We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 74-425 Kealakehe Pkwy, Honokohau Harbor, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2708
Phone Number:
+1 808-960-2464
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

With 6 top-of-the-line fishing boats to choose from, Bite Me Sportfishing...

With 6 top-of-the-line fishing boats to choose from, Bite Me Sportfishing offers diverse Hawaiian charter fishing experiences at their finest. With charters available for private or shared groups of up to 37 people, we can accommodate your dream fishing trip, no matter what your needs. It’s for these reasons and more that we’ve been voted “Best of West Hawaii” for years!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 205 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 117
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 32
    Terrible
Very accommodating for a Christmas fishing trip

The Bite Me 4 was really great to take us on a half day charter on Christmas Day. We caught a small fish leaving the pier and after that we didn't have much luck. But Chad and... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Kailua-Kona

Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 205: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We caught 2 "short nose spearfish" on a 6-hour trip. Great trip! Captain Chad and Tommy were knowledgeable and pleasant. Maybe too pushy on promoting "gray Taxidermy"...

Helpful?
Thank ndhamelin
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great experience with Bite Me, went on a 2.5 hour trip and saw now whales. Captain Taylor and first mate Judah were knowledgeable and friendly and the boat was clean, roomy and in good shape. Since we saw no whales they offer a free trip to come back again and two days later with the same crew we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha from Bite Me! Thank you or going out to see the whales with us. We are glad that you all were able to see the baby whale on the second day. Thanks again, have a wonderful vacation. More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a charter for our family of five. Very exciting to catch a 200LB Marlin. We didn't catch anything else so at least that was a good catch to make the trip worthwhile. Captain was knowledgeable as was the First Mate. The only downside was being pressured by the First Mate to order a very expensive fiberglass model of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jolene H
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha from Bite Me! We are excited that your trip landed a 200lbs Marlin!! Congratulations. Please note our captain provided rates for mounting after some of your party members showed interest. It is up to you to decide if you wish to get the fish mounted or not. We are sorry if you felt pressured when our crew answered your... More 

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went fishing on Dec. 28th for an late morning 4 hour trip. Boat was absolutely great and crew was terrific. My 10 year old caught a 65" spearfish and crew was great in assisting him. Have fished with Bite Me Sportsfishing before and they are a cut above the rest. Terrific

Helpful?
Thank tgotzion
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha from Bite Me! Thank you for going out with us again. We enjoyed fishing with you and catching the Spearfish on your trip. Happy New Year! Mahalos More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Bite Me 4 was really great to take us on a half day charter on Christmas Day. We caught a small fish leaving the pier and after that we didn't have much luck. But Chad and Sandy were a lot of fun and we still had a great time. Saw a large school of Dolphins and really enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha from Bite Me family! Thank you for the review. We are happy that you landed a small tuna during your trip with us. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. Happy New Year! More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Like the other customers said, they are not interested in catching small tunas which is around 50lbs even if you specifically asked them to do. I learned that majority of the trips will have no bites. We are on #4 boats, looks like the caption is not very interested to talk. If you decide to go with them, be prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHUSEN W
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha from Bite Me family. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to catch any fish during your trip with us. Please note fishing is not guaranteed catching. Our captains go out hoping to catch a fish or two and do their best. Again we are sorry you did not catch any fish during your fishing trip... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016

We had a very good 1/2 day trip on Bite Me 6 during our recent holiday in Big Island. The crew were excellent and worked really hard to try and get us some fish in quite difficult sea conditions and we managed to hook a blue marlin but unfortunately it was the 'one that got away'. Would definitely love to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janeda58
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha, thank you for fishing with us. We are glad that you and your party had a good time on Bite Me 6. Please let us know if you wish to go see he Manta Rays one of these nights, it is a wonderful experience. Happy Holidays! More 

Danville, VT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016

We called Bite Me the day before we wanted to go out. Because they found two more people necessary to go out, we went fishing. "We" were two first time fisher women with two experienced young men. (I grew up fishing in a row boat with my mother on Lake Erie catching trout.). Andy and Tommy, our captain and first... More 

Helpful?
Thank marilyn m
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha from Bite Me! thank you so much for going out to fish with us. We enjoyed reading your review about us and wish you a wonderful vacation. Happy holidays! More 

Franklin, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

We had a fun time on Bite Me 6 over Thanksgiving week. Some in our party had never been offshore fishing, and it was quite a treat for them to grab a rod and sit in the fighting chair. We caught quite a few small tuna and then went out further to try for bigger game, but with no luck.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelingVirginian
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha from Bite ME! Thank you for fishing with us. We are happy that you all had a good time fishing with us. Hope you are having a wonderful vacation. Happy Holidays! More 

Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

We went out on Bite Me #3 with Tommy & Andy on Saturday, Nov. 26. Let me start by saying this: I wanted to catch ANY fish because catching a fish I can't see at home was the point for me. I didn't care about the size or type of fish caught. Andy seemed bored and barely said anything to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie K
Sy A, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review

Aloha! thank you for going out to fish with us. We are sorry to hear that your fishing trip did not land any fish this time. Unfortunately fishing is not guaranteed catching. We will talk to the captain about your concerns. Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your thoughts. More 

Travellers who viewed Bite Me Sportfishing also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bite Me Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bite Me Sportfishing and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bite Me Sportfishing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?