We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prime Berth Fishing Museum

Main Tickle Causeway, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada
+1 709-884-2485
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Stroll through the stages and cod jigging

Spent last Friday and Saturday at Prime Berth. The first day myself and my family spent the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Dave D
via mobile
An Extensive Collection of Fishing Stories and Tools.

You must take your time here, and read the displays and hear some stories told. A bit more... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Craig B
,
Owen Sound, Canada
Read all 229 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Prime Berth Twillingate Fishery & Heritage Centre is a private interpretive fishing center and craft studio created by David Boyd as a tribute to his fisher forefathers.In honour of this tradition, and as a tribute to proud people so dear to his heart, David decided to call his heritage centre - "Prime Berth"- meaning literally -"the best spot!"
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good15%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“captain dave” (54 reviews)
“cod” (51 reviews)
LOCATION
Main Tickle Causeway, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 709-884-2485
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Spent last Friday and Saturday at Prime Berth. The first day myself and my family spent the afternoon browsing the many artifacts that Dave has collected which help paint a picture of what a typical fishing stage looked like in rural newfoundland. It was both...More

1  Thank Dave D
Reviewed 2 days ago

You must take your time here, and read the displays and hear some stories told. A bit more personal than a government operated museum. If you have an interest in Newfoundland fishing and history, this is your place.

Thank Craig B
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This is what NFLD was all about. After spending time in the unique gift shop we went into the small museum and received an informative talk on all things "Newfie". We went to Dave's "stage house" and heard about what life was like over a...More

Thank Warren D
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Really nice to see a person who takes time to really see and appreciate what we have put together. A cursory glance is insufficient. Many, Many thanks!!! Dave

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an odd little place. It has a gift shop and then at the back a small museum and some displays down by the wharf. The big feature is a full sized whale skeleton which is pretty unusual. The price to visit was only...More

Thank Dave L
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Just to correct - this is not a " small" museum. The concept of preserving something of the artifacts of our fishing heritage, as well as the 100 year old fishing stages and fish stores/netlofts encompasses 7 different buildings and there...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can spend hours walking through the buildings and learning about the history of local fishing. Tons of original photos, trinkets, artifacts and other items. Whale skeleton!

Thank 1RJL1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The museum was really interesting to look through, saw a few things I recognized. Our group then went cod fishing. We enjoyed a wonderful boat ride on the ocean and Captain Dave provided us with lots of information about the area and the places we...More

Thank Linda S
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you enjoyed! We always try our best, for sure! -Dave

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had no interest in going to this fishing museum as it didn't look like much from the outside and the guide book didn't say much about it....but we had tickets thru the tour we were part of so we went. Was surprised at how much...More

Thank amjoy373
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you said that the mittens were about 10 dollars less than everywhere else, as someone wrote last week that our prices were ridiculously high- which , of course, is about as far from the truth as one can get. We put very minimum mark...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went on this tour hoping to see culture maybe some whales. We were told that we were too late for icebergs but would be shown an osprey nest, visit an abandoned fishing village and do some cod fishing. As it turned out, we went...More

Thank Philip C
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry you feel this way. When we have guests with a variety of interest, I always try my best to give each their bucket list, but in your case I guess I failed. When u visit again I will give you a free trip! Best...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not terribly impressed. Items in the Gift Shop were ridiculously high priced. There are a bunch of poorly-made objects on display. Not worth the time or money.More

Thank Dawn R
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

There is no one as blind as he/she who will not see! Obviously you did not take the time to look around our craft store which has received numerous accolades and awards over the past 23 years. We do not have "objects!~' We have very...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not only was Captain Dave's very informative but it was also fun. We stopped in as part of our Globus tour of NL. Our group was divided into two. Our (much smaller) half stayed up and had an informative talk from Bill (a former school...More

Thank RandyRoss
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much. We really do depend on visitors and word of mouth to keep us going. As you say, without a passion for our fishing heritage, this place would never have become a reality, as we have spent countless hours over the past 23...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Doyle Sansome & Sons Lobster Pool
465 reviews
2.82 km away
Canvas Cove Bistro
320 reviews
7.41 km away
The Cozy Tea Room & Bakery
75 reviews
7.42 km away
Annie's Harbour Restaurant
37 reviews
7.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
Twillingate Museum & Crafts Shop
116 reviews
7.77 km away
Durrell Museum
57 reviews
7.84 km away
Sleepy Cove Trail
26 reviews
6.77 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
goaliemother
1 February 2015|
Answer
Response from captdave2015 | Property representative |
No problem. Call me at 5:30 my time. Dave
0
Votes
goaliemother
31 January 2015|
Answer
Response from captdave2015 | Property representative |
Hi again. Thanks for replying.This will not allow me to put in my email or website address. Give me a call at 709-884-2485 ( 7493 cell.)
0
Votes
goaliemother
27 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from captdave2015 | Property representative |
Roz email me or call 7098842485 ( cell 7493 ) and I will help you plan your trip. Dave
0
Votes