the bay and the inland waterway. We saw dolphins (including a mother and young one, close up, the two diving in perfect formation), egrets, herons, oysters (lots!), and osprey. The boat had comfortable...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank prilhall
IslandExplorerHHISC, Guest Relations Manager at Island Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're delighted to hear that you had a "great morning on the water" with Island Explorer and Captain Mitch and felt that your tour was "well worth the money..." Our entire staff thanks you for your kind words and 5-Star review. We love our jobs...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Jane Bistro & Bar
235 reviews
1.59 km away
Poseidon Coastal Cuisine & Rooftop Bar
2,223 reviews
1.42 km away
Old Oyster Factory
3,118 reviews
.04 km away
Giuseppi's Pizza & Pasta
1,633 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tour Daufuskie
252 reviews
1.60 km away
Shelter Cove Towne Centre
310 reviews
1.59 km away
Shelter Cove Community Park
88 reviews
1.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
barbra w
26 September 2017|
Answer
Response from IslandExplorerHHISC | Property representative |
We usually begin offering tours in late February or early March depending on the weather. Our schedule should be posted in early January. Feel free to call us on your arrival, and we'll make an effort to work something out... More
0
Votes
Glen O
24 September 2017|
Answer
Response from IslandExplorerHHISC | Property representative |
Hi Glen, We will definitely be operating. The recent storms have not impacted our business or tours. Come on down! Let us know if you have further questions.
0
Votes
Lisa C
19 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from IslandExplorerHHISC | Property representative |
There are no bathrooms on the boats, but could stop at a marina if needed. There is a ladder for getting back on the boat.
0
Votes