We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Bar Harbor Inn Pier, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number: +1 207-288-4585
Website
Today
08:00 - 20:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 20:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Fee: Yes
Description:

Downeast Windjammer Cruises

A morning, afternoon or sunset sail with...

Downeast Windjammer Cruises

A morning, afternoon or sunset sail with legendary Downeast Windjammer Cruises is fun for the whole family. Each offers a leisurely sail among the island of Frenchman Bay aboard one of two historic schooners: the twin-masted *Bailey Louise Todd* and the 151-foot *Margaret Todd*, the first four-masted schooner to work New England waters in over half a century.

Guests can view Acadia National Park from the sea, watch lobster men hauling their traps, see the bay's abundant wildlife, have a picnic, or just relax on the spacious decks of these historic sailing vessels.

There are three trips daily, each approximately 1.5 to 2 hours long.

All cruises are dog friendly.

For a different adventure take a ride on one of our ferries from Bar Harbor to the other side of Acadia National Park to Schoodic.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 345 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 121
    Excellent
  • 81
    Very good
  • 60
    Average
  • 45
    Poor
  • 35
    Terrible
Sunset cruise was just OK

We took the sunset cruise on the Margaret Todd. It was a beautiful day/night. They had a guitar player/singer on board that we really enjoyed. If not for him I would have given... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 October 2016
karigeo5
,
Yorba Linda, California
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I took a beautiful sunset cruise! The staff was very helpful and friendly! I would absolutely do it again. The sail was very relaxing and there was a guitar player that played live music during the sail. It was a great experience that I would absolutely do again!

Helpful?
Thank Heather C
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

We took this cruise on a whim when we came upon the pier while walking along Shore Path. I had never been on a sailboat and have always wanted to go on one. Be sure and bundle up since it is colder out on the water. We walked to a cute coffee shop and got hot drinks to take with... More 

Helpful?
Thank hdwallace
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

Thank you for the AMAZING review. We hope you will sail with us again next year. We would like to thank the crew, passengers and the village of Bar Harbor. More 

Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

We took the sunset cruise on the Margaret Todd. It was a beautiful day/night. They had a guitar player/singer on board that we really enjoyed. If not for him I would have given this sailing trip an even lesser score. We cruised out not very far did a couple circles and came back in. The crew was not very interactive.

Helpful?
Thank karigeo5
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry you felt you did not receive the cruise you had anticipated. I will bring these issues to the captain. We hope you will give us another try next year. More 

Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

My family of 5 went on the Park Ranger lead Cruise in the bay. It was windy in the bay and colder than on land so dress appropriately, definitely need to layer up. My daughter adn son in law from Florida were freezing even with layers but the rest of us thought it was lovely. We saw a few dolphins,... More 

Helpful?
Thank karen a
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

Thank you for the world class review!! Great advice to wear something warm. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The Sunset cruise is a rip off! You pay the same price as the day trips for half the cruise time. Crew is great.

Helpful?
Thank Christie G
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

We are sorry you feel the sunset cruise was a rip-off. However, in the fall our cruise is much shorter due to the fact of the sun setting so much sooner and still allowing the crew to have a break and eat. More 

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

We took the afternoon cruise on October 15th. We did get to help raise the sails and after that there was no interaction between the crew & the passengers. The captain pointed out some seals in the distance (over the speaker). You definitely got the feeling that it was the end of the season & the crew was over it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terri G
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will bring these issues to the captain. We hope you will give us a try agian next year. More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Margaret Todd Schooner is the only 4 masted schooner in all of New England and it is a beauty! As you can see from the photo above, the sails are a great color (and, oh yes, they are functional too), especially on the 2 pm afternoon sailing because of the stronger afternoon sea breezes. This cruise also gives information... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry H
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

Thank you for the OUTSTANDING review!!! We hope to see you next year. More 

Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

We went on a sunset cruise in mid October. Although they did tell us that the sunset trips in October were shorter than others, it was advertised that the regular trips were 1.5-2 hours. We went out about .5 mile turned around and came back in 45 minutes! On top of that the crew were making comments "I can't wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hanlonjm
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry you feel you did not receive the cruise you had anticipated. I will bring these issues to the captain. However, in the fall our cruise are much short due to the FACT that the sun is setting so much sooner. We hope you will give us... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

So for the amount of money I felt like this could have been better. The captain did not interact much with the passengers. I was disappointed as we had gone on other schooners in the Camden area and had a wonderful time. Even the crew was very quiet. The boat is definitely old and I would agree with the previous... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blueturtlebeans
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry you feel you did not receive the cruise you had anticipated. I will bring these issues to the captain. We hope you will give us a try next year. Our sunset cruise is quite spectacular as the captain knows the bay very well and lines up the... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016

We've been doing it every time we come to Bar Harbor. The ship is so beautiful, the environment is so impressive! I personally enjoyed taking part in raising the sail. This time it was the end of season trip, there weren't too many people on the ship, no special entertainment (like live music we had once or a park ranger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Serge R
DowneastWindjammer, Manager at Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines, responded to this review

Thank you for the Five-Star review!! We are very happy you had a wonderful cruise. For others who may read this revew, please keep in mind the last week of our season we do not have any entertainment on our sunset cruise nor do we have a National Park Ranger on our 2pm. We would like to thank our crew,... More 

Travellers who viewed Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?