We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zebula Golf Course

D1000 Farm 534, Vaalwal KQ Road | Mabula District, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
+27 14 734 7708
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful course

A real golf safari, with wildlife on the course, good restaurant and a golf course not too hard but... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
JM C
,
France
Absolutely perfect!

Great!!! Accommodation - very luxurious. Restaurant -great! Ambiance - fantastic. Negatives... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2017
230642
,
Centurion, South Africa
Read all 64 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Zebula Golf Course is a classic Bushveld par 72 course, set in the open plains of the reserve with herds of game roaming freely. The course is relatively flat yet undulating, inviting to play with generous fairways and clusters of trees that act as hazards. Voted the Golf Digest's Best New Golf Course 2004 and awarded the 5 star Golf Experience for 2010 by Compleat Golfer, Zebula has matured wonderfully over the past few years into a truly great course to play. Zebula was designed by the legendary Peter Matkovich, a golf professional for 25 years, and a world-respected golf course designer for more than 15 years. When it comes to golf course design, first and foremost Peter is an environmentalist - seamlessly blending nature and design to create golf courses that are inherently sensitive to local environments. In fact, love for the indigenous remains a cornerstone of his designs; to him, golf should offer a retreat, an escape, from one's busy life. The layout, built to USGA specifications with kikuyu fairways and bent grass greens is so much part of the bushveld experience that one wouldn't be surprised to encounter a lofty giraffe or a shy zebra or two during your golfing experience. The wonderful year-round climate and the judicious use of naturally occurring water practically guarantees the course will be green year round. Complemented as it is by an excellent Clubhouse with a location that defies description, a well-stocked Pro Shop and superb practice facilities, Zebula is a joy to play. You are destined to keep coming back again and again to experience it. As we like to say: if you have Africa in your blood and you love the game of golf, life just doesn't get better than this!
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good35%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“wild animals” (2 reviews)
“fairways” (6 reviews)
“clubhouse” (7 reviews)
LOCATION
D1000 Farm 534, Vaalwal KQ Road | Mabula District, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 14 734 7708
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A real golf safari, with wildlife on the course, good restaurant and a golf course not too hard but good to play and very green.

Thank JM C
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great!!! Accommodation - very luxurious. Restaurant -great! Ambiance - fantastic. Negatives? - please provide under cover parking closer to the accommodation units!More

Thank 230,642
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear 230642 Many thanks for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that we exceeded your expectations. We have noted your comments about the undercover parking. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Regards, Hayley Poole Sales...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017

A relatively short drive from Pretoria/Johannesburg to Zebula (+-2.5hrs). This golf and wildlife (limited to antelope) resort has many attractions for all visitors. Accommodation ranges from self catering to units near the main center. The resort is fairly busy over weekends but normally quiet during...More

Thank Stuart P
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Surprisingly well kept golf course in the bush! Be careful,not to miss the fairway though, a few snakes out in the rough...so I'm told ! 😜

Thank Philip S
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Best golf course I saw in years! The reptiles were the highlight for my grand children. The cages were immaculate!! The resort is well maintained; good roads, competent game drivers and lots of game! Food in the restaurant was of high standard and value for...More

Thank Jacob v
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My wife and daughter went to the beauty palour and I went for a few beer, as men do. The say the service they got was exceptional. After they joined me we had a lunch at the club. Fantastic, Its all I can say. It...More

Thank WBronkhorst
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

It was wonderful to play a few games while the buck roamed freely. We were quite amused by the experience.

Thank Ilhaam38
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Great golfing day. The golf course was in very good condition and charm treatment I enjoyed a lot. The massage I booked was really poor!More

Thank Santi T
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear Santi T Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short...More

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Very upmarket but restaurant surprisingly reasonably priced. Cheating viewing available. Cheaters are run on weekends. Lots of high end private homes and an air strip for private planes. Small animal section to view.More

Thank Tom O
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear Tom O Thank you for sharing your experience at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we...More

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend were staying in a nearby lodge and decided to go play golf at Zebula. Upon arrival we were told that the area was experiencing a 4 year long drought so we were told that we would be given the drought rate...More

1  Thank Tarryn G
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Tarryn G Thank you so much for your feedback with regards to your experience at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa. Thank you for bringing the halfway house meals to our attention and we have sent your feedback to the relevant department in order to...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zebula Golf Course staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit