We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Foxglove Spires Gardens

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 282 Corkhill Dr, Tilba Tilba, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 2 4473 7375
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 63 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Disappointed

Paid our $9 each for a walk through. Owner was lovely and very pleasant. Unfortunately the garden wasn't in flowering season and bit run down. Some renovations were also... read more

2 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Tamara M
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Paid our $9 each for a walk through. Owner was lovely and very pleasant. Unfortunately the garden wasn't in flowering season and bit run down. Some renovations were also happening.

Helpful?
Thank Tamara M
RobertGG1233, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back Disappointed, Yes, with just the two of us looking after the three and a half acres, it does get away from us now and again. And when rain is continuous for days on end, it is bit hard to get out there and maintain. And a big catch up to get back on top... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

This place had been recommended to me, but unfortunately when I arrived I was badly in need of the toilet but no one around to direct me. I sighted 2 on the map and tried to find them quickly so I could then proceed into the gardens and enjoy my time. I carefully walked over a gate towards one set... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sambo L
RobertGG1233, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Unfortunate event, Yes it was rather unfortunate. Being caught jumping over the gate! So sorry you weren’t made to feel welcome, the thing is, we don’t look favourably on that sort of behaviour. Had the entry fee been forthcoming, you would have seen how lovely the gardens were, but obviously, $9 was too much...... other wise you wouldn't have,....... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

As a keen gardener l was looking forward our visit. However on entry the female manager approach us in an absolutely disgraceful manner and demanded that we do not take another step unless we pay the entry fee of $9.00. The sign at the gate stated to pay at nursery, which we intended to do however we were approached within... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank robyn h
RobertGG1233, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Speechless & Disappointed, I remember you very well. as we, the owners, are now actually taking the entry fee. Any "sensible" person would know, the business owner would not come at the customers in a barking disgraceful manner and demand anything! Especially if it could mean the potential of getting 7 or, 8 paying guests, $63 to be exact.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016

After reading some of the interesting reviews on here we just had to visit to see either how good or how bad the gardens really are. The bloke collecting the fee at the nursery was more than pleasant even though we were just visiting the gardens. It took us just under an hour to stroll around the gardens and see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suburban_Boy
LyonNarooma, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It is a challenging, but an enjoyable labour of love, getting the gardens looking beautiful, whilst undertaking works to make improvements. We look forward to your future reviews, when all our plans have been implemented and visions have been fully realised. All the best. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

I wasn't expecting the grand botanic gardens of the capital cities, but I got more than I expected. It is a lovely garden of the old style with planting of many roses, lots of arbours and majestic, mature trees. The newish owners are working their way through the neglect of earlier years bit by bit and are doing a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cas M
LyonNarooma, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you Cas, It is so rewarding to hear when people have enjoyed the gardens. Thank you again. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Last week we were delighted by our visit to the beautiful Foxglove Gardens. It was truly inspirational to see the new developments within the setting of the wonderful established and ancient trees. We particularly enjoyed walking through the magnificent Manchurian Pear arbour and the sweeping vistas and garden rooms of the gully area, so pleasing to the eye and now... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita T
LyonNarooma, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you Anita, Such positive feed back. So very much appreciated. Makes it all worth while. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Tonight I found the listing with Real Estate Hookers Moruya of what was originally a marvellous Victorian inspired romantic garden. One I have visited time and time again. Now be to subdivided into three lots, two for sale all, with residential building rights. A very sad loss of vision (and presumably financial resources) by the relatively new owners to maintain... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nurture16
LyonNarooma, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Terrible Sad, Had to laugh at your heading. The Historical Garden Society visited this week also. Only 73 people in all and everyone absolutely loved the garden and their comments ranged from, spectacular, beautiful, stunning, amazing and the one I like the best, "the garden is as good as any English garden we have visited". They either didn't visit... More 

Tumbarumba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

The garden is not the same Foxglove Spires as once was. If you remember the garden in its glory days, best to save your money and not ruin the memory of how it once looked. It has some pretty plants and its old recognisable structure, but has lost much of its romance.

Helpful?
1 Thank km732016
LyonNarooma, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

"Save your money"............ Again?????.......... Come on, please! The gardens look absolutely divine right now, so I KNOW this is from a nasty vindictive person. The only thing missing from your latest review is "Visit the nursery" Once again, as offered in response to the previous nasty reviewer, if you are a genuine visitors, we are more than happy to meet... More 

Quillan, France
Level Contributor
274 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

Great little gardens with a really nice cafe tucked off the main route 1 Well worth a visit, very prety with good eats. As motor cyclists we recieved a warm welcome. Thank you

Helpful?
2 Thank john h
Inverloch, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Regrettably, our visit this time was very disappointing. It certainly did not come up to the standard exhibited in the past. How the owners justify the $9.00 entrance fee is beyond belief. Save your money and visit the adjoining nursery instead.

Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
RobertGG1233, Owner at The Foxglove Spires Gardens, responded to this review

This sounds very fishy!!!!!!! "Save your money and visit the nursery instead" ?????? Free advertisement?????? Come on, please stop doing this. You are not a genuine visitor, it smacks of vindictiveness as seen in previous nasty reviews. If you are a genuine visitors, we are more than happy to meet and refund your entry fee. More 

Travellers who viewed The Foxglove Spires Gardens also viewed

 
Tilba Tilba, Eurobodalla
 

Been to The Foxglove Spires Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Foxglove Spires Gardens and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Foxglove Spires Gardens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?