We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The La Crosse Queen

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 405 Veterans Memorial Dr, La Crosse, WI 54601-4490
Phone Number: +1 608-784-2893
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 95 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Pleasant trip

Took the 1 1/2 hour tour. Good tour guide. Learned some history along the way. We saw several eagles and one great blue heron. Nice cruise for the price.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 October 2016
Norma Z
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a party of 4 for the Pizza Cruise at 7 PM. Cost approx 84.00. We boarded, we cruised, we ate pizza (plenty to go around for everyone to have seconds) and drank either the local beer or cocktails. It was a very nice and informative time. We saw a couple Eagles too. So cool to see in their... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliebY4632SQ
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Took the 1 1/2 hour tour. Good tour guide. Learned some history along the way. We saw several eagles and one great blue heron. Nice cruise for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Norma Z
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to evaluate and review your experience. We appreciate all comments and suggestions! I hope that you have the opportunity to cruise with us again in the future. More 

Buffalo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

We went for the Sunday brunch. The riverboat itself was nice and the wait staff were very, very friendly. The food was your typical buffet food. Not great, not terrible. I would skip the brunch if I went again (wasn't aware that was an option when we reserved). They really, really packed you in there and it's a bit crowded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you Shannon for sharing your experience on the La Crosse Queen Brunch cruise. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. We will pass on your comments to our caterer. Our seating arrangement is Industry Standard and allows us to offer the Brunch as well as other cruises at an affordable price so that more people have the opportunity... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Dominos pizza that ran out after two slices... Horrible beer. EXTREMELY Disappointed. I will not be referring anyone from my hotel to the La Crosse Queen anymore. If someone asks, I will not give any negatives remarks, but will simply give information. Definitely will not go on another cruise. You can't offer all you can eat pizza and then run... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric U
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about the La Crosse Queen. We apologize that you misunderstood that the Pizza Cruise was a Dinner Cruise. The "Pizza cruise" ticket cost includes Pizza, Soda, and Kul Beer, which is made at City Brewery in La Crosse. We offer two-hour dinner cruises to the public on Friday and Saturday Nights,... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We went on the beer and pizza cruise which sounded much more exciting than it was. I guess we expected more than dominoes pizza and cheap beer. The cruise itself was nice, a lot of beautiful scenery along the river. I just wouldn't waste my money again.

Helpful?
Thank mleitheiser
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on a cruise aboard the La Crosse Queen. We feel bad that you were disappointed however, we do try to keep costs down so that this cruise is affordable for everyone. The ticket fare for the Pizza Cruise is only $3.75 more than our sightseeing cruise which does not include... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
229 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

This is one of those "must do" touristy things when you visit La Crosse. There are two guided tours a day from the dock on the northern end of Riverside Park near the tourist information center. Tickets are available in the floating gift store. The tour goes as far up river as the new interstate highway bridge, then turns around... More 

Helpful?
Thank aquadroplet
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you aquadroplet! More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
259 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

The 90-minute ride was just the right length. Our tour guide was fairly well informed and the boat was comfortable. We've taken similar trips like this along the Mississippi, and this ride was comparable. The $14.50-ish senior fare was appropriate. This wasn't a busy time of year, so we were able to purchase our tickets right at the dock.

Helpful?
Thank Jane K
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were staying in La Crosse on our way across America. We went on the La Crosse Queen for a pleasant ride on the Mississippi river. I actually saw eagles. They have various types of cruises, but this one was just sight seeing. The narration was clear and you could tell the captain really cared about his part in giving... More 

Helpful?
Thank TillieMToiler
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The dinner cruise was disappointing for a number of reasons: The boat was obviously overloaded. The dining space was very crowded. When people on the inside seating on each table wished to leave, all the people on their side of the table had to get up to let them out. The only place to go was into a three foot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig H
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you Craig for sharing your experience on the La Crosse Queen Dinner cruise. We were sorry to hear about your disappointment with your evening. We will address the issue of your meal with our staff and caterer. We are aware that sometimes the noise levels of our customers can make hearing music and announcements difficult, but we are unable... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016

Tour guide did a great job explaining everything along the cruise. It was an hour and half cruise. we have been on the roads on both sides of the Mississippi many times, but being on the water is a totally different perspective. I thought it a bit high priced, but it's not like you keep going back.

Helpful?
Thank bsunny
La Crosse Q, Manager at The La Crosse Queen, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We hope you visit us again! More 

Travellers who viewed The La Crosse Queen also viewed

 

Been to The La Crosse Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The La Crosse Queen and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The La Crosse Queen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?