We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samares Manor

Closed Now: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Good gardens, great herb talk, lousy cafe

Torn between a three and a four here We got the bus out (drops you outside the front door) and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
WyldeGreenJMA
,
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Relaxing Afternoon

Lovely relaxing afternoon spent strolling around the grounds. Wish I could have gone earlier in the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Sarasota21
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 411 reviews
172
All photos (172)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“herb garden”(68 reviews)
“rural life”(8 reviews)
“botanic gardens”(12 reviews)
About
A privately-owned botanic garden providing a unique collection of plants and acres to explore in a relaxed environment. Offering historical tours of the manor house and museum, a gift shop, plant centre, cafe, six self catering units and children's...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
La Grande Route de Saint-Clement, JE2 6QW
Website
+44 1534 870551
Call
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
171
121
48
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
171
121
48
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herb garden rural life botanic gardens japanese garden guided tour well worth a visit water garden self catering tea room admission price gift shop full bloom great cafe high standard carriage museum scones great visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Excellent informative talk before going around the vineyards and the distillery. It also has a well stocked shop selling produce made on the premises. Well worth s visit

Thank Judy M
Samaresmanoradmin, Front Office Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We think this review was probably meant for La Mare Vineyards!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Torn between a three and a four here We got the bus out (drops you outside the front door) and paid the fairly steep entry fee given the size of the site and that you would need to pay extra to see the house. We...More

1  Thank WyldeGreenJMA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove over to this especially, and when we got there, told by a rather rude lady in the garden centre that visit is only by guided tours - and we missed the 2nd and last one by 10 minutes! No apology actually seemed please...More

1  Thank KennyC2018please
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello again, I am sorry that my email did not quench your dissatisfaction in your earlier correspondence. Having spoken to Linda earlier it seems that when entry to our gardens was suggested the term " stuff them" was used.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely relaxing afternoon spent strolling around the grounds. Wish I could have gone earlier in the season to see the plants at their best. Japanese & walled gardens are beautiful. Did the tour round the Manor House- not included in the garden entry fee, beautiful...More

Thank Sarasota21
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. June is the very best time to view the gardens in all their full glory. The Manor House is a real treasure as are our guides. Thanks again!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent an enjoyable morning looking around the house and gardens....the lady on reception was very friendly & helpful as was the lady who did the guided tour but unfortunately the cafe staff let this place down badly...if you visit expect to be ignored when...More

1  Thank liverlover-49
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon, I am sorry to hear about the cafe staff, usually they receive great reviews. I will pass this on to all of the staff and apologize on their behalf

Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a pleasant stroll around the gardens in the sunshine and found plenty of shady places to sit and relax. The cafe was a bonus and rounded off our visit before we visited the shop. We would certainly visit again if we return to...More

Thank lindalen1961
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We have had such a good summer and the sunshine and blue skies continue. Maybe you would consider staying with us during your next visit? Then you could almost have the gardens to yourselves in the early mornings...More

Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

It is well worth spending a morning or afternoon visiting this historic manor house and its gardens. Jenny, the guide, provided an excellent insight into the Rural Life and Carriage Museum (which was free) she was then the guide later for the tour of the...More

Thank CannockSunSeeker
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thank for your review. Jenny is very passionate about the history of the Manor and has guided here for many years. Seigneur Obbard has a vast collection of Agricultural pieces small and large, many awaiting a space in the museum and we plan to add...More

Reviewed September 10, 2018

Set off on hired bikes from St Helier to find Samares Manor, which we eventually did after seeing most of the rest of the east of the island! The gardens are ideal for a stroll and a visit and we enjoyed the different aspects including...More

Thank Jon035
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you Jon035 for your great review! The fruit garden is The Seigneurs passion. He grows many varieties of Apples and Pears which are rare Jersey varieties. We agree that a bit of fine tuning is required regarding the Maintenance but gardeners seeking work are...More

Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

We visited Samares Manor on the way back from a trip to Gorey. We had a pleasant visit, but there was a limited amount of colour in the gardens (I appreciate its September). I think the entry fee is expensive compared to other attractions we...More

2  Thank KP11347
Samaresmanoradmin, Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Good Morning, I am sorry you felt disappointed by the lack of flowers in the gardens. It has been a tough year with the lack of rain and many trees and plants have suffered as a result.If you plan to visit again June is the...More

Reviewed August 23, 2018

What a hidden gem this place is. Apologies for the late review as we stopped here for a fantastic lunch during the Nissan Figaro Jersey Rally earlier this year. It was an organised stop, and after experiencing a complete shambles of a lunch at the...More

1  Thank Jules J
Samaresmanoradmin, Front Office Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you so much for your very lovely comments. We have passed this on to The Herb Garden Café. We would love to welcome you all back again!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 nearby hotels
Ambassadeur
584 reviews
.75 km away
Longueville Manor
983 reviews
1.07 km away
Talana Hotel
304 reviews
1.12 km away
Merton Hotel
1,981 reviews
1.39 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 447 nearby restaurants
The Herb Garden Cafe
42 reviews
.03 km away
Longueville Manor
605 reviews
1.07 km away
Partners Restaurant
56 reviews
.71 km away
Thai Dicq Shack
298 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 206 nearby attractions
The Gardens of Sameres Manor
144 reviews
.11 km away
Le Hocq Tower
22 reviews
1.36 km away
Grouville Parish Church
18 reviews
2.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Charli D
June 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris G | Reviewed this property |
Hi, looks like someone has already answered your question but I would like to add that you will also receive a complimentary pass for a second visit should you wish to do so. We took advantage of this and also visited the... More
1
Vote
billie30082014
July 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chriss502015 | Reviewed this property |
Parts of the garden are accessible for wheelchairs and scooters but there are areas where there are steps and gravel paths which, unfortunately, may difficult to negotiate on a scooter as some are narrow. The entrance to the... More
2
Votes
Margaretandwfawcett
June 13, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MissVOnTour | Reviewed this property |
It's £7.95 for seniors for the gardens, and then an extra £3.65 for seniors if you want a tour of the house too.
0
Votes