We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
+44 1749 672243
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

A series of caves that sheltered Stone Age people.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 2,657 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 867
    Excellent
  • 743
    Very good
  • 489
    Average
  • 304
    Poor
  • 245
    Terrible
Great caves - good guide

The caves are surprisingly warm! 11 degrees all year round apparently. Our guide, Bryan, was great. Made us all feel welcome, especially the kids, and kept us entertained... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
Replicator
,
Bristol, England
Add Photo Write a Review

2,657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,648: English reviews
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

The caves are surprisingly warm! 11 degrees all year round apparently. Our guide, Bryan, was great. Made us all feel welcome, especially the kids, and kept us entertained with tales and facts. The caves are amazing and worth a visit, and outside they have great areas for kids to plan indoors and old penny machines like i've never seen before.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Replicator
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Three generations of our family had a great day out in their Xmas grotto. In particular Father Christmas was excellent - so quick to pick up on conversations and invent some great quips ! I was not really looking forward to going but I was glad I did !

Helpful?
Thank Trevor I
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Value for money. Excellent educational value and well worth a morning out. Wear boots and a jacket in the winter. Also out of season was very quiet. I bet it's really busy holiday times.

Helpful?
Thank Martin H
South West England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Thankfully we used Tesco vouchers to pay for our visit on a Sunday in January. We checked opening times and information online before leaving the house so were surprised to see a notice saying that there would be no witch and no circus shows.Even more bewildering was the sign at the cave entrance: Guided tours every thirty minutes and half... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 3MMM4
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this review

Dear 3MMM4, Thank you for your recent feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your tour of the Caves. We are sorry you felt disappointed with some of the attraction, we truly believe we give great value for money, offering something for all the family. Included in your admission ticket: Guided Tour of the Caves – Valley of the Dinosaurs... More 

chatham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this attraction on a January weekend. It wasn't busy. We enjoyed walking through the caves and the guide made it fun. Would recommend but only to those who are steady on their feet

Helpful?
Thank sarahzio
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Wookey Hole on New Years day, upon arrival ourselves and other families visiting were told that the various offer vouchers were not valid as they were still in their winter wonderland period, had to pay £60 for a family of 4 which is a lot of money for what it is. New caves had been opened up - but... More 

Helpful?
Thank wheelerchris
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this review

Dear Wheelerchris, Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit over the Christmas period. During our Special Events (Halloween & Winter Wonderland) we do not accept vouchers – we make this extremely clear on all of our publicity throughout the year so visitors are not surprised when come to book and visit. Our Special Events have a different pricing... More 

bristol
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A day trip to the caves was a bit lacking. The caves themselves were great, the guide was enthusiastic however the lighting and special effects were half hearted. However speak to the guide, ask questions and he was extremely knowledgeable. The rest of the place was pretty average bordering extremely worn out. Considering an adult pays over £18 for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bristol1973
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel just opposite and wanted to do the tour of the caves. We had a lovely guide Brian who was very informative and funny. The views inside where incredible. Lots of things to do as well as the caves. Would be lovely in the summer as lots to do outside.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In a word... 'Naff' The caves had been 'festively decorated' for Christmas, however on the day of our visit, our tour guide told us they had experienced some lighting issues, so not all of the Christmas lights would be working. What a good job!! The caves themselves are stunningly beautiful and it was such a shame to see them covered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephiee93
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had been wanting to visit for a while and we both really enjoyed it! It is rather random with the attractions, it doesn't really flow altogether but fun none the less. Your guide was nice and good fun and the rest was nice to walk around. Food around £8 for an adult for a buffet/canteen style meal, plenty of pubs... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennycosens

Travellers who viewed Wookey Hole Caves also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wookey Hole Caves and other visitors
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Wookey Hole Caves staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?