We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Churchill's - Visitors Centre

Closed Now: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Personal attention at Porto's newest port wine centre

Churchill's is the newest port wine producer in Porto, being formed in 1981. The visitor centre is... read more

Reviewed yesterday
WorcesterLinda
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
Excellent tour - worth the walk

Churchill’s had a promotion with our hotel for tours so we signed up. I was unsure of this choice... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
alanp333
,
Montreal, Canada
Read all 215 reviews
133
All photos (133)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good24%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“great tasting”(9 reviews)
“port tasting”(17 reviews)
About
This is a space which breathes elegance and style, serving as a backdrop for the best Churchill’s has to offer – its wines. “Churchill’s thinking behind this venture was based upon the philosophy that enjoyment of a glass of Port requires a state of...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
Rua Fonte Nova 5, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-156, Portugal
Website
+351 22 374 4193
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
93
24
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
93
24
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tasting pleasant hostess port tasting storage area white port crackers tuk tuk tour an aperitif pleasant surroundings an eye opener tasting room family business private tour the main drag learn something port houses visit porto
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Churchill's is the newest port wine producer in Porto, being formed in 1981. The visitor centre is a little way along the river front, uphill at the western end of Gaia. Our second visit to Churchill's was again very enjoyable. We made an appointment via...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank WorcesterLinda
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed your experience and our Ports! We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Churchill’s had a promotion with our hotel for tours so we signed up. I was unsure of this choice as it was about the farthest away in Vila Nova de Gaia but it proved well worth the visit. My wife and I received a private...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank alanp333
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed your experience and our Ports! We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As others have said you need to book here. It is quite small and they do not have many places. Actually the film and the warehouse tour are not necessary, you could well leave them out, and go straight to the tasting. The film acoustics...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank moraira
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed our Ports! We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a good time at Churchills and the staff was very nice and answered our questions. Unfortunately the visitor center is just a storage facility and very little production happens at this location.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Mike M
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mike, thank you much for your kind review! Unfortunately, we can't open our production (which is in deed based next to the visitors centre) to visitors as this would interfere too much with our processes and hence affect the quality of our wines. Therefore,...More

Reviewed November 5, 2018

Now I am not a Port lover ,, or so I thought It turns out I must have only ever tasted very poor port. We were very lucky as we turned up thinking you didn't need to book a place on a tour - but...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank R2012W
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed your experience and our Ports! We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

We were lucky to find a spot without reservation, usually they only take reservations because they are full. We chose their classic port tasting, priced 7,50 eur. They also have white port wine, alongside with red. For each wine a person stayed with us and...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DianaC300011
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed your tasting! We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed October 18, 2018

We were in Porto for a 5 day visit with O.A.T. and this was a tour and tasting that they set up. The tour was amazing, they explained about how it was made and aged, history and how port was stored. As we went thru...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank DLW08
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed our ports! We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Tour and tasting with my wife Pedro was very knowledgeable, funny and engaging. An all around a great host. The port tasting was tremendous. Ive had a couple different churchill ports before but only the reserve from what we had here. The tasting included the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank scottn858
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Scott, thank you very much for your kind review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed our ports! We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed October 2, 2018

During our nine months of living in Porto, I’ve sipped more than my fair share of port wine. Yet I hadn’t managed to do one of the port-tasting tours offered by several of the port producers – something that many tourists accomplish in their first...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Craig M
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Craig, thank you very much for your kind and detailed review! It was a great pleasure having you and we're happy that you enjoyed our ports! We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future!

Reviewed October 1, 2018

We went to Churchill's Visitation Center for Tasting Port Wines in Porto. The staff were very attentive and gave a very good tour and processing techniques of the a center. The tastings included 3 different Port wines. Need to book ahead.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sara T
Isabel T, Public Relations Manager at Churchill's - Visitors Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a pleasure having you and we're happy that you had a great experience! We hope to receive you again in the future!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Private Villa Porto
24 reviews
.68 km away
Hotel da Bolsa
752 reviews
.72 km away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
557 reviews
.73 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2,721 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 450 nearby restaurants
Restaurante Casa Dias
830 reviews
.42 km away
VINUM Restaurant & Wine Bar
1,105 reviews
.17 km away
Restaurante Casa Adao
568 reviews
.42 km away
Sumo Cais
108 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 104 nearby attractions
Cockburn’s Port Wine Lodge
527 reviews
.59 km away
Graham's Port Lodge
1,897 reviews
.21 km away
Look at Porto
112 reviews
.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BailsBrew
September 9, 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Kevin62_2012 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Lisa, As people have said, the Port houses are all on the one side and its easy to walk from one to another. Some are a reasonable distance apart though and on a hot day you probably want to drink plenty of water too... More
1
Vote