We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Breeze Luau

Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-329-8111
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.96*
and up
Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island
More Info
US$204.68*
and up
Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“open bar” (43 reviews)
“hula lessons” (23 reviews)
“kalua pig” (17 reviews)
LOCATION
Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-329-8111
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

After an extensive road traffic jam we just made the lu'au. Missed the before show stalls etc. Picked up a few drinks (very limited choice), got a seat right at the back, and just caught the arrival of the royal procession. Meal was fine, but...More

Thank jono13
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This luau was expensive. I wouldn't have done it except that my family wanted to go and bought the tickets as a gift to us. However, I'm glad that I went and I would now recommend it to others! It's at the Marriott hotel on...More

Thank Melissa S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice setting right on the water facing the ocean. Many activities for the family before the actual Luau starts. Reserve ahead if you want seating close to the stage. Plenty of great food selections on the buffet. Show is very good with a fantastic...More

Thank dar0898
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located right in the backyard of our hotel, we found out about it the night before their performance based on a poster in the lobby. We were able to book online the day of and we were very happy that we stumbled upon this wonderful...More

Thank nanners617
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't book in advance with this company. If your plans change too late, there is no reasoning with them and you will not get a refund, even when it's a sold out show and they know they would likely be able to replace the seats.

Thank danodanilo
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry to hear about your experience though I am sure they do inform their guests about their refund policy. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our third luau having previously attended Chief's Luau in Oahu 2015 and Old Lahaina Luau in Maui 2016. While Old Lahaina Luau remains our favorite, there were aspects of this luau that were positive. This luau was very organized, as the check-in line...More

Thank Mjzeta
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Island Breeze is very classy and real. Everything they do screams quality. This IS a must see. If you REALLY want a memorable experience, head over to Island Breeze.

1  Thank Gregory R
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We went to this luau and it started pouring in about 30 minutes. They were prompt in giving towels to everyone and getting every one inside the lobby and transfer all the food inside. Even though we did not have the outside experience they did...More

Thank Bhavna P
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mahalo for your feedback. It is always a challenge when the weather surprises us with sudden rain. We really appreciate our guests being flexible to when we have to make a quick change in venue. It doesnʻt happen very often in Kona but our cast...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

There's not much I can add to all the other reviews about the food, etc. We paid the little extra to not have to wait in a really long line and then received the perks that went with it. Perfect if you have an impatient...More

Thank dawnjohn75
Reviewed 23 June 2017

First time to Hawaii so this was on the bucket list of things to try. Got it by doing a timeshare presentation with Wyndham so tickets dropped to $40 instead of the $100 or so. Held at the Courtyard Mariott resort in Kona. Parked at...More

1  Thank Mark W
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Scandinavian Shave Ice
720 reviews
.36 km away
Splasher's Grill
2,698 reviews
.21 km away
One Aloha Shave Ice Co
98 reviews
.34 km away
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
2,796 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kailua Pier
273 reviews
.23 km away
Kamakahonu
84 reviews
.09 km away
Ahuena Heiau
73 reviews
.06 km away
HYPR Nalu Hawaii
463 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Timothy T
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from emyers75 | Reviewed this property |
Isn't it all about money, always, my friend?
0
Votes
bellajackmom
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from James D | Reviewed this property |
We did not book the preferred option but quite frankly all of the seats are good and we did not experience a long delay for the buffet.
0
Votes
jdebr99
2 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from konakohala | Property representative |
Aloha, typically the show ends at 8-8:30pm
0
Votes