Spencer Ambrose Tours
Spencer Ambrose Tours
4.5
Cultural Tours • Historical & Heritage Tours • Sightseeing Tours • Speed Boats Tours
Read more
About
Come and discover the exotic beauty and enchantment of St. Lucia with us! Sit back and enjoy the warm Caribbean breeze as you glide along the island's picturesque coast aboard one of Spencer's modern, twin or triple-engine speedboats. Relax on a tropical beach nestled between the iconic volcanic peaks of the world famous Pitons. Rejuvenate yourself in a hot, sulphur mud bath. Cool off with a refreshing dip under a natural waterfall or go snorkeling in an underwater paradise. If this sounds enticing, then we have an adventure for you! If you are arriving by cruise ship, require an airport transfer or staying at a hotel, Spencer and his team are ready to welcome you on an exciting and fun day of adventure! Welcome to Spencer Ambrose Tours. Your day of Fun in the Sun in our tropical, island paradise awaits! Spencer Ambrose Tours is a Government Approved Tour Operator and follows COVID protocols to help keep guests and staff safe.
Vieux Fort, St. Lucia

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Spencer Ambrose Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travellers talk about
(265 reviews)
(215 reviews)
(173 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
1,101 reviews
Excellent
883
Very good
101
Average
52
Poor
32
Terrible
33

kathy w
1 contribution
Dec. 2022 • Friends
What a wonderful day at the beach. The most beautiful place I have ever swam. Spencer and his crew were wonderful. We all loved it and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much for a memorable day.
Written December 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

My4cats
Darien,CT74 contributions
Nov. 2022
We were off the cruise ship and at the meeting point at 8:15 and others on the tour arrived right at 8:30. The guide told us it would be a short wait as she was awaiting the arrival of 2 others. 45 minutes passed, then she told us there was a boat issue and another boat would be coming.
We waited another 45 minutes, then the guide just disappeared.
At this point, most of the other tours had already left the pier so the choices for us to try to salvage the day were non existent.

We have toured with this company 2 or 3 other times so this is really a let down.
If the tour couldn’t run, a simple explanation and an I’m sorry would have gone a long way and still left us time to find another tour. I don't recommend them and will not be using them when we return to St Lucia.

Spencer's teams' response to my email sharing my disappointment at our 1 day to visit the island was that the boat bilge pump was not working and they were looking for a replacement. If they had been honest with us right at 8:30 instead of playing games for 2 hours we could have jumped on another tour and tried to make the best of the day our ship was docked there.
Written November 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so sorry to hear about your experience on tour. The tour was expected to run and it was not the team's intention to ruin your day in port. The severe and destructive flooding in the north end of the island has wreaked havoc. This heavy rain caused the bilge pump on the speedboat to run continuously. This in turn, caused the pump to burn out that morning. When the speedboat was tested the evening before the tour, everything was in working order for the morning tour. Having the bilge pump suddenly burn out on the morning of the tour was unexpected. Since the boat was checked out the night before, we did nor foresee this would have happened. We tried to find another speedboat but since Covid, finding an independent speedboat operator is a challenge. We did end up finding another speedboat, however, by this time, you had already left. We apologize if Karen and Lucky did not explain the situation to you and were not clear on what was happening. As a past customer, we are disappointed that we could not provide you with the tour experience you had come to expect from Spencer Ambrose Tours. We are heartily sorry this had happened and feel badly about it. Although, we cannot change the fact that the delay in finding a replacement speedboat caused you to miss out on joining another tour, we do apologize this had happened and that we had let you down.
Written November 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

C C
Bridgetown, Barbados8 contributions
Oct. 2022 • Family
Terrible! Cancelled last minute and we were left standing at the port wondering what happened. Ruined our one day in St Lucia.
Written October 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello CC, We are so sorry about your experience. We had every intention of running the tour, however all the other bookings that day did not show up. You were the only ones that showed up. If the others would have notified us that they had cancelled their excursion, we would have known in advance whether the tour would have been able to run. As we cannot financially run a group tour for just two people, we had to cancel the tour last minute. Booked guests who do not let us know in advance they are cancelling or do not show up, often do not realize how their no-show could potentially ruin the day for those who do show up. We have now reinstated a deposit payment to avoid situations like this from occurring. Again we apologize this had happened but the no-shows and last minute cancellation was out of our control and we also feel terrible that we had to cancel your tour last minute at the terminal.
Written November 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SLH
St. John's, Canada296 contributions
Sep. 2022
Booked the All day Speedboat and sugar beach tour. Loved it so much!! Staff was very nice. Lunch provided was scrumptious. Rum punch had a PUNCH!!! Saw a cute bat cave and also was able to ask and lot of questions about the country and culture and provided information on buildings sites etc we travelled past. Breathtaking views of the Pitons. Sugar Beach is amazing you have to go! Perfect for snorkelling which was provided to us! Staff were 10/10 I highly recommend you book with them!
Written October 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Charles
New York City, NY1 contribution
Aug. 2022
Our experience with Spencer felt like discovering a local gem that we all hope for when traveling. The care and intimacy we felt throughout the booking process and tour itself was truly special. Our charter took us - my wife and I and our two teens - from Rodney Marina down to Soufriere. My son and I got off to a waiting taxi that took us to hike Gros Piton while the girls were whisked around to Sugar Beach where they snorkeled and sunbathed. We met back up for a great lunch in town and then worked our way back up the coast, swimming and exploring the coves. My wife and I have spent most of our lives on boats and we were instantly comfortable with Captain Akim and Lucky. In addition to being expert boat handlers they were fun, knowledgeable and flexible. Like countless others in the tourism business Covid hit Spencer and his team hard, both personally and professionally, but they are bouncing back with hope and optimism. Spencer, Akim and Lucky: thank you again, it was the best day of our vacation. We wish you all the best!
Written August 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Alexis H
1 contribution
Aug. 2022 • Friends
My group booked with Spencer tours and it was truly amazing! Lucky and Akem were friendly and cool! Lucky stayed with us the entire time. We took the boat (dope ass ride) to the mud baths (hot springs), waterfall, lunch in the city (Soufriere), and Sugar Beach (with rum punch and drinks)!!! Whole day was incredible. Akem and Lucky showed us the island in true style. I would book with them again!
Written August 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jennifer L
Louisville, KY38 contributions
Mar. 2022
This was our 2nd excursion with Spencer Ambrose tours. Once again, it was an excellent tour with lots of fun. This time we brought back family and friends! It was so nice to see a familiar face on our tour! Lucky! It was nice that he remembered us and had the same picture on his phone. He, the Captain, and Karen were great staff. They were professional and took very care of us and kept us safe. They showed is some of the most beautiful spots in St. Lucia. I urge everyone to take time and take this tour if you are ever in St. Lucia!
Spencer, I just want you to know that your business is in good hands with the staff that you have. I hope you continue to getting to feel better and get stronger each day🙏🏻💪🏻🙏🏻💪🏻
Written March 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shorterstory
1 contribution
Dec. 2021
My family had intended to take one of the party-boat-type group tours, and at the last minute we found we couldn't after all. On the rebound, kind of desperate to salvage our adventure, we contacted Spencer's company, and amazingly enough, he was able to come through.

Lucky and Akim pulled up in a fast, clean speedboat, the Merci Dieu, not too far from our hotel in Rodney Bay and instantly I knew we were in good hands. They said we were their first tour since Covid knocked them offline, but you wouldn't have known it: They were friendly and good-humored, professional, knowledgeable, and prepared. When they found we were hungry, they made a pit stop at a grocery store so Lucky could dash off the speedboat and return in mere moments with snacks and water.

Then we were off on an unforgettable -- and impossibly fast -- roar through the Caribbean sea to see the coastal highlights we would have seen on the party boat, and then some.

The approach to the Pitons was breathtaking; the volcanic mud baths were kind of ridiculous but memorable; the Soufriere waterfall was lovely; Sugar Beach was fantastic; and then we got to race home over the waves as, and then after, the sun set. Andre, the van driver they contracted with, was cheerful and helpful: He had a bit more of a party-boat vibe, I imagine because that's what most people want. He too hewed to Covid protocols, and we felt safe throughout.

No one hurried us along when we wanted to hang out at one site, or objected if we wanted to skip a lookout point, for example. Everyone was relaxed, happy to let us go at our pace, and didn't apply pressure.

A couple notes: Lunch was at a small, family-owned restaurant near where the boat docked in Soufriere. If you have dietary restrictions, let them know early on so they can keep that in mind as they arrange the meal. Definitely bring towels (and maybe more snacks), and some cash if you want souvenirs.

Overall, we're thrilled by the way things turned out. Lucky in particular was a great tour guide, relaxed but self-assured, and easy to communicate with. My kids were in awe of the way he was able to stand confidently on the helm of the boat.

Thanks to everyone involved for giving us such a fantastic day -- it ended up being a highlight of our trip.
Written January 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shelly S
Yukon, OK61 contributions
Mar. 2020
This tour was a fabulous way to see so much in our day on St. Lucia! The staff was helpful and took care of every need, from taking the fun pictures of us (with our own cell phones) at the mud bath, to getting new transportation when our van had difficulties, then to a beautiful hour at Sugar Beach (wish we'd skipped the waterfall, and gone straight here!), they did a great job with all of the issues that come up during the day. You will be happy you booked with Spencer Ambrose!
P.S. Wear an old swimsuit for the mud baths, you could ruin a newer one, especially if it is a light color. Also wash it out as soon as you can...it will smell!
Written April 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ShellyS, I am so delighted you had a great and fabulous time on our Land, Sea & Beach Adventure, during your cruise visit to St. Lucia on March 6. It means a lot for us to know you enjoyed your time at Jalousie/Sugar Beach and at the mud baths. Your encouraging compliments about my staff and how they “took care of every need” is very rewarding feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate your support during this time of global crisis. Once the COVID-19 pandemic resides and tours are able to resume, we look forward to welcoming you back on another fun and exciting day of adventure! In the meantime, stay safe! ~Spencer Ambrose
Written April 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tyler
6 contributions
Mar. 2020
Staff was helpful, clear instructions before arriving on where to meet when visiting from a cruise. We did the speedboat transfer to Sugar beach and was so much fun. Our boat had a few signs of wear and tear on the seats, but did not damper the mood. I read a couple reviews on the beach itself - there is a side of the beach that the chairs are less than desirable, as reviewers have said, but I agree with the owner's comments that it's a public beach and you don't have to sit in this area. Plenty of sand on the beach to hangout.
Written March 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you cbaerga009 for choosing your speedboat transfer to Jalousie/Sugar Beach with us. We are so pleased you had a fun time. We look forward to welcoming you on tour again next time your travels bring you to St. Lucia. ~Spencer Ambrose
Written March 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,059

SPENCER AMBROSE TOURS (Vieux Fort) - 2022 What to Know BEFORE You Go