We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bolton Castle

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Bolton Castle Admission Ticket
From US$9.61*
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Bolton Castle Admission Ticket
From US$9.61*
BOOK A TOUR
492
All photos (492)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wild boar”(126 reviews)
About
Now one of the country’s best preserved medieval castles, Bolton was originally built, by Sir Richard Le Scrope, to rival the finest and most luxurious homes in the land. Completed in 1399, its scars bear testament to over 600 years of fascinating...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Nr Leyburn, Leyburn DL8 4ET, England
Website
+44 1969 623981
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Bolton Castle
from US$9.60
More Info
from US$57.70
More Info
from US$61.50
More Info
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
485
289
84
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
485
289
84
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild boar falconry display mary queen of scots birds of prey tea room aysgarth falls herb garden re enactment bee house well worth a visit information boards gift shop cakes family ticket yorkshire dales entrance fee great afternoon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not only is this a very well preserved medieval castle but it also has falconry displays that are included with admission. I saw a show with three owls of increasing size and it was very interesting indeed

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Yorkterrier01
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again next year.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drove up to Bolton Castle on a cold wet December morning. A stunning old castle with great scenery for external photos. Although TripAdisor reports 10am opening there was certainly no staff around and the doors where locked oh well, the outside was worth looking at

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank AndyCorns
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your visit to the Castle. I am sorry we were closed for your visit. We re-open in February for the half term holiday.

Reviewed November 8, 2018

It was just incredible to think that Mary Queen of Scots had this view from her prison in the castle- it has an unrivalled view over magnificent Wensleydale. Absolutely beautiful!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Bronwen L
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Please coma and see us again soon.

Reviewed November 3, 2018

I was one of this group who visited the Castle and it was firstly, atmospheric during our meeting in the old kitchen, with wood fires crackling away. Then we had a lovely meal, even minstrels playing. Not to mention period costumes and all manner of...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 559trudif
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Thank you for your comments I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will return soon.

Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

We loved our visit to Bolton Castle, it really is like stepping back in time with certain parts feeling as if very little has changed for hundreds of years. It’s unusual that so many floors and rooms of a castle are intact. We found that...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank GailW2100
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Thank you for your review I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed November 2, 2018

We recently attended a Halloween Dinner as a group of four and couldn't have been more pleased with the evening. A bit of a change from welcoming trick or treaters at our door! We were welcomed into the castle and were whisked back in time...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Jack P
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed the evening and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed November 1, 2018

I am so lucky having this castle local to my home and have come back time and again to enjoy the castle and its setting. Bolton Castle is not your average castle: being part ruin, part complete and not stuffed with unnecessary artefacts and information...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank MidwichCuckoo
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and comments. I hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

We visited here during our stay in the area and an enjoyable day was had by all. Entry into the castle and grounds cost us £33 for a family of four. Our children particularly enjoyed the falconary display and the Archery demonstration by Callum and...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Ktpot
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you all enjoyed your day and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Well worth a visit. Such a remarkable castle. The Wensleydale area is so full of historic stories and must see places.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank chilled927
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Please come and see us again soon.

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a cold and rainy day in October. The castle is a castle. You won’t learn anything you haven’t learnt from any other, bigger fortifications except for the local history of the castle. Other than the lady who played Mary, Queen of Scots, there...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank I978QAedwardb
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you for your review. There is much to see and enjoy at Bolton Castle with the archery display and boar feeding as well as the falconry. It would usually take three to four hours to totally appreciate the entire Castle and lovely gardens.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
589 reviews
3.96 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
300 reviews
8.36 km away
The Buck Hotel
333 reviews
8.38 km away
The White Swan Hotel
494 reviews
8.67 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 36 nearby restaurants
Bolton Arms
393 reviews
.29 km away
The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant
1,488 reviews
2.88 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
147 reviews
4.02 km away
Mill Race Teashop
335 reviews
4.33 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 21 nearby attractions
Fox and Hounds Inn
45 reviews
2.95 km away
Aysgarth Falls
1,653 reviews
4.34 km away
West Burton Falls
156 reviews
5.18 km away
Leyburn Shawl
76 reviews
6.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kezza582
September 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Rache 2 | Reviewed this property |
I don't think dogs are allowed unfortunately.
0
Votes
Lynne M
May 31, 2015|
Answer
Response from Katie S | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for your interest in visiting Bolton Castle with your family. The Castle is a slight walk downhill from the car park however you could drop your mum off at the front door if you wished. The only issue is... More
1
Vote
opinionated_bucks
April 8, 2015|
Answer
Response from Katie S | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, The roads in the village are public highways and are not privately owned. My understanding is that it would not be illegal to park on them, unless it was causing an obstruction. However the... More
0
Votes