We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Book Gift Shop

127 E Gordon St, Savannah, GA 31401-5001
+1 912-233-3867
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great Stop in Savannah!

When this outstanding shop was open, it was filled to the brim with items "Midnight in the Garden... read more

Reviewed 9 November 2016
Marilyn P
,
Schenectady, New York
The Book Gift Shop: Gone but not forgotten

The Book Gift Shop has gone out of business. Once the bastion for all things "Midnight in the... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2013
Johnny F
,
savannah
Read all 15 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good13%
  • Average26%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible0%
9 Nov 2016
“Great Stop in Savannah!”
11 Apr 2013
“The Book Gift Shop: Gone but not forgotten”
LOCATION
127 E Gordon St, Savannah, GA 31401-5001
Downtown
CONTACT
Website
+1 912-233-3867
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016

When this outstanding shop was open, it was filled to the brim with items "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" fans would want. Sadly, it closed a few years ago.

Thank Marilyn P
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Book Gift Shop has gone out of business. Once the bastion for all things "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil", the shop closed at the end of 2012, a victim of the shrinking economy, rising crime, even higher taxes, and the fact...More

5  Thank Johnny F
Reviewed 9 November 2012

A very different kind of place. We were able to purchase a Savannah Waving Girl statue. Displays should probably be reworked and arranged more attractively. Everything stocked revolved around the book MIDNIGHT IN THE GARDEN OF GOOD AND EVIL.

1  Thank veekayray
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I love the movie "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and found this shop was well worth the visit. She has everything about the characters in the book as well as additional items you could not find anywhere else.

1  Thank Tourist4003
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had a delightful shpping experience while recently visiting Savannah, at the "The Book" Gift Shop on Calhoun Square. The shop was full of interesting little Savannah mementos and many items relating to the book, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. The shop...More

Thank Ken G
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This little book store located on Calhoun Square in thie historic district is a must do for fans of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. This shop has anything and everything associated with this book and movie. The lady who owns the shop...More

1  Thank MLM39
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

The owner was super friendly, but make sure your purpose for going there is for Midnight in the Garden memorabilia...not for a traditional bookstore. Great book and movie articles posted throughout. This gift shop is a little pricey: I paid more for a book there...More

Thank sstraiger
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Overseeing all was the owner herself ready and able to give background information not only about The Book but also about Savannah and 'the slow, if at all' to change culture. Nothing was too much trouble and I felt I had my moneys' worth.

Thank Gloqueen-54
Reviewed 18 April 2011

While this shop has everything imaginable related to "Midnight..." and the Bird Girl, be prepared to pay the price. It was interesting that the typical tourist books, as well as items such as the audio book, would have the suggested retail prices whited out or...More

2  Thank mestocker
Reviewed 5 February 2011

A fantastic shop nestled within a square of beautiful homes and beautiful trees. An easy walk from the famous Mercer house, a truly authentic look at this great book and movie. Homemade treats and gifts, this shop has everything you could dream of for the...More

Thank Holly826
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room
4,188 reviews
.39 km away
Gryphon Tea Room
855 reviews
.35 km away
The Public Kitchen & Bar
1,231 reviews
.48 km away
Six Pence Pub Savannah
1,973 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Forsyth Park
6,605 reviews
.27 km away
Mickve Israel Temple
875 reviews
.13 km away
Lafayette Square
305 reviews
.31 km away
Andrew Low House
440 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Book Gift Shop staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit