We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

4X4 Adventures Iceland

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Near Blue Lagoon Tangasund 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number: +354 857 3001
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
Description:

4x4 adventures Iceland offers ATV and Buggy tours around the Blue Lagoon...

4x4 adventures Iceland offers ATV and Buggy tours around the Blue Lagoon area, pick-up in Reykjavik and Keflavik four times a day, free pick-up at the Blue Lagoon.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 258 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 226
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Lava cycling

I had really great time during my Lava Cycling tour - I really enjoyed the route and the landscape. Despite initial logistic challenges, it was resolved by the Tour Leader... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 August 2016
Aga S
,
Krakow, Poland
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

I had really great time during my Lava Cycling tour - I really enjoyed the route and the landscape. Despite initial logistic challenges, it was resolved by the Tour Leader (Andreas, I guess) in very professional manner.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Aga S
Granby, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

My boyfriend and I had such an awesome time. Our guide was funny and great to talk to, we stopped for breaks and hiked around a little. The views were amazing and riding was so much fun, especially with the changing terrain and scenery.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank audreyt701
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

So much fun and the best way to see the volcanic landscape! Tour guide was so nice and knowledgeable.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank jayshevitz
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Everything was as described in the flyer. Pick up service in time, friendly guides and an interesting outdoor trail. Next time the four hour tour🗻

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank W405WPas
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Great fun! Maybe 15 minutes out of the main airport on the coast. Simple to use. Stunning, varied views while out riding on 2 hour+ trip. ATV's handle the assorted terrain, sometimes rocky, no problem. Stopped down at beach, with black sand. A definite wow! Guide was great. we were in a small group. All outfitted with necessary gear, helmets... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank simon h
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Good day out, ATV's are new, easy to ride and guides are friendly and helpful. The tour only goes as fast as the slower rider, maybe and advanced rider day out would be a nice option for thrill seekers and those that like to go faster. The trails through the hills are great, an off road playground.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Ciaran M
Kjartan S, Owner at 4X4 Adventures Iceland, responded to this review

Hello Ciaran, You are right when you book schedule tours you have other people with you on the tour :) But you can always book private tour that we can custom make to your needs. Hope we can make amazing custom ATV tour for you one day. Best regards Kjartan More 

Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

From the pictures that sold us, this looked like a high thrill buggy adventure that my whole family, including my kids ages 7-14 could do. It was not. It was a large group of us (with the two buggies) and a ton of ATVs, which we constantly had to stop and wait for the slower people in the back so... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
Kjartan S, Owner at 4X4 Adventures Iceland, responded to this review

Hihi Jennifer, Thank you for your honest review. I am sorry that the tour did not meet your expectations, we are offering tours on ATV and Buggy through mountains and black sandy beaches safety is always number one so we can not offer people to do donuts on the beach but this is adventure trips on rough tracks. When you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Went for my birthday! It was seriously so fun. I recommend doing at the very least the 2 hour tour! Your fingers and toes might get a little cold, even with the gloves they provide, so wear layers especially if going in the winter!!

Helpful?
Thank Kiela M
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016

The trails were decent. Plan more time than you think you need. Getting started seems to take awhile. The most disappointing part of the entire trip was the old, unmaintained 4 wheelers. I needed every ounce of strength I had to keep the wheeler from pulling hard left. Others had similar issues. Hard shifting gear boxes about threw my passenger... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dperry40223
Kjartan S, Manager at 4X4 Adventures Iceland, responded to this review

Hihi, Thanks for the review and i am glad to hear that you liked the tour it self and i wish that you would have complained to use so we could have done something for you because we don´t have old and unmaintained bikes our company has one of the newest fleet in Iceland, one full time mechanic and one... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2016

Absolutely fantastic and a must-do. We did the 2-hour lava beach tour, and had such a good time. Don't be afraid to go if you're inexperienced and worried it will be too tough or very experienced and it will be too boring - the whole group went together for the first 20-30 minutes or so, making sure everyone is comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C

Travellers who viewed 4X4 Adventures Iceland also viewed

Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 

Been to 4X4 Adventures Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of 4X4 Adventures Iceland and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from 4X4 Adventures Iceland staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?