We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deep Sea World

Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Forthside Terrace, North Queensferry KY11 1JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1383 411880
Website
Description:

Deep Sea World is located underneath the iconic Forth Rail Bridge, in the...

Deep Sea World is located underneath the iconic Forth Rail Bridge, in the quaint village of North Queensferry. Deep Sea World is one of the premier attractions in Scotland, offering fun for the whole family, no matter what their age. Come along and see our spectacular underwater tunnel and come face to face with one of Europe's largest collection of Sand Tiger sharks and even dive with them...If you're feeling brave enough!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,284 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 275
    Excellent
  • 255
    Very good
  • 306
    Average
  • 234
    Poor
  • 191
    Terrible
Interesting but tired

We had a nice day out to the aquarium, but most of the exhibits were pretty tired. There were some interesting fish and amphibians to see. The shark tunnel was fun, but the moving... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Katie B
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,261: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Like others have said, the aquarium is pretty good fun although it could do with a freshen up. The whole experience has a worn out feel to it. Broken speakers making it difficult to hear announcements and talks, flickering and missing lighting in places, toilets with no soap in the dispenser, flaking paintwork on railings and inside. However the really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went in for lunch and we were met with very unpleasant and rude staff. Food was a disgrace and very expensive. If you are going take a packed lunch.

Helpful?
3 Thank sucraig
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family party consisted of ages 1 to over 80 including a wheelchair user and we all thoroughly enjoyed the time spent at the centre. We couldn't have been more welcomed. All needs were catered for. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly and all the animals looked well cared for. A very pleasant time was had by all and will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen A
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Helen A Thank you for your review and your kind words. We appreciate that you had a great visit and that you had an enjoyable time! Many thanks Nancy Marketing Manager. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We paid 60 pound in for 3 adults 2 kids went round all in 20 minutes. Complained at the desk they replied had I seen the main attraction the mermaid which was a middle aged lady which was sitting swishing her tail with a wig on nothing great about that basically wasn't really helpful at all was planing to spend... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback of your visit. We remember your visit very clearly. And we honoured your visit with a full refund while leaving. We are disappointed that you did not decide to stay longer than 10 minutes to actually take in the attraction. As a Manager at Deep Sea World,... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a nice day out to the aquarium, but most of the exhibits were pretty tired. There were some interesting fish and amphibians to see. The shark tunnel was fun, but the moving walkway was broken. The cafe while overpriced for the quality, had a great view of the rail bridge!

Helpful?
Thank Katie B
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Katie B Thank you for leaving us some feedback of your recent visit. We will certainly take your comments on board. Many thanks Nancy Marketing Manager. More 

Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

really good for small children, photo with the mermaid was a great attraction, a long queue but most adults split up and let one keep the place while their friend/partner did things with the children, and the whole thing was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank justmeUk
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Dear justmeUK Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback of your recent visit. We appreciate all feedback we receive. Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you have an enjoyable visit. We would love to see you again soon. Many thanks Nancy Marketing Manager. More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fun activity particularly on a wet cold day. They have a number of talks and feeds during the day. We spent a couple of hours before having lunch. There is a cafe, but also areas where you can eat a picnic. They also had a gold egg hunt for Easter, which was an extra to keep the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linz_Murdoch
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Linz_Murdoch Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback of your recent visit to Deep Sea World. We appreciate all feedback we receive, we aim to take on board all feedback to better our service. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our talks and feeds, they really are the best way to enjoy your... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over priced. Run by inexperienced youths .Restaurant was a mess and not well run Should have looked at some review before I went they need to go abroad and see how they are run d

Helpful?
Thank David H
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review of your recent visit. We are the largest aquarium in Scotland, with the largest collection of sandtiger sharks in Europe, the longest underwater tunnel and longest walkway in Europe. We offer a talk or feed every 30 minutes for our guests to enjoy, we hold approx 4,500 different species of animals in our... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my 3 boys here for a day over the Easter break - all of us had different favourites and a great day. Cost was fairly reasonable for the experience and easily booked online. Plenty of parking on site too and very accessible. We saw many animals throughout the day. I particularly enjoyed the tunnel and seeing the sharks. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly d
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Holly d Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback of your recent visit. We appreciate all reviews we receive. I am glad to hear that you had a fantastic visit during the Easter holidays and got to enjoy all of our great exhibits, talks, and shark tunnel. Thank you so much for taking part in... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here today to kill some time booked online and got tickets cheaper but still a bit pricey £10-12 would be a ideal price. I enjoyed seeing the aquatic life in the various tanks and got to see the shark feeds. One thing that did disappoint on the walk way it clearly states no prams and when you have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
DeepSeaWorld, Manager at Deep Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Richard H Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback of your recent visit. We appreciate all reviews we receive. I am glad to hear that you took advantage of our discounted online prices, and got to enjoy seeing our various tanks and sandtiger sharks. We do have the largest collection of sandtiger sharks... More 

Travellers who viewed Deep Sea World also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Deep Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Deep Sea World and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Deep Sea World staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?