We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samares Manor

La Grande Route de Saint-Clement, St Clement JE2 6QW
+44 1534 870551
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Gardens

Absolutely beautiful gardens and delicious food served at the Herb Garden Cafe. Very peaceful and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Jambozo1
via mobile
Not to be Missed

We expected to be here for half a day, but ended up spending the whole day, a lovely place. On... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
UkPj
,
UK
Read all 389 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A privately-owned botanic garden providing a unique collection of plants and acres to explore in a relaxed environment. Offering historical tours of the manor house and museum, a gift shop, plant centre, cafe, six self catering units and children's play area. Beautiful setting for weddings and events.
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“herb garden” (67 reviews)
“botanic gardens” (12 reviews)
“guided tour” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
La Grande Route de Saint-Clement, St Clement JE2 6QW
CONTACT
Website
+44 1534 870551
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"herb garden"
in 67 reviews
"botanic gardens"
in 12 reviews
"guided tour"
in 21 reviews
"japanese garden"
in 65 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 28 reviews
"water garden"
in 5 reviews
"tea room"
in 11 reviews
"self catering"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 14 reviews
"full bloom"
in 4 reviews
"great cafe"
in 6 reviews
"high standard"
in 4 reviews
"scones"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyed our visit"
in 6 reviews
"carriage museum"
in 14 reviews
"entry fee"
in 5 reviews
"for sale"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Absolutely beautiful gardens and delicious food served at the Herb Garden Cafe. Very peaceful and relaxing surroundings. Really enjoyed the guided tour of Samares Manor House too. Well worth a visit.

Thank Jambozo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for such a great review. We have very a committed staff here so I will pass this review on. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

We expected to be here for half a day, but ended up spending the whole day, a lovely place. On arrival we spoke to Anna tending plants and had a wonderful discussion, she gave us loads of advice, great start. We then headed for the...More

Thank UkPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you UkPj for a great review! Much appreciated. All of our staff here are very dedicated to ensuring all visitors to the gardens enjoy every aspect of their visit. I am really sorry you did not think the Herb Garden Cafe was up to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely food in lovely gardens. Guided tours of herb garden, rural life museum and manor house. Free entry for second visit if taken in first week which is handy if you to take advantage of the lovely cafe. Only disappointment is the fact that the...More

Thank kbanks428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you kbanks for your review.We are really pleased you enjoyed most things about your visit to Samares Manor. We are sorry to hear about the toilet experience! Not pleasant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is so much to look at we went back the following day at no extra charge Went there by bus which only runs every 2 hours so your timings have to be spot on The gardens especially the Japanese garden where well designed but...More

Thank GEORGE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That you George W for your review of the gardens and cafe. We are really pleased you enjoyed it so much that you came back! The rose is called Excelsa, a rambling rose which can be purchased through Peter Beales and UK supplier. Enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great way to spend a warm, sunny, Saturday afternoon. The gardens were in full bloom and wonderfully relaxing. The attendant at the entrance was wonderfully friendly.More

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Robert B, Thank you for your review.We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, I presume you found a nice shady tree? Scott our weekend Visitor Center assistant is a really passionate and very much enjoys engaging with our visitors. I will pass this...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last year and discovered that they had self catering accommodation. So we decided to stay there this year. The accommodation was very comfortable and well equipped and the garden was lovely. Definitely great to visit and wonderful place to stay. Thank you so...More

Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Front Office Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed the self catering. We try and make our holiday stays here as personal as possible and encourage our guests to enjoy the grounds which are available for use any time throughout the day and evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful botanical gardens. Dazzling colours and smells and beautifully laid out. Great willow walk very cleverly done. Also the Japanese garden is very beautiful. Some very unusual plants and trees. Look out for the tulip tree, its massive. Great restaurant as well. Not to be...More

1  Thank odedkuschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for such a positive review. Everything looks great at the moment as we have had very little rain and wind, long may that continue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed the gardens at Samares Manor. Outstanding grounds bursting with colour and scent. Herb garden, Lavender garden, Japanese garden and much much more. Quiet places where you can watch the world go by. A cafe, gift shop, toilets, car park. You're able to...More

1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a great review, we really do appreciate all feedback. This will boost our staff as they are flagging in the heat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Very interesting and enjoyable garden and grounds, lots of lovely trees, and a japanese garden as well. Good café as well, next to the extensive and varied walled garden section.

Thank DEastLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your great review. We are so please you enjoyed your visit. I will pass you comments onto the staff. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a warm day when most plants were in full bloom. The walled gardens and the 'bee watch' were great. The grounds were lovely to see and very relaxing. Really interesting herb and medicinal gardens too. A the staff we encountered were friendly...More

1  Thank JenWren999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a great review! June is the best time to visit the gardens and the weather has certainly helped.We are a close knit team and we really enjoy engaging with our visitors. I will pass your review onto the team, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Jersey
Ambassadeur
557 reviews
.75 km away
Longueville Manor
943 reviews
1.07 km away
Talana Hotel
282 reviews
1.12 km away
Merton Hotel
1,847 reviews
1.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Herb Garden Cafe
35 reviews
.02 km away
Longueville Manor
576 reviews
1.07 km away
Partners Restaurant
53 reviews
.71 km away
Thai Dicq Shack
284 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Gardens of Sameres Manor
131 reviews
.11 km away
Le Hocq Tower
21 reviews
1.36 km away
Grouville Parish Church
16 reviews
2.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Charli D
June 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris G | Reviewed this property |
Hi, looks like someone has already answered your question but I would like to add that you will also receive a complimentary pass for a second visit should you wish to do so. We took advantage of this and also visited the... More
0
Votes
billie30082014
July 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chriss502015 | Reviewed this property |
Parts of the garden are accessible for wheelchairs and scooters but there are areas where there are steps and gravel paths which, unfortunately, may difficult to negotiate on a scooter as some are narrow. The entrance to the... More
2
Votes
Margaretandwfawcett
June 13, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MissVOnTour | Reviewed this property |
It's £7.95 for seniors for the gardens, and then an extra £3.65 for seniors if you want a tour of the house too.
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor