We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Earth and Sky

Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6960
Save
Review Highlights
Not to be missed

We signed up for two-hour star gazing tour. Was hoping for lots of stars and planets. But we got... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
YP l
via mobile
Brilliant and informative - our children loved it!

We booked onto the short tour which ended up being done on the shores of the lake rather than in... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Kirstin R
,
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Read all 697 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Earth & Sky Stargazing and Observatory tours operate in beautiful Lake Tekapo situated in the South Island. Visitors find enjoyment, entertainment and inspiration through a ‘hands-on’ experience as knowledgeable astronomy guides share the wonders of space, promote a scientific understanding of the southern night sky, and help reconnect people with a special part of nature using powerful telescopes. Tours operate at two big sky locations including the University of Canterbury Mt John Research Observatory. Lake Tekapo sits at the heart of the gold ranked ’Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve‘ (est 2012) - Earth & Sky - the best attraction in New Zealand to show you the universe.
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“hot chocolate” (71 reviews)
“night sky” (91 reviews)
“milky way” (54 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 00:00
LOCATION
Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
+64 3-680 6960
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We signed up for two-hour star gazing tour. Was hoping for lots of stars and planets. But we got the entire Milky Way above our heads! Omg! The utterly clear and overwhelming sight is probably possible only because this is a dark sky reserve area....More

Thank YP l
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, It is great to read such a star studded Trip Advisor review from one of our valued customers. We are thrilled to read such an informative review, which will certainly aide in helping other visitors choose to join one of our tours. The...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We booked onto the short tour which ended up being done on the shores of the lake rather than in the observatory due to weather conditions. The guides were incredibly informative and everyone got a chance to look through both telescopes with questions actively encouraged....More

Thank Kirstin R
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, We are thrilled that your tour experience as a whole went above any beyond expectations. The weather conditions in Lake Tekapo can be very changeable and can result in adverse weather patterns. We are pleased that upon speaking with our friendly booking team,...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

After 3 years, we decided to give star gazing at Tekapo another go. Our attempt in 2014 ended in total disappointment because of bad weather. This time round, on 17 April 2017, it was a complete opposite!! We had booked the Mt John Observatory Tour...More

Thank SW123L
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your tour experience with our team and other travellers. We are thrilled that you had a second opportunity to visit New Zealand and chose to travel to Lake Tekapo with hopes for better weather. Our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The guides were so knowledgeable and welcoming. Well worth the time and money. Still buzzing from the trip and new knowledge I have acquired. I love being able to look up at the sky and now tell exactly where the Southern Cross is. The close...More

Thank suzlaj75
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, It is great to hear that you would recommend our Earth & Sky Stargazing Tour to others! Our team work hard in keeping with new discoveries and keeping their information up to date and relevant. Our Astronomy guides enjoy showcasing their knowledge and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been wanting to do this for a while so when friends came visiting we took the opportunity and we're glad we did. The staff were all friendly and knowledgable. The evening was cold at minus 5 degrees centigrade but we were given jackets...More

Thank brownie198
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your excellent 5 star Trip Advisor review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all elements of your tour. From the advise from our Reception team, to the bus journey to Lake Tekapo's only active research facility, the University...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all really enjoyed our tour. The guides were very knowledgeable and knew how to share their knowledge in an easily accessible way, even capturing the attention of some of us who had little interest in stargazing. Well worth the experience. So many stars to...More

Thank Mummaofive
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your excellent review and kind comments. Here at Earth and Sky, we pride ourselves in the quality of not only the tour content but the Astronomy guides who deliver our tours. Their passion, knowledge and enthusiasm will have you reaching...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although my husband and I were not able to attend the tour due to poor weather conditions, the staff were more than amazing at delivering the news and providing us with a full refund. Although they let us know it may take 10 business days...More

Thank Ally K
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your excellent Trip Advisor review, for your experience with our Customer Service Representatives. We are disappointed that you were unable to join one of our Earth and Sky Stargazing and Observatory Tours due to poor weather conditions. The weather conditions...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very informative tour where you can see the sky like never before and you get a nice hot chocolate in the lovely cold night.. The kids really enjoyed even the temperature was below 0°C It was a great night to rememberMore

Thank Sylvia M
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your excellent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your tour and found it to be informative and unique! Our team of Astronomy guides enjoy educating guests from all around the globe, beneath the largest International Dark Sky Reserve in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A once in a lifetime experience. We visited on a beautiful clear night and had a wonderful time. The warm jackets provided were a godsend. Astrophotographers were on hand to take photos with DLSR cameras, so we could keep a memento! 10/10, would visit again....More

1  Thank frontfootcoverdrive
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, Many thanks for your outstanding 5 star review for your time with our team here at Earth & Sky. We are ultimately thrilled that the stars aligned for you and you were greeted with clear skies for your trip to the University of...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017

We booked the tour for 3 couples. The sky was cloudy, thus we were given instead a tour of the observatory under the university's management. The tour was informative and the guides were very friendly and are very open for questions (even silly ones from...More

Thank Artistry105
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your tour in it’s entirety. Luckily, on cloudy days, we have the unique opportunity to view the active research facilities situated at the University of Canterbury Mt John Observatory. We...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
918 reviews
19.94 km away
Shawty's Cafe
508 reviews
22.37 km away
Astro Cafe
679 reviews
21.18 km away
Poppies Cafe
652 reviews
22.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,814 reviews
20.21 km away
Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
146 reviews
25.01 km away
Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Shop
145 reviews
16.33 km away
Mount John University Observatory
455 reviews
21.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wipasirik2015
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Adila B | Reviewed this property |
We did the night tour but I believe they also offer day tours. Night is probably best especially if the sky is clear.
0
Votes
Evi Y
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sandy H | Reviewed this property |
We did notice a disabled parking bay and some smoother concrete paths to some of the areas. They provide great coats but as others said take your own warm hat and gloves and a rug for the wheelchair. We did the twilight tour... More
0
Votes
nomdeplume83
11 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from keefenkong | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes it will. Other than the moon another distraction will be the cloud. As the weather is so unpredictable and always changing, my experience there for Mt.John at night, none of the weather forecast were accurate. Earth... More
1
Vote