We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Wilderness Tours

Features Animals
Open Now: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 a.m.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 a.m.

Highland Wilderness Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
30
All photos (30)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good7%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
28 Aug 2017
“Beautiful trail ride”
1 May 2017
“Dog sledding adventure ”
About
Guided tours by snowmobile, atv, horseback and dogteam! Open all year for wilderness excursions - also children's horse camps, full horse boarding, and riding lessons. Near Algonquin Park - great trails, fabulous scenery! Our dogsled tours run on 10...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 a.m.
See all hours
Contact
239 East Lake Road | Box 211, Maynooth, Maynooth, Ontario K0L 2S0, Canada
Website
+1 613-338-2330
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
42
3
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
42
3
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 52 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Really awesome 3 hour trail ride on safe horses up to the lake and back, lots of water crossings, knowledgeable guide!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Samantha A
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comment! I will make sure to pass it along to your guide. Glad to have you, glad to have some great weather too. Cheers!

Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

We had such an amazing experience! Our guide Bob was the best. He took us all around, took photos, told great stories, and was a great guide. I never thought dog sledding would be so much fun! The trails were beautiful! I can't wait to...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Matt H
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you Matt! I will be sure to pass your compliments on to Bob. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful guides here, and we hope you will visit again!

Reviewed March 24, 2017

My group of 5 had a great experience here, I highly recommend it! Sunny day, awesome guide who was so helpful and patient. The dogs were so friendly and energetic. One of a kind !

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank PatC1501
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile

We had a large group with ages rating from 12-60 . The guides /instructors were patient and Very knowledgeable. A great experience for everyone

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank aagcon
Reviewed February 26, 2017

With our group of 6 French friends, we wanted to try the Canadian winter activities and it was the perfect experience. They are one of the only place to offer a combo experience (2h of snowmobiling on one day and 2h of dog sledding another...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank lamlam982
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you for your kind words! I will be sure and pass this on to our guides. They all really appreciate the feedback, they are very passionate about their work. I am glad to hear you had a good time at both activities, we try...More

Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile

If you are in the area, then this trip is a must. My daughter and I have just spent over 4 hours driving a skidoo through the forests around Maynooth and Lake St Peter it was a great experience. The scenery is wonderful. We saw...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank 391timg
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2017

Thank you so much for the nice review! I will make sure to pass it on to Matt. So glad you enjoyed your day!

Reviewed January 24, 2017

My partner and I did the four hour snowmobile tour, we found it well worth it! The trails we rode on were very well maintained, and very scenic. Riding out onto one of the frozen lakes (I forgot the name) was just amazing! We rode...More

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Andrew M
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Hey thanks so much guys! I know Jeff really enjoyed it too! Come again!

Reviewed January 8, 2017

My partner and I decided to try dog sledding for the first time -- and this place was awesome!! About an hour and a half trail ride through acres of winterland beauty! The dogs did an amazing job! Bob was our tour guide and he...More

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Nadanne H
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. We always love to hear that everyone had fun! I will be sure and pass the review on to Bob, our guides work hard and always love to hear good things!

Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I booked an afternoon of dogsledding with HWT during Christmas Holidays and had the time of our lives!! We will be back, but will likely book a private tour next time, as more dogs equals more stop & go on the...More

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank workmom1
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

HI there and thanks for your nice review of our place! Hope to see you again sometime. Come through the week, it's much less busy! Christmas is always a bit full, and we hate to disappoint anyone by turning them away.

Reviewed October 11, 2016

I was disappointed in the Adult Horse Camp I attended in September. While I wasn't expecting five star accommodations, a few simple touches would have gone a very long way toward a more pleasant experience. Though the bunk house didn't have electricity, adding a few...More

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank BondyCO
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

I am sorry you were disappointed at camp this past year. We have already fixed the lighting and I appreciate your suggestion in that regard. The only reason there was a problem is that we had just gotten a new lamp with a western themed...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Nomi Resort
187 reviews
19.80 km away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
73 reviews
19.85 km away
Sword Motor Inn
204 reviews
22.38 km away
Silgrey Resort
8 reviews
24.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
Sunrun Cafe
35 reviews
2.82 km away
Porterville Diner
24 reviews
9.39 km away
Blue Roof Bistro
125 reviews
22.39 km away
Memories Bakery & Tea Room
6 reviews
2.76 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 7 nearby attractions
Lake St. Peter Provincial Park
19 reviews
10.11 km away
South Algonquin Trails Inc
17 reviews
19.81 km away
Madawaska Kanu Centre
168 reviews
22.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Highland Wilderness Tours staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines