We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Start Me Up, Sport Fishing

Features Animals
Lahaina Harbor, Slip #12, Lahaina, Maui, HI
+1 808-667-2774
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great Crew and Good Fishing

We took a 6 hour charter. Capitan Tim and Mate Anthony were great. There was not a lot of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mark C
,
New York City, New York
Fun trip

Me and the grandson had a fun day fishing, he caught a nice size Wahoo and the other couple caught... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Albert S
,
Port Deposit, Maryland, Usa
via mobile
Read all 452 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Stop Wishin' and Go Fishin'! Join us aboard one of Start Me Up Sport Fishing's 42-ft. custom sportfishers and have a hand at catching the fish of a lifetime. We provide all of the equipment you need while out on the azure blue waters of Maui - bait and tackle, ice chests, Coast Guard licensed and certified captains and deckhands with decades of experience fishing Hawaiian waters. The only things you need to bring are sunscreen, beverages (no glass bottles) and a few snacks. We offer a variety of Maui fishing trips including 2,4,6,8 and 9-hour trips. Call us today to book your Maui fishing adventure!
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good12%
  • Average5%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible23%
Travellers talk about
“mahi” (49 reviews)
“captain tim” (17 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 2:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
LOCATION
Lahaina Harbor, Slip #12, Lahaina, Maui, HI
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-667-2774
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mahi"
in 49 reviews
"deep sea fishing"
in 36 reviews
"captain tim"
in 17 reviews
"these guys"
in 56 reviews
"hour fishing trip"
in 13 reviews
"caught fish"
in 20 reviews
"filet"
in 18 reviews
"fishing grounds"
in 6 reviews
"great fishing"
in 5 reviews
"nice boat"
in 13 reviews
"great trip"
in 24 reviews
"clean boat"
in 5 reviews
"lahaina harbor"
in 11 reviews
"marlin"
in 56 reviews
"charter"
in 95 reviews
"mate"
in 57 reviews
"denny"
in 10 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a 6 hour charter. Capitan Tim and Mate Anthony were great. There was not a lot of catching going on, with only one Ono landed, but it was not for lack of trying. They worked hard for us, but the fish weren't biting....More

Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and the grandson had a fun day fishing, he caught a nice size Wahoo and the other couple caught one mahi-mahi. That was the only 2 fish we caught in a 4 hour trip. The seas were not bad at all, but was a...More

1  Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We couldn't figure out why the ratings were split between good and bad until we arrived at the dock. There are multiple boats, you see, not just one. So if you get a bad one, you are out of luck. The Captain said hello and...More

Thank stephen2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on time, captain never showed up and the other captains knew nothing about the status of our trip. We were left stranded on the dock....

Thank Ronen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Trip of a lifetime. After looking online for countless hours we decided to use start me up sport fishing As they appeared to have a very high success rate for large Sport fish. Many of the reviews say it's not for the faint of heart...More

2  Thank Dylan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

My just turned 18 year old son and I arrived at the harbor around 2:10 am. We were parking in the wrong spot, and Captain John guessed it was us, and guided us to the free parking. He then walked us down to the boat...More

1  Thank unclebuck20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Free parking two blocks away in city lot. Beautiful views of Maui and surrounding islands. Very hot on the midday trip , next time I'll take the early one. Nice boat with knowledgeable crew. Only a baby tuna for me. Others lost fish. We'll get...More

Thank briggsz725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018

We have tried three different charter fishing companies out of Lahaina Harbor over the last twelve years, and I'm pretty sure we will stick with this company for the next twelve years. From the first few minutes, we were well taken care of on a...More

Thank 969katyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Contacted us at 6:00 pm to cancel a 6:00am trip. Very unprofessional I hope no one makes the mistake of choosing this service. Ruined our trip as we planned around this excursion. Do not charter this boat. It was a big mistake.More

1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerLahaina, Front Office Manager at Start Me Up, Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

We had a mechanical issue with the boat earlier in the day and had the mechanic come down in the afternoon to access the problem. We contacted you at 5pm, which was right after we got off the phone with the mechanic.We advised you at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We booked a 4 hour private charter for deep sea fishing with Start Me Up. The boat was great and very comfortable but that’s where it all ended. We ended up trolling around the harbor for 4 hours. Not a single bite. The staff seem...More

Thank jsjubran112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerLahaina, Front Office Manager at Start Me Up, Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

The captain has fished Hawaiian waters his whole life, as he was born and raised on Maui and is the son of a fisherman. A thorough explanation of all your concerns was given to the internet activity company that booked your trip and was given...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 hotels in Maui
Aina Nalu
1,238 reviews
1.18 km away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
1,009 reviews
1.53 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1,349 reviews
1.53 km away
Lahaina Inn
262 reviews
1.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Breakwall Shave Ice Co.
276 reviews
1.43 km away
Paia Fish Market Restuarant
1,034 reviews
1.44 km away
Espresso Italiano
137 reviews
1.33 km away
Local Boys Shave Ice
135 reviews
1.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maria Lanakila Catholic Church
260 reviews
1.27 km away
Epic Maui Hikes
92 reviews
1.40 km away
Hale Pa'ahao - Old Lahaina Prison
109 reviews
1.22 km away
Waiola Church & Waiola Cemetery
19 reviews
1.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Candace C
March 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BrianSaugerties | Reviewed this property |
Our boat used artificial, surface lures only. The said that for the shorter, four hour trip that was the typical set up and method. All rigging done by first mate. They indicated that they would set hooks. Everyone... More
0
Votes
JonaVSeattle
June 19, 2015|
Answer
Response from ManagerLahaina | Property representative |
Yes, give us a call at 808 667 2774 for more info, we are here 7 days a week from 8am to 6pm. Aloha, Rebecca
0
Votes
MM0811
February 15, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ManagerLahaina | Property representative |
We're going after all the game fish which includes Mahi Mahi, Wahoo,Spearfish, Blue & Striped Marlin & Yellow Fin Tuna. It's your choice to keep or release your fish.Call us 808 667 2774 for more info, we are here 7 days a... More
0
Votes