We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shipyard Golf Club

45 Shipyard Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4942
8436811503
Save
Review Highlights
Very poor conditions

I played on June 6. The tee boxes on the front nine (clipper?) were uneven and worn. It was hard to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
David H
Great course for the price

I played all three 9 hole courses here on my trip to Hilton Head. I used their web site to book my... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
hesster
,
Cincinnati
Read all 157 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Shipyard Golf Club offers three nine hole courses, which can be played in three eighteen hole combinations. Each course has its own merits and difficulties, with 25 water hazards coming into play throughout the majority of the holes.Clipper Course: With plenty of sand and water hazards, the Clipper course may be the most difficult of the nines. This George W. Cobb design requires a good long game and a soft touch around the greens.Galleon Course: These original nine holes of Shipyard Golf Club meander through large oaks and tall pines. Accurate placement of approach shots into heavily guarded greens is necessary on the Galleon course.Brigantine Course:Alligators sun themselves along these scenic, water hazard filled nine holes of the Brigantine course. With slight dog-legs and well-placed bunkers, this course requires shot-making and a good short game.
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good47%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“greens” (60 reviews)
“hole courses” (8 reviews)
LOCATION
45 Shipyard Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4942
CONTACT
8436811503
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I played on June 6. The tee boxes on the front nine (clipper?) were uneven and worn. It was hard to find a flat lie that wasn't chewed up. Little did I know that they were better than the tees on the back nine (Galleon?)...More

2  Thank David H
Kyle M, Head Golf Professional at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon David, Thank you for taking the time to review Shipyard Golf Club. I am sorry to hear about your experience. We certainly do not want you to feel ripped off at all. We have been doing a lot of sod work recently, which...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I played all three 9 hole courses here on my trip to Hilton Head. I used their web site to book my first 18 for $55 with a 2 PM tee time. This time out, I played the Brigatine and Galleon courses. There is a...More

1  Thank hesster
Kyle M, Head Golf Professional at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We really appreciate you playing with us this week and hope to see you again soon. For the yardages we do have an App for that. I apologize that no one told you about that. The next time you are here download the "Heritage Collection"...More

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Played 2 rounds here, they have 3 , 9 hole courses. Greens were in fair shape, fairways were in good shape, plenty of challenges--better like water--I think they said 24 of the 27 holes has water. Bring spare balls, cause your not going to fight...More

Thank halfacoach
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We played April 25. I thought the tee boxes and fairways were in poor conditions for this time of year. I can only imagine how the will fair when summer arrives. It cost me and the wife $235.00 for 18 holes. They paired us with...More

3  Thank Wayne A
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Beautiful greens with a lot water and sand traps. And, you will see alligators. We look for a rental or timeshare that includes golf. You will pay a cart fee. We prefer the morning tee times for faster play.

Thank pvnipper
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Very nice layout, greens a bit slow but they putt very true. Saw a few dead spots, hope they make it through the summer. Sand traps in excellent shape. Fairways and approach areas need more grass, they're in poor shape. Tees are very bad, but...More

1  Thank Seatrail2016
Kyle M, Head Golf Professional at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you playing with us. We are working very hard to get the course into good shape. This time of the year the bermuda grass is just starting to grow back in. It goes dormant during the winter...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I flew into Savannah and wanted to play a round during our honeymoon. We were told that The Shipyard has wide fairways so we choose this course. Unfortunately we didn't have the best experience. Neither of us brought clubs on the trip...More

4  Thank Modum03
Kyle M, Head Golf Professional at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

I am very sorry to hear about your experience here at Shipyard. Our goal is to treat everyone of our guests with courtesy and respect every time. I would like to hear more about your experience if you would give me a call. My office...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice course, very busy. Get early tee times. Pros are very nice, and accommodating . Practice range us in excellent shape

Thank Richard D
Kyle M, Head Golf Professional at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you very much for your comment! We really appreciate you playing with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We have just returned from our fifth year on a 2 week break at Shipyard Plantation . The golf course was in very good condition despite recovering from the recent hurricane. We book the 7 day golf package which is &350 for limitless golf including...More

Thank patriciaryan29
Kyle M, Head Golf Professional at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for your review and for playing with us the last 2 weeks! I am very glad you enjoyed the golf course and the staff. We have come a long way since Hurricane Matthew hit last October. We are still in the process of...More

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Obviously HH took a hurricane hit in 2016 but Shipyard has done a great job coming back online. Courses were well maintained and greens were in good shape. Our favorite was Brigantine.

Thank Carl B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Jazz Corner
1,456 reviews
.99 km away
Java Burrito Co
778 reviews
.87 km away
Ombra Cucina Rustica
1,127 reviews
.90 km away
Charlie's L'Etoile Verte
955 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Coligny Beach
2,896 reviews
1.39 km away
The Sandbox Interactive Children's Museum
159 reviews
1.51 km away
Village at Wexford
50 reviews
.83 km away
Compass Rose Park
37 reviews
1.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shipyard Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit